We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dillman's Bay Resort
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn(Minocqua)
$67
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Concord Inn(Minocqua)(Great Value!)
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aqua Aire Motel(Minocqua)(Great Value!)
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pointe Hotel & Suites(Minocqua)(Great Value!)
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Waters of Minocqua(Minocqua)(Great Value!)
$106
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveler rating
78
13
7
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
13
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaddle boatsfamily vacationnorthern wisconsinnorth woodsamenities includingwater skiingevery summerdennynorthwoodsaccommodationslakeweddingchaletrobertsoncollagecanoeingretreat
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 101 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We visited Dillman's for family vacation with 2 tween sons. We liked it and would return for another Northwoods vacation. Our accommodations were as described except sleeper sofa was a loveseat with a pullout bed for a single person, DVD player didn't work, and master TV only played VHS tapes. Not huge issues, especially since focus of visit was not watching media but it's a negative. To be fair, Dish network satellite TV in family area and wide selection of movies (mostly VHS) in the main office were very good. Flat screen TV in family area and old TV in master bedroom with no signal or satellite connection. We parked right outside the unit, which was very convenient. We rented a pontoon boat for a few days and tried swimming, tubing, and fishing (no luck on that but we are novice fisherman). The resort allowed us to dock the boat near our accommodations, which was nice. There was no housekeeping other than after a few days. We easily traded in towels and handled garbage ourselves. One disappointment was the lack of any sandy beach -- none. Instead, consistent with WI lakes, the swimming beaches are docks and some grassy areas. The swim raft and swim trampoline were great. There is no supervision, though, which resulted in one family taking over the raft with their cooler of beer. No kids could use the trampoline. They have one beat up paddleboat that our kids used and thought was OK. They had several single, kid kayaks with life jackets and our kids really enjoyed those. There were bikes available for free but they needed repairs -- good for quick rides by kids on paved roads. They were of a garage sale quality. Nicer adult bikes were available if a credit card is provided. No helmets provided. Resort was booked but still seemed calm and quiet. It is a dog friendly resort and there is noticeable dog poop here and there. Great geography being on the peninsula, which allows for good photo ops. A local grocery is pretty big and 3.5 miles away, but it closes early (8 in summer and earlier in other seasons). A super center Walmart is 20 mins away. The only wifi is in the library and the Grandview cabins, which have their own router. We picked up wifi intermittently in chalet 1. Checkout is at 10:00 in July 2013.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had been going up there for annual week-long family vacations for a number of years, most recently 2009, and always had a blast. We just spent this past weekend at Dillmans, and they are just as good as ever. Excellent setting for a Northwoods family vacation. A huge area of shallow, sandy-bottomed water on one side of their penninsula where we played with my kids when they were small. As they grew older, we moved to the deeper swim area on the other side, with free kayaks, canoes, and paddleboat, along with motor boats and pontoons for rental. It is also nice that they are on a penninsula - if the wind picks up, you can move to the opposite side to find shelter and calm water. Cabins come with fully equipped clean kitchens, fire pit, picnic table and charcoal grill. Various sizes, some more rustic than others, but all clean and well kept. Cabin #5 and Cabin #8, both a bit more rustic, have been our favorites over the years. The condo units in the main lodge are very modern with full kitchens, while the hotel units are a little more basic but adequate. We stayed in a Northshore hotel unit this past weekend with our family of four, and it was perfect for our needs. Such a picturesque setting, and the family that owns the place does a great job of keeping it up. My only regret is seeing additional development popping up around the lake as the years go by, but it is still a huge, relatively undeveloped and incredibly peaceful place to be. The fact that there are loons nesting on the property is evidence of the tranquility!

Room Tip: Note that there is no restaurant on the property. There are nice restaurants about 20 minutes drive away. Cabin #5 has nice large bedrooms and two baths, and a nice long enclosed "porch" seating area. The kitchen cooking area is small, but we did most of our cooking on the grill. It is surounded by a large private patio area and fire pit area right above the lake. Cabin #8 has some larger common areas inside. The firepit and picnic table are shared with the neighboring cabin, which we liked since the other guests were always fun - but might not be the right thing for people who insist on their privacy.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CubsFanMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed here 7 days for a weeklong painting workshop and was pleased with the workshop but disappointed with the cabin. This is a family-owned resort that has some real charm in its overall setting of historic cabins but closer inspection of everything reveals that the entire place is worse for the wear. The resort appears to be a gathering place for vacationing families and fisherman and in that respect, it is adequate for a North Woods resort if one is expecting a cabin with a lot of wear and tear. The people who run the place seem friendly enough and there are lots of family and fishing-related activities so the kids can run around or swim while everyone else can carry on fishing, visiting, painting etc.

As far as the cabins are concerned, I get that these are not (and don't need to be) luxury accommodations but my first impulse was to haul out the cleaning supplies and head over to Home Depot and Walmart to grab some much needed updates. Dirty and broken window shades, windows that needed serious repair (cracked panes) if not replacement, doorknobs falling off, moldy caulk and moldy shower stall, dead flies all over (I know, I know, North Woods but how about vacuuming and wiping up smashed bugs as part of housekeeping?) and threadbare linens were just a few of the things that surprised me based on the other reviews and the prices charged. The older appliances worked fine (I cooked for myself all week) and the kitchen was decently supplied but the well-used and somewhat grimy appliances and dirty textiles didn't help the overall shabby appearance. It doesn't need to be swank but if it were my place, I'd spend a few hundred bucks per cabin on basic repairs and clean them up. The painting area in the main lodge was just as much in need of basic maintenance. As much as I liked the workshop, for the overall money charged, I was not pleased with the cabin and don't think there is much of an excuse for the general disrepair. I will probably not return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IllinoisCentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

As a solo traveler spending time at Dillman's Resort for an art class, I was thrilled to experience the tranquility of the lakeside location, the spacious comfort of the rooms, and the warmth and friendliness of all the staff. Driving into the resort, I felt nostalgic for family holidays when everybody piles into the car and heads for a lakeside resort, and Dillman's would be the perfect destination for a family trip. A friend of mine joined me with his dog, and all the amenities and lakeside location make it a fabulous place to enjoy time with dogs. He was pretty happy swimming and chasing balls in the lake. Do make the effort to drive up to Sissy Lou's Up North for breakfast one day. It's a little farther away than the website indicates, but well worth the short drive for cranberry and pecan waffles, and other breakfast treats.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizC191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We spent a week at Dillmans whilst visiting relatives nearby. We chose Dillmans based on location. This resort is located on a peninsula on White Sand Lake. Most of the cabins have a lake view. We live in an urban area so this was a big change of environment and we loved it! There is a shallow area for kids to swim and a deeper area with a water trampoline that my son loved. The weather was pretty good during our visit meaning that we got to take full advantage of the relaxing environment and crystal clear lake.

We stayed in cabin 9A and 9B. Both were good for 2 adults and 1 child although 9A has a bigger kitchen and more comfortable bed. I found the kitchens well equipped and the BBQ was an added bonus. Dillmans website doesn't really do these cabins justice. I was pleasantly surprised as I expected something much more basic.

Dillmans offers much more than just accommodation. Canoes, kayaks, lifejackets, bikes, games room, DVDs, books and board games were all available to borrow at no additional cost. There were also activities during the week - s'mores roast, pinata break for the kids, pontoon rides - again at no extra cost. Unfortunately we missed out on these due to jet lag! Free Wi-Fi is available in the lodge but not the cabins - which forced us to disconnect more than usual and enjoy the surroundings!

We wanted an outdoors lake holiday and that's exactly what we got. We had time to hang out as a family and swim/boat/fish - which is what a holiday in this part of the world is about. If you can't live without a phone signal, this probably isn't the place for you. However if you want to get away, this is a great location!

PS. My son says that this part of Wisconsin reminds him of Grinda, Sweden!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tink944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews