We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All-in-One” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1835 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603-2104   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GET A $50 GIFT CARD
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Alford, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“All-in-One”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Decent room. Inner, covered court with kiddie pools, lounge chairs. Restaurant/ Bar. Room of restaurant is set aside for B.W. breakfast. And what a breakfast it is! Every imaginable variety of Jimmy Dean pre-wrapped breakfast sandwich, French toast sticks, good selection of fresh pastries and bagels, good, hot coffee, plus all the usual cereals. Beautiful dining room. Take a walk out back to the river.

Room Tip: Entrance canopy remodel should be finished by now.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    133
    96
    71
    48
See reviews for
198
95
23
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I was thankful I got this for a cheap rate on Priceline, otherwise, I would have been disappointed. My first impression wasn't great because there was no elevator, and the hallway from the lobby to the rooms/pool area smelled pretty weird.

The room itself was really big, however, it smelled moldy and the bathroom was filthy. The toilet seat had not been cleaned (YUCK!) and there was moldy, dirty grout everywhere.

My other issue was that my room opened up to the pool area. It was really loud until 10pm, when it closed. Then I discovered that the walls are paper thin and I heard my neighbors all night long.

The location of the hotel was good - it was only a 5 minute drive to downtown La Crosse. The staff was very friendly too, but those were the only positive points about this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ooblek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplulacrossewi, Webmaster at BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront Hotel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Maintenance was informed of the weird smell you reported in the Room, Lobby and Pool area and instructed to see to its elimination.

• Housekeeping staff received additional training in the courteous, helpful manner in which they are to treat our valued guests.

• Staff was informed of the nice comments you made about them and received our commendation.

• Management and desk staff was reminded of their responsibility to see to it that our valued guests remember to be thoughtful of their fellow guests.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront Hotel. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Crosse hotels

CRYSTAL LAKE
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

After reading the reviews, we hesitantly booked this hotel; the price couldn't be beat. It was easy to find, newly remodeled, and our room was very comfortable. Everything in the hotel and in our room was clean and working, The bedding was "luxurious", making our sleep very restful. I really liked that they have Adult Swim times - no kids/teens alllowed!! Breakfast was standard; coffee great. Most staff very pleasant; front desk very busy! This hotel is on the Black River not the Mississippi, though.

Room Tip: river view or pool side; we had parking lot, but could see the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GG1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Katie at the front desk was wonderful!
The rooms are large. It's a mix of new and old. The bed and bedding are in need of change!
Surfaces on the nightstands and desk were not clean, smudge marks all over them.
Great pool area with small water park! Great for the kids.
With 10 years of hotel use I would rate this hotel worthwhile at 69 or $79 a night.



  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Powerplant66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo,Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here one night. The hotel is dated, but has an incredible setting on the River. The room was comfortable and clean, but you can tell its an older hotel and has a slight musty smell throughout it. The staff was wonderful. We got a room with a jacuzzi tub in it, which was really nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank camckh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marshfield, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My abbility to use stairs is limited due to military service. I checked in and found the hotel to have no elevator, I asked for a new room and clerk said sorry and have a good night. I checked out the next day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The beds are thread bare, uncomfortable and the blankets are as thin as sheets. When I reserved they didn't warn us about all the additional charges, but required us to give a credit card for any incidentals. I thought I was fine since I had prepaid for the room. I was very wrong. Buyer beware. If you are thinking about going to the pool, you will be required to pay to go in. If you have any guests visit you, for less than 2 hours be prepared to pay.

The location is great, the views of the river is beautiful. I had a pool side room with two beds, to my surprise they are only full size. The price is average during the week, so I can't comment on the weekends.

Room Tip: if you want large comfortable beds, do not stay here. If you want fun kids play areas, and do not re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tere h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplulacrossewi, Webmaster at BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront Hotel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Maintenance was informed of the Blanket in the room assigned to you and instructed to see to its replacement.

• Management was approached about providing information about the additional charges to all our valued guests.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront Hotel. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.3 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
2.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Days Inn La Crosse Conference Center
2.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#3 of 20 in La Crosse
4.5 of 5 stars 768 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#1 of 20 in La Crosse
5.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel
Address: 1835 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603-2104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to this La Crosse, Wisconsin hotel and enjoy comfortable and affordable amenities convenient to the Mississippi River, the Shrine of Our Lady Guadeloupe and the Mississippi Eco-Tour Boat. Property is 100% non-smoking.Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel where guests will be greeted by a friendly staff, receive the highest quality of customer service and find unbeatable, full service amenities for an affordable price. Guests will enjoy waterfront, resort style accommodations with well-appointed guest rooms designed with ultimate comfort in mind featuring cable satellite television with HBO® and free high-speed Internet access. This La Crosse hotel, nestled along the shores of Black River, also features rooms specifically for Best Western Rewards members complete with work desk, complimentary breakfast Monday thru Friday and free daily newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western + Iniative, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Crosse Best Western
Best Western La Crosse
Best Western Lacrosse Wi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing