We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good enough hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good enough hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Best Western of La Crosse is in need of a remodel. We paid a premium for a room overlooking the Black River. The view was good. The door to the patio however, had a rip in the screen and the room was not serviced at all for our two night stay. After calling the front desk we did get new towels and extra shampoo and soap. The breakfast leaves a fair amount to be desired. It consisted of dry French Toast and wrapped breakfast sandwiches and a couple of cereals. Other Best Westerns have better fair at breakfast. Double check to make sure you are not paying extra for breakfast as everyone gets it. I had to get the money I paid for breakfast taken off my bill.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank MichaelNF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    139
    100
    72
    48
See reviews for
201
98
23
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Kind of mixed review. Not a bad place for kids. Its an older place with an indoor pool with rooms surrounding it. Very noisy. Kids yelled and screamed until 10pm. But then it was very quiet. I would ask for a room away from the pool if you want quiet. The room was spacious. The carpet was looking a little worn, but no horrible. There was mold in the shower, especially under the soap holder. Some of tiles had what looked like lime built up. All in all not bad, and the price was right.

Room Tip: If you have kids, get one by the pool. If you want quiet.. Ask for one away from pool.. Pay a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Staff was rude & unprofessional. Mattresses were old uncomfortable springs. Hot tub is crumbling/bleeding plaster into sitting area. Very noisy with doors that are gapped about 1/2 inch from jam, allowing for Noise & Chlorine smell to penetrate into room. Air conditioning leaked so bad that carpet was Soaked. Food is over priced BUT River Is Gourgouse Although docks Are Loaded with seagul poop. It's a nice place to pull up on a boat, but that's about ALL you're paying for :(

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank my2kidsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Crosse hotels

Wi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I was disappointed. I recommend spending $20 more and staying at the Radisson or Holiday Inn downtown. Older hotel, needs updating or should lower prices. We will stay downtown Lacrosse next visit. It does have a pool and waterpark area, but again old, and worn looking. Our room was not far from pool and very noisy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cintate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was highly disappointed not to find at least one elevator at this hotel. We are older adults. We had a terrible time trying to get our luggage up to the second floor. My husband has lots of back issues. Plus they do not have standard stair railings. Stairs are very difficult for older adults.
Also, trying to get to the pool area on the 1st floor was terrible. You cannot access it from the 2nd floor. You have to go down through the lobby. I wouldnt stay at this hotel agaihn. There are plenty of nicer hotels in the LaCrosse area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kari2351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised after reading the reviews of this hotel. As being old and run down. The carpet in our room was nice as well as the common areas, furniture was fine, everything was clean, and our mattress was only 2 months old. The areas were all clean. Oh, it is an older hotel and that gives it charm as an older building. Not like a new shiny penny with no character. The only issue we had was breakfast was so awful (no real protein choices and poor carb choices), that we went somewhere else to buy breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank CC_Rider_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCrosse WI, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

DON'T eat in the restaurant for breakfast you will be very disappointed, salad plate is the allowed size of your plate, food items in the buffet where not filled so you would have to make several trips to get a actual breakfast. Wait staff was good but had to apologize because there was no food at the buffet. Overall, would eat down the road for breakfast at the Family Restaurant it's within walking distance of the hotel! Also I booked rooms on 2 different time frames because the hotel didn't have enough rooms on my first call and was given 2 different room rate that the front desk would not adjust, I have been going to this hotel for 10 years in a row booking several rooms for our visits, was disappointed that nothing could be done to line up the rate for the 3 rooms I booked for my recent visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.3 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
2.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#3 of 20 in La Crosse
4.5 of 5 stars 782 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Inn La Crosse Conference Center
2.5 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#2 of 20 in La Crosse
5.0 of 5 stars 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel
Address: 1835 Rose St, La Crosse, WI 54603-2104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to this La Crosse, Wisconsin hotel and enjoy comfortable and affordable amenities convenient to the Mississippi River, the Shrine of Our Lady Guadeloupe and the Mississippi Eco-Tour Boat. Property is 100% non-smoking.Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel where guests will be greeted by a friendly staff, receive the highest quality of customer service and find unbeatable, full service amenities for an affordable price. Guests will enjoy waterfront, resort style accommodations with well-appointed guest rooms designed with ultimate comfort in mind featuring cable satellite television with HBO® and free high-speed Internet access. This La Crosse hotel, nestled along the shores of Black River, also features rooms specifically for Best Western Rewards members complete with work desk, complimentary breakfast Monday thru Friday and free daily newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Crosse Best Western
Best Western La Crosse
Best Western Lacrosse Wi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing