We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner Club With Solid Menu, Just Not for Kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Digger's Sting

Digger's Sting
Ranked #8 of 199 Restaurants in La Crosse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dinner Club With Solid Menu, Just Not for Kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We chose this place based on Trip Advisor ratings and were not disappointed. It is total Old School Charm. We took our kids early in the evening and were only one of three tables in use. They didn't have a kids menu, but were very flexible to our requests for cut veggies and pasta with sauce on the side. We all enjoyed our meals, but the chicken strips were a big hit around the table. They serve bread that is a bit on the oily side, but my kids ate that as well. Great service and completely understated. Another good meal thanks to Trip Advisor.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travels_with_2_tots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    55
    14
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rice Lake, WI
Level Contributor
102 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Prime Rib Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

If not for TripAdvisor, we wouldn't have found this place. The outside of the building is very unassuming, but once inside you really do take a step back in time with the cozy tables, soft lighting, relaxing music and old Hollywood photos on the wall. Our waitress was helpful, and checked on us without being intrusive. As others have said, the garlic bread is scrumptious. The prime rib is what had us salivating, though - - it was juicy, tender and seasoned to perfection!! We will be fabricating reasons to go to La Crosse just to visit this restaurant again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LadybugRiceLake_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old School Charm meets innovative dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Digger's is our "go to" special night out. We have been going there for years and are never dissapointed. You will enjoy the "standby steaks"...i recommend the ribeye, or try one of the many fresh fish specials. they do a lot of fresh Hawaiin fish, prepared multiple ways and all are fabulous. The manhattans, old fashioneds, martini's are delicious and of course, you have to try a Moscow Mule, in a real copper cup.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank live2wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Digger's - no need to advertise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is the place you go when you are on vacation and you want great food and great service. This is where the locals go. No need to advertise, the food is always great. If you want to eat there, especially on the weekends, make sure you have a reservation. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LP K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
321 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great Food and a Decent Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Digger's has very good food. The restaurant has a unique old time dinner club atmosphere to it. The prime rib is very good and the old fashioneds aren't bad either.

I think you get a better bang for your buck than at Digger's as opposed to the Waterfront or Freight House.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Digger's Sting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing