We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Meal at the Grand Cafe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Geneva Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Lake Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Meal at the Grand Cafe”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

My foursome was on a golf trip to Lake Geneva for the weekend and were looking for a good meal after 36 holes on a Saturday. We ended up choosing the Prime Rib Buffet at the Grand Cafe because we had a Buy 1, Get 1 coupon through the Lakeside Saver coupon book. http://www.lakesidesaver.com/ We were able to use two coupons and had an umbelievable dinner for around $50 as opposed to $100 (price is $25 per person). What a great value!

There is so much more on the buffet than Prime Rib - although that was definitely the highlight. They offered nice salad options, crab legs, peel and eat shrimp, a couple different fish options, bbq chicken and several side dishes. To top it off they had a very nice spread of desserts. All very good! Just what was needed for an energy boost after a long, hot day on the course.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,272
    425
    197
    116
    82
See reviews for
527
799
42
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (699)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I travel much on business and stay at many 4 star hotels - this is NOT 4 star hotel - the grounds are very pretty and the golf course is nice, but the hotel is outdated (70's type) and not as clean as it should be. Very disappointed

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rams19881993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDGGRS, General Manager at Grand Geneva Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
The original resort was built in the 60s and the architecture is inspired by Frank Lloyd Wright and is a perfect example of organic architecture. Over the last 10 years the resort has spent millions of dollars renovating and enhancing the product. None of this matters if the staff does not provide exceptional service. I apologize for your poor experience. Thank you for your business as well as your candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Brett Sundstrom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for five nights as was part of a large conference. I was in the last building to one side, on the third floor and my balcony faced the parking lot. There are no elevators and it is a long, confusing walk. By the third day I had it mastered.

The hotel property is spectacular - the golf course perfectly groomed, a lovely pool to overlook the water, a terrific sports center that is well equiped.

However, I was not so enamoured with the rooms, hallways or maid service.
The halls were musty smelling and in need of care. Two napking, straws and other assundry items were on the floor of the hallway of the building I was in for 2 1/2 days. There had been maid service, but my coffee was not replenished, one day a set of towels was not restocked and the fridge did not work. The bath products were nice and the TV in the bath a wonderful edition. Bedding was very comfortable.

The staff was pleasant - the cocktail watiresses and bell boys were accomodating. The conference food was fine, but I have had far better in similar resort situations.

If I were to stay in Lake Geneva, I would seek out alternative options.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjuicetmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

First summer visit, had good experiences before in the winter. This visit was a let down. For the price we paid, I would have expected more, like good service.

Checked in, had a minor bug issue in the room, not a big deal but we decided to switch rooms. The next room had a backed up shower drain. They sent some one to fix it, and that person gave us free waterpark passes, which was nice.

The next day, we got back from the pool in the late afternoon, room not cleaned yet. They showed up at 4 pm while kids were napping. They said they would come back in an hour, but they never did. We had to make several phone calls to house keeping, and they finally showed up at 9 pm.

The hotel has a nice pool, but it is way overcrowded on a summer weekend. We ended up using the indoor pool most of the time to avoid the crowd.

The spa is nice. The steakhouse is very good, however we brought our kids, and $15 for buttered noodles......seriously?

On Sunday the placed emptied out, asked for a late checkout, they said no, not sure why. The parking lot was 2/3 empty.

The hotel staff just seems to be dialing it in, and I don't necessarily need to be pampered, but for the prices they charge, I at least expect good service.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chicagodave15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delafield, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We decided to see if our second experience at Grand Geneva to celebrate a birthday was as good as the first, and we were not disappointed. We requested the same room from our earlier trip and were pleased to have the request honored. The rooms are beautiful while the hallways are a bit outdated. Very relaxing...very peaceful. Service and food at the Chophouse is outstanding. We're planning a stay in October!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2011

What a Wonderful time! The staff really made our anniversary special. We went for our anniversary and everyone of the staff we encountered not only engaged us in conversation, but once they learned it was our anniversary - went over and above to acknowledge & celebrate it with us! The bartenders in Evolve were so thoughtful, after learning about our anniversary, they sent us champagne & strawberries to our room!
The pool was also expectional! There was lotion & sunscreen available for all. I've stayed at quite a few resorts lately - but the staff at the Grand Geneva go the "extra mile" to make your stay expectional. Will definitely be back... maybe make it an annual visit!

Room Tip: Not worth the extra for the lake view; opt instead for closer to the outdoor pool or by the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassie0955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2011

The place is amazing. Easy to get to and offers ALOT to do Very kid friendly also

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jil1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Geneva hotels
2.0 mi away
Maxwell Mansion
Maxwell Mansion
#5 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
3.6 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#1 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.6 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Ridge Hotel
The Ridge Hotel
#4 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#8 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
5.9 mi away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Geneva Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Geneva Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Geneva Resort & Spa
Address: 7036 Grand Geneva Way, at Hwys 50 East & 12, Lake Geneva, WI 53147-5105
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lake Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Geneva
#2 Spa Hotel in Lake Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Geneva Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Geneva® Resort is the place to meet. Whether a corporate meeting, convention or a gathering with friends and family, the endless range of meeting rooms & space and activities will keep everyone engaged. Conveniently located between Chicago and Milwaukee, there is so much to do at Lake Geneva’s only four diamond resort.Corporate travelers and families alike will find what they need to re-focus, relax or rev-up. With over 62,000 square feet of banquet space, guests have multiple options to choose from for that important business meeting, church retreat, wedding reception or family vacation. Or take time and enjoy a relaxing experience at the newly renovated WELL Spa or one of many dining options, while an indoor waterpark and kid’s program offer the excitement kids crave. Enjoy a group bonfire at the horse stables, a fast plunge down a ski hill, a serene walk through the trails or a drive down a fairway on two championship golf courses – all situated on Grand Geneva’s seemingly endless acres.No matter your reason for meeting….it’s all here in one Grand location in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Geneva Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Geneva Hotel Lake Geneva
Grand Geneva Resort And Spa
Grand Geneva Lake
Lake Geneva Illinois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing