We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time, great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake of the Torches Resort Casino
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lac du Flambeau
Conrath, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great time, great place”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Spent friday night and enjoyed the seafood buffet, every item was nicely prepared and fresh and presentable. The staff from the desk, to the waitstaff, bartenders and casino workers were all very neat and friendly, well done, everyone, we will certainly return. The pool area, too, was up and above what we expected, very nice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    50
    22
    9
    12
See reviews for
24
53
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. We've stayed here twice in the past 2 years & we've been very pleased. Our room was very spacious & clean. The pool area is great for small children as there is a separate pool for them.

My only complaint was that the front desk staff was very rude both at check-in & check-out. In an economy like this you'd think you could find more personable staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 60270Familyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2012

This casino and Hotel was recommended by many as a very nice place and great food. We came in late January to see a special guest. The room was not very nice for the price, very plain. TV was horrible, wall noise from room to room was loud and floor noise too. The buffets were atrocious, the food was old and dry, and very poor variety. The only other food option was a food court that had specific hours for anything hot. The pool area looked nice, we just didn't get down to it. The casino was pretty small, with tons of 1 cent machines, and talk about tight with the payouts...omg!!! The smoking was bad in there too. Bartender at the bar was a generous pour though, that was a plus.

Room Tip: stay up if you can? Just gamble if you have to much money cause your guaranteed to lose it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lac du Flambeau hotels

wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

The price of the hotel rooms is right if you use the coupons from the casino ( must have a players card). Rooms are nice. The staff were very helpfull. Nice pool and whilpool area. The pizza is the casino was very good.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrtire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morton grove
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

been here many times,now live in the chicago area. this is the best casino, i have been to. always stay a couple of nights have been to all the casinos around chicago,ind, wis,mich,lake taho,but kave always done good at here,everyone here is always helpful,nice staff,food good,rooms nice,it seems that this casino run by the tribe,pays out much more offten, then casinos taxed by the state the casino,us in, some here in the chicago area are taxed 70 percent whats left for the player? will continue to enjoy this casino, with my mom and rest of fammily@friends. lenny chicago

Room Tip: book early,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank play53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
90 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The rooms were spacious, had a northwoods theme, and were very enjoyable. I was impressed with the friendliness of the front desk staff - they were even joking with me, giving me info, and went well above the call of duty.

The whole hotel portion of the casino has a great vibe to it with a fun looking pool, beautiful lobby, and a wonderful northwoods theme throughout. The buffet at the restaurant between the hotel and the casino was one of the better casino buffets I have had in a long time (pork tenderloin was to die for)!

(I travel all over the country with my job, and I contribute on EVERY hotel I stay in. Trip Advisor has been a great tool for me, and I contribute fairly, for both good and bad facilities.)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FunnyFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

First off, let me say that the facility is beautiful, and well kept. The physical environment was not an issue for me at all. It was other issues that have me struggling to write this review.

3 years ago, some friends and I stayed at Lake of the Torches to start our annual golf weekend, and got a great room, for approximately $60/night. That was with a 20% discount for being a “players club” member. This year, when making the reservations, I was told the room rate was $85/night, and even though we had the players club card from our previous stay, because it “probably” didn’t have 100 points on it, the reservationist couldn’t give us the 20% off of the room this time. That wasn’t an issue 3 years ago; we signed up for the card the day that we checked in, and received the discount!!

Another thing that was odd was the amount of kids in the casino’s snack bar area. There were perhaps 5 little kids (ranging from 1 to 7 or so) in the snack bar; that struck me as odd, as I thought you were supposed to be 21 to enter the casino. Plus, several of the kids didn’t have shirts on, or were running around in diapers, which is not the most appealing thing to see when ordering food.

That was all on Thursday night; the rest of the evening was uneventful, other than no one in our group did well at the casino. Oh well, it just wasn’t our night!!

Friday morning I was awake around 6:30, in the hopes of getting a workout, sauna, and swim in before leaving the hotel for our golfing. The workout room was available 24 hours per day, but I was shocked to see that the pool/sauna area didn’t open until 8:00 a.m. That can’t go over well with businesspeople that want to get a swim or sauna in before heading to meetings, conferences, etc.!! No major harm done, other than making the turnaround time a little tighter in getting ready to get checked out…

The breakfast buffet was awesome – the server that helped our group was great. She was friendly, very helpful, and fun to chat with.

Check-out was uneventful, other than the person who handled my check-out didn’t bother to ask how the stay was; if she had, I might have talked her ear off!!

All in all, my stay at the Lake of the Torches was adequate, but a bit disappointing in getting our golf weekend off to a rousing start. We may be back, but I will probably try other casino/hotels first before booking again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jboyd84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lac du Flambeau
10.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 7 in Minocqua
67 reviews
10.9 mi away
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Northwoods Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Minocqua
22 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Pointe Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
AmericInn Minocqua
AmericInn Minocqua
#5 of 7 in Minocqua
226 reviews
11.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Concord Inn
12.3 mi away
The Waters of Minocqua
The Waters of Minocqua
#3 of 7 in Minocqua
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake of the Torches Resort Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake of the Torches Resort Casino

Property: Lake of the Torches Resort Casino
Address: 510 Old Abe Road, Lac du Flambeau, WI 54538
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Lac du Flambeau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lac du Flambeau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake of the Torches Resort Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Pokegama Lake and nestled in Wisconsin's Northwoods, Lake of the Torches Resort Casino has the feel of a classic Northern retreat and reflects its Ojibwe culture and heritage. The casino has over 800 slot machines (including a non-smoking area), plus Blackjack and Craps, a high-stakes Bingo Hall seating up to 500 persons and Super Spots. Not to mention, great dining at Woody's Bar and Grill and The Eagle's Nest Restaurant will bring your experience full circle. The hotel has 101 well-appointed rooms, the Dancing Waters Lounge and the Woodland Oasis pool area. The 8,500 square-foot Convention Center with the Hall of Nations offers an outstanding venue for entertainment, receptions, trade shows, meetings, presentations and seminars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lake of the Torches Resort Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Of The Torches Hotel Lac Du Flambeau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing