We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean and great value!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Pointe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ferry Landing Suites on Madeline Island
Ranked #1 of 2 La Pointe B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, clean and great value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We recently stay at the Ferry Landing Suites. We had such a great time staying right in the middle of town. Once we arrived, we could walk everywhere we wanted to be.
-kayaking
-biking and moped riding
-swimming
-playing croquet with the locals, which included a few (too many) beers.
We’d go back in a minute, especially given the rates and all the comforts of home.
The best, was sitting out on the balcony, having coffee in the morning and cocktails in the evening.

Room Tip: The Bayfield Suite had 2 balconies, which was great fr hanging outdoors. Includes a gas grill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Babbs_662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadelineFan50, Owner at Ferry Landing Suites on Madeline Island, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Babbs- glad you like the Bayfield Suite. It's nice and big with 2 BR's and giant living room and when you want to be outside you have your pick of two different decks to watch the town or the lake from a higher perch. Thanks for your nice words about our cleanliness and value-- those are two of the watchwords we strive for. Hope to see you again at the landing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Last year when I visited Madeline Island I had stayed in the Bayfield. This year I decided to try the Queen. They say the Bayfield is the presidential suite but really need to give that title to the Queen. The privacy of the Queen is awesome. Private deck, and every window you look out you see nothing but forest. It is clearly owned by someone who takes great pride in their property. They have made even more improvements this year. Freshly painted decks that look awesome, and added flat screen TV's in the rooms. I highly recommend this rental to anyone looking for an awesome place to stay. I will be back in July and am looking forward to it!

Room Tip: You want the Queen room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadelineFan50, Owner at Ferry Landing Suites on Madeline Island, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Glad you liked it enough to come back another time. I know you have lots of choices of where to stay so we appreciate your confidence in our place.

I like the privacy fence, too, and to be surrounded by the woods makes it that much more special.

Thanks for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We spent 4 nights in the Bayfield Suite over an extended Labor Day weekend.
This suite occupies the second floor and has 2 decks & 2 bedrooms.
It was clean and spacious. It is pretty basically furnished though, but it is Madeline Island.
It is very convenient to groceries, coffee shop and restaurants, so nice!

We'd give them a 95/100 total rating.
The couches were kind of ripped up, bad design, because they were new this season.
The new bistro high top set on the kitchen deck was great,
but the deck with the grill needs new furniture ASAP,
The 2 filthy old cheap white plastic chairs are very unappealing.
We would stay here again and would recommend it to others.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadelineFan50, Owner at Ferry Landing Suites on Madeline Island, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest-- thanks for your kind observations. I appreciate you letting us know about the 2 issues.

The couch fabric will be repaired immediately-- it really is a funny design, as you said. It's in a spot that gets tugged on as people get on and off the couch and slowly ripped.

The white plastic chairs were pretty ugly when I looked at them and we have removed them from use.

Thanks again for bringing these maters to our attention! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

For labor day weekend my family and I decided to go to Madeline Island for the first time and stay at the Ferry Landing Suites.. it was wonderful! The space was perfect and rate was unbeatable! It was a bonus to not only have our own kitchen but to have a great deck with a BBQ grill on it as well. The location couldn't be better as you are right in the heart of town, in walking distance of everything. We are looking forward to next summer and would not hesitate to stay at Ferry Landing Suites again...it truly was a gem on such a beautiful island!

Room Tip: We stayed in the lower lever suite is was really nice and the deck on it was perfect for sitting bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadelineFan50, Owner at Ferry Landing Suites on Madeline Island, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Jenn W- Thank you for your kind words about Ferry Landing Suites. Glad you enjoyed the deck and the grill. Those and the bistro deck furniture were new this year so I am glad they were appreciated. Come on back to the Landing anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

My family and I went to Madeline Island as we have every year for the past 20 years. The kids have all gotten older and we thought we would try the "city" thing-- which is pretty funny for Madeline. Anyways, we heard about all of the improvements and good experiences that people were having at the newly remodeled Ferry Landing Suites so we gave it a try and stayed in the Niche Suite. It was cute-- old Ferry pictures, new carpeting and paint, dishwasher!, new gas barbecue, 2 BR's and the best part was our own little deck off the front where we could see the lake and watch all of the "tourists" go by.

Whenever the urge hit us we could go to any of the local watering holes for beverages or meals which were just a 1/2 block away. In fact, next time, I will leave my car in Bayfield and just walk on the ferry and either rent a bike in town or just walk everywhere. It was so centrally located that a car was not really necessary.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LMayto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ferry Landing Suites on Madeline Island, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear LMayto-- you are so kind and I am grateful for your sweet comments. It's been a great first summer and your nice words show everything we are doing is worth it! Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

An very nice place, well kept, with great views. You can open the windows and catch the cool breeze from the lake and hear the waves crashing on the shore. I highly recommend the Ferry Landing Suites as a place to stay on the island.

Room Tip: The room on second floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadelineFan50, Owner at Ferry Landing Suites on Madeline Island, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thanks for the kind words. We have put a lot of effort into creating a vacation retreat that is in town and close to all of the action yet still embraces the fresh air and lake breeze. Glad you liked it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Over the Memorial Day weekend, my girlfriends and I stayed at the Ferry Landing Suites. The new owners have created wonderfully tasteful suites. We liked the historic b/w photos, linens and just an overall "urban feel on the island oasis" sense. The location is ideally situated close to the downtown area. We would walk to the downtown coffee shop(although we had a kitchenette). I grew up in a small town so always fun to hang out and hear local chatter about the running loose dogs, families returning from the winter and the new businesses opening on the island-Bell Street Gallery, Marv-n-Stewarts and some others.

There are amenities on the grounds: grills and private courtyards. We just stayed a couple of nights so had dinner at the restaurants.
We also were in walking distance to Joni's beach-(one day the weather was a dream) and the bike rental place. We rode to the park. It is flat and worth your while. Absolutely gorgeous! There are new tennis courts in the downtown area-but we forgot our rackets....
We love there is a new inn on the island-a walk from the ferry dock. It is a great addition. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank StellaSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ferry Landing Suites on Madeline Island, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Stella- thanks for noticing all of the effort we are putting into the new Ferry Landing Suites. We are aiming to make it the kind of place you are automatically comfortable in both in a visual and physical sense. Thanks for mentioning the historic photos that we got courtesy of the Madeline Island Ferry Line archives, and the private decks and courtyard. These are all little touches that have been very well received by our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Pointe
13.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Hotel Chequamegon
12.0 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
15.0 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
2.7 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#1 of 15 in Bayfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferry Landing Suites on Madeline Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferry Landing Suites on Madeline Island

Property: Ferry Landing Suites on Madeline Island
Address: 776 Main Street, Madeline Island, La Pointe, WI
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Pointe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in La Pointe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk from the Madeline Island Ferry Landing. In town, near the action, across the street from Lake Superior. Walk within a minute to fine dining, coffee shop, bank, candy store, bike rental, the lake, the pool,and more.Only 4 suites, 3 with private decks and patios, provide an intimate holiday experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing