We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The BEST!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Geneva Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Geneva Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The BEST!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed at the grand Geneva with my grandchildren. What a lovely place. Felt like home away from home. Staff was great and accommodating. Love it so much we are bring the whole family back in August for a special birthday. Grand Geneva is totally awesome.

Room Tip: Love golf course views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wauconda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation with your grandchildren and can't wait to see you back in August! Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review.
Best,
Tom Mason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,254
    421
    192
    112
    81
See reviews for
521
782
40
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (684)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Lake, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Came here for an annual outing with customers, a total group of 12 people. They way we were treated made my customers and co-workers all feel like we were the most imporant customer on the property! Rooms were clean, service was excellent.

We also had dinner in the Geneva Chop House. Food and service were wonderful.

It would be hard to consider holding this outing anywhere else after this event!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your continued loyalty and for hosting your outing with us. We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. And why make the decision any harder, see you again next year.
Best,
Tom Mason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Came here for a couple of nights en route between Chicago and Madison. Resort was in good order and clearly recently modernised. Staff were helpful. Room was spacious and comfortable. Free WiFi was very effective. Enjoyed a great meal at the onsite Italian Restaurant - had a beautifully cooked beef tenderloin. The outside pool complex was a little bit limited and could be improved in scale and to create some more private and quiet corners. But it was great for families and kids as evidenced by all the fun being had. The fitness centre was especially impressive with a huge indoor sports hall etc. A good resort, good value and an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a golf course view. (the alternative is a parking lot view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our resort. I will be sure to share your comments about the pool deck with our team, all feedback is very helpful!
Thank you,
Tom Mason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Visited for their 4th of July events. Started at the lobby lounge for excellent cocktails and great by the glass wines. The bartender, Ed, is a long time employee, and did an excellent job mixing, pouring, and sharing his knowledge of the hotel history, going back to the playboy club, as well as info on the days events. They handled the large crowd very well. Outdoors they had set up fun food and beverage tents. A fun band entertained the crowd before the fireworks. The WI Badger marching band was lame. The fireworks were very nice and surprisingly well timed with patriotic rock music...well done! After the fireworks we had a drink in the lobby lounge with a great jazz band and waited out the very long line waiting for valet service cars. Those that didn't take in the jazz band, The Dan Trudell Trio, missed a great band. We are planning a trip back just to see The Dan Trundell Trio for a romantic evening. I was surprised how quickly the valet guys handled the huge line of people waiting for cars, wow.
Make the Grand Geneva a destination for the 4th of July holiday, you can't go wrong! This is a very classy well run hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hi Peter,
Thank you so much for your review. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed out 4th of July Celebration as a lot of hard work and planning goes into such a large event. I will be sure to share your compliments with Ed, he is a wonderful asset to the team and has some great memories to share. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed the Dan Trundell Trio. They play here quite often and are very enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon.
Thank you,
Tom Mason
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We checked in and went to our room to unpack, the room was warm so we turned up the A/C and left for dinner in Lake Geneva. Once we returned (around 10pm), the room was still warm…it was obvious the a/c was not working. we called front desk, they sent maintenance, he determined the a/c could not be fixed that night. They got us another room and came to help us move…we did not have to go down to front desk. We stay at the Grand Geneva at least 2x a year and the service is always outstanding. My only complaint is the pool…it's always way too crowded and there is never enough chairs. everyone saves multiple chairs ALL DAY long…there needs to be a policy and it needs to be enforced. They also need to replace the carpeting…it's old and dirty. I would also suggest a better drink/app menu at the lobby bar. I noticed they have the same one all year long…I wish it was more seasonal

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you so much for coming back to the resort year after year. I am so happy to hear that our service levels keep you coming back. Thanks for the suggestion on the seasonal lobby bar menu, that is a great idea. We are also looking at ways to improve the pool deck experience, so thank you for sharing your feedback there. We can't wait for you to return.

Regards,
Tom Mason
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

What a lovely property--terrific staff--great atmosphere....but so many children! Not that this is normally an issue, but adults are the minority here! This very large and lovely resort has ONE outdoor pool! We visited on July 4th weekend (I know, the busiest weekend to visit) and when my husband and I got up to head out to the pool at 7:15AM...ALL the chaise lounges were spoken for with towels....yes, every SINGLE chair was saved at this early hour. The staff was OK with this too! We had 4 adults in our group....and we were looking to stay and enjoy the outdoor pool along with the other guests. We waited until after 12noon thinking most of these kids would be taking naps...however, the pool was more crowded than ever. If there would have been an accident or reason to vacate the area, I am not sure how this would have been handled.

While the facility is beautiful and very well maintained...I did feel like the staff could have done somewhat of a better job in "helping to manage" the pool area.

We were there for the weekend and did not get to enjoy the pool or outdoor area once.

Room Tip: Request a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBSpit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere of the resort and that the staff treated you well. Thank you for sharing your experience about the pool deck over the holiday weekend. We will definitely take your feedback into consideration when planning for next year. We hope to see you back again next 4th of July if not sooner.

Regards.
Tom Mason
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Haven't stayed here in 15 yrs. nice but wi fi does not work well but they charge you any way. Golf courses were great. Good on site food choices. Concierge very helpful. 4th of July dinner event at $140 pp was not a good value. Management did a poor job of crowd control.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfguyhngc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thanks for coming back to the resort after a 15 year hiatus and thanks for sharing your feedback on your recent stay. I am so happy to hear that you found the concierge helpful and thanks for sharing your concerns on the Embers Terrace Dinner Event. We will use your feedback to help our planning for next year. Please reach out to me if you have any other feedback on your dinner that you want to share.

Regards,
Tom Mason
Manging Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
3.6 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
2.0 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
6.3 mi away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#12 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Geneva Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Geneva Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Geneva Resort & Spa
Address: 7036 Grand Geneva Way, at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-5105
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Geneva Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Geneva® Resort is the place to meet. Whether a corporate meeting, convention or a gathering with friends and family, the endless range of meeting rooms & space and activities will keep everyone engaged. Conveniently located between Chicago and Milwaukee, there is so much to do at Lake Geneva’s only four diamond resort.Corporate travelers and families alike will find what they need to re-focus, relax or rev-up. With over 62,000 square feet of banquet space, guests have multiple options to choose from for that important business meeting, church retreat, wedding reception or family vacation. Or take time and enjoy a relaxing experience at the newly renovated WELL Spa or one of many dining options, while an indoor waterpark and kid’s program offer the excitement kids crave. Enjoy a group bonfire at the horse stables, a fast plunge down a ski hill, a serene walk through the trails or a drive down a fairway on two championship golf courses – all situated on Grand Geneva’s seemingly endless acres.No matter your reason for meeting….it’s all here in one Grand location in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Geneva Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Geneva Resort And Spa
Grand Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Grand Geneva Lake
Lake Geneva Illinois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing