We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet but remote”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Geneva Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Quiet but remote”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

The Grand Geneva is an older hotel that is been well upkept. The dining was excellent as was the service. We ate at the Chop House and Ristoranté Brissago and in the high dollar range as far as pricing. There is a Starbucks in the main lobby with a nice gelato bar. So I have to point out the downfalls of the Grand Geneva. The resort is in a very remote area so if you don't have car you will be stuck at the resort. The small pool area with not enough seating and very slow and then inaccurate pool side service (food and beverage), this occured on multiple occassions. The resort grounds are immaculate and it is quiet and if you have a ground level room you have a patio with seats outside. But watch out for the mosquitos as they are in abundance. The golf course is challenging and beautiful. If you want to get away this is the place for you, however it is on the pricey side for where it is at and what you get.

Room Tip: There are some rooms that are very, very far from the lobby so if you are traveling with anyone that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masci_JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,261
    423
    194
    112
    82
See reviews for
523
789
41
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

This huge resort was a departure for us, as we are usually more of a B&B couple on our romantic getaways. Although the main part of the hotel is clearly old, it is well-kept-up and our room was in great shape. We wandered around to check out the conference facilities, and they are extensive. I lost count of the weddings being held there over our three night visit.

I really would not recommend it for someone with mobility problems, however, as the staircases and floor levels appear designed by Escher. Yes, there is a central elevator, but should you choose the wrong level, you would immediately be blocked by stairs between you and your destination. The property seems a bit daunting for the mobility-impaired.

We did not visit the spa, the water park, or the stables during our visit, as we were more interested in the town of Lake Geneva. But the view from our lakeview room was lovely, and it was quiet except when people spoke loudly in the hallway. Service was unfailingly pleasant and helpful. We really enjoyed the breakfast buffet.

Would we go again? Well, it's not really our scene. We don't have kids to enjoy the waterpark and we neither golf nor play tennis nor ski (they have a ski hill). But it was certainly relaxing and had no "corporate" feel. We liked it.

Room Tip: Unless you like a hike, try to get a Building near the main lodge (like Building 3 or 4). Also, whil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We visited here just in August. It was my husband and I. We went for a little mini getaway just the two of us ( we left the kid at home). It was a nice hotel. We stayed for one night before going to the Dells, but we enjoyed it so much that when we were in the Dells we wanted to go back. The room was clean and it had two beds. The only thing that bummed us was that there is a tv in the mirror in the bathroom ( you would never know unless it is turned on) and it wouldn't work. We called maintaince down and they couldn't get it to work either. So they gave us Timber Ridge waterpark tickets for the inconvience. While we were there that night, we went to both pools (outside and inside). Both were very nice. I enjoyed the outside pool. The next morning/afternoon we ate at one of the restaurants by the pool. Food was good. Then we checked out the spa/fitness center across the street. The facility was awesome. I was blown away by the locker rooms in this place. I didn't want to leave. They have massages going on in there, couches you can sit on, a hot tub (Yes, right in the middle of the locker room), showers were awesome. After checking out, we went over for the rest of the afternoon to Timber Ridge and had some fun at the waterpark. The Grand Geneva is more for adults. Timber Ridge is for kids. You will not be disappointed. It also has a huge golf course for those golfers out there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huhmetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

The board I sit on had its retreat at the Grand Geneva Resort the last weekend in September 2011. I check in with Sue at the registration desk. My room was not great, it had a view of the parking lot, yet another member of the board had a beautiful view of the golf course, across the hall from me. I immeidately called the front desk for a room change and Sue answer the phone. She told me the only way she could help me was for me to pay an additional $30. The company was paying all expenses, room, food, etc. for all of the board members. I explained this to Sue. She told me I would still have to pay, even though the other board member did not have to pay. I went back to the front desk and Tiffany put me in a wonderful room (lake view as well as golf course view) with no extra money or no problems. Upon checking out 2 days later, unfortunately I had Sue again. She tried to charge my credit card for all of my meals, etc. even though the reservations were under the corporation's name. I picked up my invoice and walked over to Tiffany, whose line just opened. She tood care of everything without a problem. Avoid Sue - she does not know what she is doing. Tiffany is great.

I ate at each one of the restaurants during my stay. The food was just OK, but the prices were very high. I am a vegetarian and my total for 1 breakfast, 2 dinners, and 2 glasses of wine at the bar came to $122. Mind you this did not include meat.

The facility is very beautiful with nice hiking trails. Everyone from the maid staff to the concierge to the wait staff were very nice (EXCEPT SUE at registration).

Room Tip: Unless you want to pay extra for a decent room, avoid Sue. She does not know what she is doing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlaAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brodhead, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We celebrated our 40th anniversary at the Grand...and it was Grand! What a lovely, historic place. The former home of Hugh Heffner Playboy Club...updated but still kept the charm of the past. Warm and inviting common area, food choices ranges from sandwishes in a little coffee shop to elegant meal at the main restrauant. Walked around the ground and took in the stunning views of the lake. In all, a very good place to reconnect and head into another 40 years! We would go back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susig60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshires, MA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed at the Grand Geneva for an out-of-town wedding: short and sweet, 2-night trip. When we realized all they had to offer, we decided that we want to return to the area for an extended stay. The resort was clean and the staff were helpful and professional. I am not in agreement with the "resort fee" concept: this should be built into the room cost. We were told that our resort fee included 2 bottles of water each day. When we didn't use both of them the first night, we only received one additional one the next day. I thought this was a bit on the "cheap" side. Although we have no children, I reviewed a kids' program brochure and found that there were additional charges for each kids' experience. This could make a trip rather pricey for a family. These things aside, we did enjoy our stay very much and would like to return. We ate at one of the restaurants and had a very good meal. In addition, the shops were very nice and we did purchase some items.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Went for a quick overnight, mid-week getaway with a friend, just wanted to sit by the pool, read, relax, etc. We shopped and had lunch in downtown Lake Geneva and arrived at the resort around 2:30. Our room was not yet ready, so we waited at the Pool bar for the Front Desk to call us. The rooms are "guarenteed ready by 4:00" so we figured the wait would not be long. About 4:15 when we had not yet received a call from Reception, I went to the front desk to inquire.... "Oppps, No one called you? " was the response. The room was lovely, but given that we were only staying for one night at a cost of about $300.00 for the one night (less than 24 hours; since check out time is noon) we were pretty mift about being "forgotten". Although the grounds are beautiful, the wait/bar /housekeeping staff are great and the food/drinks very good... It's not a Four-Star experience and not worth the money.

Room Tip: Ask/Pay for golf course view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patticoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
2.0 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
169 reviews
3.6 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
185 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#9 of 15 in Lake Geneva
549 reviews
5.9 mi away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Geneva Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Geneva Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Geneva Resort & Spa
Address: 7036 Grand Geneva Way, at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-5105
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Geneva Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Geneva® Resort is the place to meet. Whether a corporate meeting, convention or a gathering with friends and family, the endless range of meeting rooms & space and activities will keep everyone engaged. Conveniently located between Chicago and Milwaukee, there is so much to do at Lake Geneva’s only four diamond resort.Corporate travelers and families alike will find what they need to re-focus, relax or rev-up. With over 62,000 square feet of banquet space, guests have multiple options to choose from for that important business meeting, church retreat, wedding reception or family vacation. Or take time and enjoy a relaxing experience at the newly renovated WELL Spa or one of many dining options, while an indoor waterpark and kid’s program offer the excitement kids crave. Enjoy a group bonfire at the horse stables, a fast plunge down a ski hill, a serene walk through the trails or a drive down a fairway on two championship golf courses – all situated on Grand Geneva’s seemingly endless acres.No matter your reason for meeting….it’s all here in one Grand location in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Geneva Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Geneva Resort And Spa
Grand Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Grand Geneva Lake
Lake Geneva Illinois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing