We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy sticky and cinnamon rolls”
Review of Grampa Tony's

Grampa Tony's
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in La Pointe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 31, 2018

We stopped here for breakfast. Enjoyed eating out on Madeline Island...staff was friendly, the sticky bun and cinnamon roll delicious. We also had hot chocolate which was creamy, a farmers omelet and eggs Benedict....both came with hash browns and toast.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Cherie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 128 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2018

Grandpa Tony’s is a family style restaurant and is located on Madeline Island in the small vacation town of La Pointe, Wisconsin. It is also across the street from the Lake Superior shoreline, just a short walk from the Bayfield ferry dock. Madeline Island is one of the Apostle Islands (the only one you can live on) and is a short, 20 minute ferry ride from Bayfield, Wisconsin. They primarily serve American comfort food like pizza, burgers and ice cream cones. During the summer this place is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and is open less as the weather gets colder. They have picnic tables outside in the yard, indoor tables and tables on a sundeck on the roof.

I ate lunch here with my wife on a Saturday afternoon in late July and generally enjoyed the food. We did not have a lot of time so picked this place as it looked quicker than the restaurant across the street. We ordered burgers and fries at the counter and they gave us a number to find us when our food was ready. The burgers were decent and tasted OK (nothing special). Service was average as the place has a bunch of young adults taking orders and delivering food (just trying to make some money in the summer).

There are not a lot of food options in La Pointe but this one is a decent choice if you are looking for a quick burger or pizza. We did not have any ice cream but this counter was busy and there were a lot of people sitting at the outdoor picnic tables eating cones. I would go back on my next trip to Madeline Island if I was looking for a quick bite.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rockyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2018

Great pizza and rooftop seating overlooking Lake Superior. Also had scrumptious ice cream to top off the meal and relaxed in adirondak chairs in their yard.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

The special pizza was delicious and their breakfast sandwich with bacon was amazing. Wait took a bit, but worth it. There is a green area next door the kids ran around in while we waited.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 621jennyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

It wasn't busy when we came and service was quick. Pizza looked good, as advertised, but we didn't try it. The ceasar salad wrap was really good. Cheeseburger also good.
Price was very reasonable.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Limeyinusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grampa Tony's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing