We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern conveniences meet lovely, historic setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Crosse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilson Schoolhouse Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 La Crosse B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a clean, well-appointed, welcoming place to park ourselves for a few days as we explored the Mississippi Valley near La Crosse. We took a chance by renting, sight unseen, the Wilson Schoolhouse Inn. What a treat! The large main room quietly features all the modern conveniences (beautiful kitchen, DVD, mini-stereo, wi-fi) while allowing the charm and history of the renovated one-room schoolhouse to come through. My favorite part of the Inn was the huge windows looking onto greenery (and possoms, and squirrels and rabbits).

The Inn has a tricky entry off I-14/61, however. We played it safe by driving an extra block east of the driveway and turning around in a subdivision.

That was a small price to pay for a lovely stay. Would we go back? In a heartbeat.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Carolyn53211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 63 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2012

We loved this place! It was very quaint but with all the modern convienieces. Beautiful kitchen, lovely seating area, and comfortable sleeping areas. We made our own breakfasts in the very well stocked kitchen. The owners were charming!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joycemoynihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

The owners did a fabulous job of refurbishing the old brick schoolhouse into a comfortable, beautiful inn. Modern conveniences with the original charm. I'd highly recommend this for a womens' weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lynda53_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We loved staying there. We were in town for a family party and all the ammenities made it perfect when we had a sitter come and watch the kids. It was a wonderful location for our purposes and we'll stay there again. The snack/food options were nice and I was pleased to be able to cook some simple meals there. The owner was very helpful and great about our funny schedule (different combinations of family members on different nights).

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Smiledoctorsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
St. Louis, MO
12
Reviewed August 2, 2003

I was so thrilled to find the Wilson Schoolhouse Inn. It is an old 1-room schoolhouse that has been renovated into the most amazing accomodations. I wish my own house could be so be so beautiful. The owners were charming and very helpful, and gave us lots of ideas about things to do and see in the LaCrosse area - a marvelous Mississippi river town with access to hiking, hunting, boating, biking... any outdoor activity. A great vacation!

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
5.0 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#1 of 20 in La Crosse
1,821 reviews
5.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton La Crosse
7.0 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
5.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#4 of 20 in La Crosse
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilson Schoolhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Schoolhouse Inn

Address: 5720 Highway 14-61, La Crosse, WI 54601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in La Crosse
Price Range: $140 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The old schoolhouse desks are replaced by modern, comfortable furniture in the restored Wilson Schoolhouse. Where students once studied, you can now relax in comfort surrounded by Wisconsin hills, just a mile from the beautiful upper Mississippi River.​ The Wilson school was built in 1917 and functioned as a one-room school until 1965. It was recently restored and elegantly furnished to retain the "open" atmosphere of the original schoolhouse. It still maintains much of its original character and charm with the original slate blackboard and school desks. The schoolhouse is listed on the City of La Crosse, the State of Wisconsin, and National Register of Historic Buildings. It is located in a rural setting on 12 acres of woods, fields, and gardens only 8 minutes from historic downtown La Crosse. Rental includes the entire schoolhouse and will comfortably accommodate 2 to 8 adults during their stay in La Crosse, WI. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing