We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Win Big!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake of the Torches Resort Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake of the Torches Resort Casino
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lac du Flambeau
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Win Big!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

I rode there on my snowmobile. Everything was great except I had to park my snowmobile across the road from the hotel. That was very inconvenient. That is why I give it a poor review for location. The food was good and the drinks were too!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    50
    22
    8
    12
See reviews for
25
52
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Three Lakes, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We've stayed here a number of times, in a number of different rooms and suites, and are always amazed at the sheer number of eagles flying over the lake. We live on a lake in northern Wisconsin, and we don't have anywhere near that many eagles on our lake, ever. Impressive and awe inspiring.

The hotel staff is among the friendliest we've ever encountered. From the reservation process (such happy, helpful people!) through checkout, it always is a pleasure. The rooms have always been clean and adequately furnished.

As others have mentioned, the gaming isn't the greatest, but it's on par with most reservation casinos. I mean, Vegas it isn't, but it's certainly not the tightest casino in Wisconsin. And if we're not doing well, there are always eagles to watch, right?

Not at all impressed with any food options. We have started bringing our own food in a cooler and making sandwiches in the room. It's fresh and the price is right.

Room Tip: If getting a deluxe room with balcony, be aware that they can be right over the bar and therefore, l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthwoodsAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and very clean. Check-in was quick and easy and hotel clerks were informative and friendly. We saw eagles in the parking lot and were told that they live in the trees above the lake. There are many decks outside overlooking the lake, including one off the pool (which is also very nice). There is a deck off the lobby which is huge with many chairs and couches. The casino is also clean with lots of winners!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vegascarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Eagle's Nest Restaurant at the Lake of the Torches Resort Casino in Lac du Flambeau WI is not recommended. We have eaten there for the prime rib buffet many times over the past 10 years, but the last 2 years have been terrible and we won't be back. They must have fired their chef, because the quality of the food is noticeably different than in years past. Last year the prime rib was raw, not rare, and their solution was to slice off a piece and fry it like a steak, which is not the same and toughens the meat. Two days ago we tried again, and this time the prime rib was overdone and tough. It was not like prime rib at all--more like a bad rump roast. When I asked if they had some that was rare or medium rare, the slicer turned the meat on it's side so I could see the end, and it looked rare, but once it was out of the red heat lamps, it was the same brown well done as the first slice. The rest of the choices on the buffet sit out a long time, and are not appealing. The scalloped potatoes were not potato slices in sauce, but more like a potato & cheese mush. This time we will not be back ever. For the same money and without the 40 minute drive each way, we could have had a wonderful prime rib dinner at Golden Pines in St Germain.

Room Tip: I know nothing about the hotel, just the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madelyn19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lac du Flambeau hotels

Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We got into the room, opened the drapes, and had 2 juviniles and 2 adult bald eagles perched outside our room. Birding at it's best. They visited every day. The room was clean, well appointed and reasonable. Staff friendly and accomodating. The gaming stunk, like it always does at reservation casinos, but that's a small part of a visit to northern WI! It's better than staring at cabin walls once it gets dark. The Casino Resort has a great indoor pool, and view. Easy driving distance to Powell Marsh, Willow/Gile/Turtle/Rainbow flowages with excellent birding and hiking opportunities. If you like to shop (who doesn't?), T-shirts and beads & trinkets abound, but stop in at The Gem Trader in Minocqua and Pink Coyote in Eagle River for some wonderful & unique Native American jewelry & ceramics. LOVED them both.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the lake but away from the bar. The family of eagles was at the end of the hall b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank v m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We spent a night on our way farther up north at Lake of the Torches. The hotel was clean and nice. The staff at the hotel was excellent, very friendly and helpful. Now as for the food, service was slow and food wasn't very good. We ate at the buffet and the food was cold, wasn't replaced when dishes were empty, service was slow, quality was not good at all. If we stopped here again we would definately eat somewhere else. The casino is tight and service on the floor not very good. We had to stop because we had heard so much about the place but probably won't again.

The only reason I'm giving this place an average rating is because our hotel room was nice and we were treated well there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PalacePrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin rapids
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Hotel stay at the Lake of the Torches casino...friendly staff,clean.Nicely decorated with Northwoods theme.Casino close by.Good food,reasonably priced....Outdoors has docks to enjoy.Eagles fly overhead.Lake next to Hotel.scenic,peaceful....

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms some have decks &/or,whirpool in room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrkma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lac du Flambeau
11.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Concord Inn
10.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 7 in Minocqua
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
10.9 mi away
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Minocqua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
AmericInn Minocqua
AmericInn Minocqua
#5 of 7 in Minocqua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
20.5 mi away
Rustic Manor Motor Lodge
Rustic Manor Motor Lodge
#2 of 5 in Saint Germain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Waters of Minocqua
The Waters of Minocqua
#3 of 7 in Minocqua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake of the Torches Resort Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake of the Torches Resort Casino

Property: Lake of the Torches Resort Casino
Address: 510 Old Abe Road, Lac du Flambeau, WI 54538
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lac du Flambeau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lac du Flambeau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Pokegama Lake and nestled in Wisconsin's Northwoods, Lake of the Torches Resort Casino has the feel of a classic Northern retreat and reflects its Ojibwe culture and heritage. The casino has over 800 slot machines (including a non-smoking area), plus Blackjack and Craps, a high-stakes Bingo Hall seating up to 500 persons and Super Spots. Not to mention, great dining at Woody's Bar and Grill and The Eagle's Nest Restaurant will bring your experience full circle. The hotel has 101 well-appointed rooms, the Dancing Waters Lounge and the Woodland Oasis pool area. The 8,500 square-foot Convention Center with the Hall of Nations offers an outstanding venue for entertainment, receptions, trade shows, meetings, presentations and seminars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Of The Torches Hotel Lac Du Flambeau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing