We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced food”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Kate's on State

Kate's on State
Ranked #30 of 200 Restaurants in La Crosse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

My husband and dined for our anniversary, we were very disappointed. Food was ok, but not worth our $120+ tab! We were also ucomfortable as the owner was talking very harshly to one of her servers...very unprofessional. We did not feel welcome in this space.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank sherrypicha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    24
    10
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
167 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great dinner, wine and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

The food at Kate's was fabulous! It was some the best Italian food I've had. There were five of us (girls weekend) and Nicole took such good care of us. We will visit again!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joycemoynihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding. Every item. Every time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

We love this place. The food is creative, and absolutely delicious. I highly recommend going with the daily special whatever that is. I've never been disappnted. It's truly a joy to dine here, a real dining experience. Takes longer than some of the other places in town, but I think that's part of its charm. The waitstaff is helpful and friendly, very attentive. The atomsphere is warm and cozy, a bit small but really inviting. It's always a special occasion when we go, and I can't wait to go back.

Helpful?
Thank Jill572011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You Will Enjoy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Kate's truely serves the best italian food in the area. No matter what you order is going to exceed your expectations. Have been dining for years at Kate's and enjoyed each and every meal. If you don't have a great date night don't blame Kate's.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GetawaySouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Service with a SMILE and so much MORE!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

While visiting friends in LaCrosse WI we had the most AMAZING meal here and what fun. From start to finish Avery Scheuch took GREAT care of us to make this a memorable night and a place I WILL visit again.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quinnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kate's on State also viewed

 

Been to Kate's on State? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing