We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Weekend Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Geneva Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Carpentersville, Illinois
1 review
“Fantastic Weekend Stay”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I stayed at the Grand Geneva for a weekend conference and found the staff, facility and amenities excellent. The suite was very comfortable and the bed was excellent. The staff is very friendly and helpful, any request's that I had were met with a superb response. I ate at the Grand Cafe and the Geneva Chop House (both within the resort) the food was excellent. Highly suggest the Prime Rib buffet on Friday evenings. The breakfast buffet with the omelet chefs was great as well. Many choices at a reasonable price....best part you don't have to leave the resort to dine in comfort.
I highly recommend the Grand Geneva for a family get-a-way or romantic weekend, the Grand does both very well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Grand Geneva! We have a nice balance of activities and restaurants for families and couples. Now that winter is upon us, guests can enjoy our outdoor activities like skiing, ice skating, sledding or just relax indoors by our fireplace with a book or take advantage of the spa/ fitness center. There is a little something for everyone and I look forward to your return!

Best regards,


Gerald Rappaport
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,261
    423
    195
    113
    82
See reviews for
523
790
41
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I’m not usually a fan of mega-resorts but my wife and I drive from Chicago to ski at Alpine Valley and the area is not exactly overrun with upscale lodging options. We don’t mind ski-bumming it in a cheap hotel, eating delivery pizza and munching on fried cheese curds at Culvers all weekend. But staying at the Grand Geneva kicks things up a notch and makes it a true getaway.

The overall vibe I would give the place is that of an enormous country club. The crowd is a little better dressed and more well-behaved than you’re going to find at your average water-park hotel. With all of the activities and on-site restaurants the resort is big and not something you’d expect to find in rural Wisconsin.

We were in building 3 with a view of the parking lot - essentially the cheapest room available. Our room was clean and well appointed. The bathrooms seemed modern with granite counters and rainfall shower heads. The beds and pillows were comfortable. Free cable and WiFi is provided including a funky TV that is viewable through the bathroom mirror.

The on-site restaurants are reminiscent of up-scale chains like Ruth’s Chris or similar. The food is not edgy or pushing the culinary boundaries but it’s definitely good. The service is excellent. Prices are comparable to similar restaurants. There’s more local, unique restaurants nearby in Lake Geneva which I would generally prefer. But I have to admit it’s convenient to have good dining options on site. Room service is another amenity that you won’t easily find at other hotels in the area.

We didn’t visit the water park or the ski area but my impression is that they’re fairly small compared to other parks in the area. But, where else will you get both on the same property?

Overall the Grand Geneva manages to provide an upscale touch without being too stuffy. We try to make a few ski trips here each year and this is probably going to become our new preferred place to stay.

Room Tip: The main complex buildings are in a line from number 1 through number 7. The main lodge is in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ling_and_Jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I just checked out of the Grand Geneva in Lake Geneva, and would never go back! The staff is very polite and pleasant but the place is just plain old. The beds feel like they have not been replaced since Hugh and his play mates called it home!! The TV's go in and out while you are watching a movie! The Trolley that is suppose to take you around from location to location never shows up! waited 1 hour once until I just got in my car and drove. They called the trolley another time the driver said 4 minutes and 20 minutes later still nothing! The staff is extremely nice and laid back, they are truly the only reason I see this place survives! The steaks from the steak house were awful, I don't think I would feed my dog that grade of meat! My kids had fun I'm glad we did it but I have definitely had better night sleeps at motel 6's then this $500.00 a night suites!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domenic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at the Grand Geneva. We pride ourselves on our accommodations, food and service. We have done numerous renovations, but there is still a nice touch of nostalgia from the Playboy days.
We recently installed new beds throughout the resort. These beds were designed specifically for the Grand and may be on the soft side for some guests.
Our trolley tour of lights is a very popular part of the Grand Geneva's holiday celebration and, therefore, has been very busy. If this was the cause of the delay, I apologize. I hope you will give us another try in the future.

Best regards,


Gerald Rappaport
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I am a meeting planner and we're extremely impressed with the food at the Grand - even the conference food is excellent and well presented. All three on site restaurants have excellent food as well. Service in restaurants and from the banquet staff is top notch. The Grand is in a beautiful location close to but out of the traffic of Lake Geneva, and has a kind of laid back, comfortable feel to it, not like some resorts that make you feel you've got to dress up to leave your room.. The Junior suites with gas fireplaces are the best value, I was so cozy in my room. We're going back next year.

Room Tip: Spring for a room with a fireplace! All the rooms are very good, tv in mirror, etc, but these are gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJLandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Bluff, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I went with my husband for a conference and now that I am home, I am having withdrawals, from the amazing food to the dynamic suite. The beds are to die for, I have arthritis and always hurt while I sleep and wake up, no aches the entire weekend. I cannot wait to go back. We had the prime rib buffet, excellent main, sides and dessert bar, with white chocolate and milk chocolate fountains, and with staying in the hotel a dining discount, therefore the overall cost was definitely worth it.

Room Tip: The suites are situated in a quiet area in Bldg 1, loved it, and no one goes down there unless their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbyrdbryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had a Groupon for a night at the Grand Geneva Resort and Spa. Our reservation happened to be on the night of their holiday light extravaganza.What a fun event. The celebration began at 4 pm when a local HS orchestra played holiday music. Cookies,hot chocolate and cider were available for guests. Holiday characters were on hand for photos -- toy soldier, angel, Snow Queen, gingerbread man or moose. Guests could walk the hotel to see the beautiful decorated trees complete with fake snow that blew over the lobby area much to the delight of youngsters. Many animated displays kept young and old oohing and aahing . Gingerbread houses created by novices and professionals are displayed and guests can vote for their favorites. Over 2 million lights decorate the property. It's worth a drive up to the resort to see the 12 Days of Christmas, Santa playing golf, along with many other scenes. The evening ended with a fireworks display that was lovely.
Our room was updated, clean, and comfortable. We decided to try the concierge option which was $45. per hotel room. This was a separate room on the first floor that offered appetizers, drinks, and breakfast in the morning. It was a quiet, relaxing place to watch the game.
We will definitely go back for this event next year and will book another night during the year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roseyswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald R, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback on your visit during our Illumination event! The decorations change every year, so it is fun to come and visit us each year and see something different. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time here with us at the Grand Geneva and we look forward to your return in the near future.

Best regards,


Gerald Rappaport
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Although most resorts "decorate" for the holidays, Grand Geneva decorates over the top. Every turn as your wander the halls is an experience that is both enjoyable and "wow"able! And that is just the inside. The outside lights of the 12 days of Christmas can be driven without even getting out of your car. Plus they have entertainment and great food. All makes for a wonderful day or evening.

Room Tip: If you don't want to go "out" in the weather, make sure you get a room in the main bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
2.0 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
169 reviews
3.6 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
186 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
549 reviews
5.9 mi away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Geneva Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Geneva Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Geneva Resort & Spa
Address: 7036 Grand Geneva Way, at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-5105
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Geneva Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Geneva® Resort is the place to meet. Whether a corporate meeting, convention or a gathering with friends and family, the endless range of meeting rooms & space and activities will keep everyone engaged. Conveniently located between Chicago and Milwaukee, there is so much to do at Lake Geneva’s only four diamond resort.Corporate travelers and families alike will find what they need to re-focus, relax or rev-up. With over 62,000 square feet of banquet space, guests have multiple options to choose from for that important business meeting, church retreat, wedding reception or family vacation. Or take time and enjoy a relaxing experience at the newly renovated WELL Spa or one of many dining options, while an indoor waterpark and kid’s program offer the excitement kids crave. Enjoy a group bonfire at the horse stables, a fast plunge down a ski hill, a serene walk through the trails or a drive down a fairway on two championship golf courses – all situated on Grand Geneva’s seemingly endless acres.No matter your reason for meeting….it’s all here in one Grand location in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Geneva Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Geneva Resort And Spa
Grand Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Grand Geneva Lake
Lake Geneva Illinois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing