We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family fun at the Grand Geneva”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Geneva Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Only 75 miles from my house, but feels more like 1000... Why so long between visits I know not why.

Service was good throughout out our visit in particular at the front desk and in the chop house. If I were to nit pick we were brought a bottle of champagne in the lobby bar, but server did not offer to pour even the first glass... Quite odd and in contrast to the rest of our stay.

Food was good but not great, which is the norm for resorts in my experiecnce.

As for skiing it is a nice "hill" for families and beginners but not enough to keep intermediate and above skiers interested for long. At least the lines are short! Four year old loves the ski cubs and the teaching program seems to be run well. Sledding was good family fun; saw the ice skating but did not partake.

Our room was a junior suite and perfect for our small family. Hallways were a bit dirty at times, but room was very clean.

It is a good four diamond resort with all the appropriate winter and summer amenities. We shall be back!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Jeff111808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Please accept my apologies for the poor Lobby Lounge experience as well as the lack luster food you were provided during your recent visit. I assure you that this is not the level of service or product that we provide at The Grand Geneva Resort and Spa. I have shared your feedback with my management team in an effort to enhance our food selections, operating procedures as well as our training programs.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the resort this summer.

Sincerely

Brett Sundstrom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,178)
There are newer reviews for Grand Geneva Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,343 - 1,349 of 2,178 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

I love the Grand Geneva Resort. I have been there 6 times for conferences. Every visit is enjoyable. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is excellent, the servers are excellent! It is an awesome place to stay, I can hardly wait until next year's conference.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Thank you for your recent posting and your continued support. I was pleased to read that the staff and food exceeded your expectations. See you next year.

Kindest Regards -
Brett Sundstrom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had a wonderful time and would highly recommend staying at the Lodge at the Grand Geneva. A special thank you to: TJ (Front Desk), Charles ( Bellstand) & Rebecca & Michelle (Spa) who did an exceptional job and really know what giving outstanding customer service is all about. Room was comfortable and very relaxing and we loved the TV in the mirror. The Italian restaurant was beautiful but the service was slow and the food could have been hotter. Overall, we had a fantastic time. Thanks for making our stay most enjoyable and thanks again for your awesome customer service!

Room Tip: Junior Suite with fireplace is nice.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

I want to thank you for sharing your kind praise for our associates, TJ, Charles, Rebecca and Michelle. At Marcus Hotels and resorts we are very proud of our hotels, but most proud of our associates who make a commitment to provide exceptional service and memorable experiences for all of our guests. We strive to be “People Pleasers” and are honored you choose to spend the weekend with us at Grand Geneva Resort and Spa.

Sincerely,

Brett Sundstrom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have been to this resort for both business and pleasure and have never had a bad experience. The staff are always friendly and attentive and the rooms are very comfortable and nicely decorated. This is a fantastic place to come for rest and relaxation as well as a couples weekend get away. They have a live piano player who is fantastic and knew every single request that guests made to him. The property is very easy to get to and not too far from other shopping and restaurants in the area. I truly have a Grand time every time I stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for your recent posting as well as your continued support. I agree with you that the Grand Geneva is the perfect resort to rekindle and renew no matter the occasion. The resort is committed to daily, high quality, live entertainment and offers a variety of entertainers and styles of music.

Sincerely,
Brett Sundstrom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Beautiful GRAND resort with tons to do for every age! Rooms are high end; beds have good quality bedding, but the mattress, just ok. Need more time to explore all the expansive property has to offer. Hope to come back in summer months to enjoy this four season resort.

Can't say enough about the service....top notch! Margaret, manager, really made up for the behavior of some unfortunate, rowdy, rude, late night Sat nt guests. She was sincerely sympathetic and concerned about how it affected our stay. Thank you again Margaret!

Lisa

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisalovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for your recent posting. I have shared your comments with Margaret. I always enjoy the opportunity to let people know that their good work is appreciated and recognized. She was encouraged by your kind words. I look forward to your return trip this summer.

Sincerely,

Brett Sundstrom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The overall experience was average for the prices they charge. When arriving get there early. There is always a line at the counter and seem to get through the checkins very slowly.

The rooms are nice but starting to show their age again. The conferences rooms are adequate and services are good.

The restaraurant is nice. Good food and handier than driving into town.

The spa is nice. This is the only memorable item that they have going for them.

Room Tip: Get there early. Very slow checkin
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for your recent posting pertaining to your Nov 2012 visit. Our priority is to exceed expectations and provide a great experience, but it sounds as though we failed to hit the mark during your stay. I apologize for that. Your comments have been shared with my staff, so thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take your comments to heart, as your feedback will help us improve. As we continue to strive for excellence in service, I welcome the opportunity to speak to you more about your recent resort experience - I may be reached at 262-249-4713.

Sincerely

Brett Sundstrom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We went to celebrate a special weekend could not have been happier comfortable rooms great service wonderful bars and restaurants definitely will come back soon.the rooms are nicely decorated a little loud however the bars and evening nightlife is superb. Really feels like you're away even though it is very close to Chicago

Room Tip: Anywhere but close to the pool
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CFR1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for your recent posting. I agree that the Grand Geneva is a quick getaway to rekindle and renew without the urban distractions. I look forward to your return visit.

Kindest Regards,

Brett Sundstrom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
5.6 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#2 of 15 in Lake Geneva
395 reviews
3.6 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
590 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#6 of 15 in Lake Geneva
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
2.0 mi away
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
Harbor Shores on Lake Geneva
#8 of 15 in Lake Geneva
487 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mill Creek Hotel
Mill Creek Hotel
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Geneva Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Geneva Resort & Spa

Address: 7036 Grand Geneva Way, at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-5105
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
#3 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range: $161 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Geneva Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Geneva® Resort is the place to meet. Whether a corporate meeting, convention or a gathering with friends and family, the endless range of meeting rooms & space and activities will keep everyone engaged. Conveniently located between Chicago and Milwaukee, there is so much to do at Lake Geneva’s only four diamond resort.Corporate travelers and families alike will find what they need to re-focus, relax or rev-up. With over 62,000 square feet of banquet space, guests have multiple options to choose from for that important business meeting, church retreat, wedding reception or family vacation. Or take time and enjoy a relaxing experience at the newly renovated WELL Spa or one of many dining options, while an indoor waterpark and kid’s program offer the excitement kids crave. Enjoy a group bonfire at the horse stables, a fast plunge down a ski hill, a serene walk through the trails or a drive down a fairway on two championship golf courses – all situated on Grand Geneva’s seemingly endless acres.No matter your reason for meeting….it’s all here in one Grand location in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Geneva Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Geneva Resort And Spa
Grand Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Grand Geneva Lake
Lake Geneva Illinois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing