We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Went to Lacrosse for a family getaway. We were excited for the "water park", but found an overly crowded pool and small hot tub. Overall the property sorely needs a remodel. Everything feels old or smells damp. But, you know kids....they had a blast. Note that there is no free breakfast as well. If you have kids between 5-10, the place is tolerable. Adults and older kids will not find the recreation very fun. Good location, but the hotel has seen better days.

Room Tip: Avoid poolside if you don't have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrickTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplulacrossewi, Webmaster at AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront Hotel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Management was informed about the comment and instructed to take the necessary action.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront Hotel. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 611 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here recently during a high school sporting event--our second stay in three years. We'll stay elsewhere next year. Beds, sheets, pillows all showing their age and hallways, hallway carpets need a significant upgrade. Felt more like a Super 8 quality--but at $100/ night before taxes, the experience was not a good value. And no complimentary breakfast either.

Positives:
--The staff at check-in and check-out were courteous and professional
--My son reported that the pool area was OK, but crowded (as would be expected given high occupancy during the stay).
--Strong WiFi signal--I could even get HBO Go on my iPad
--Comfortable desk chair
Negatives:
--Soiled, wet towels not removed though new ones were stocked in bathroom.
--Ice bucket liner not emptied, replaced.
--too few electrical outlet for gadgets

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madblogger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed for four nights. The staff was very accomodating. The hotel appears to recently undergone renovation. The carpets, bedding, room, etc. were in great condition. I used to work in the hotel industry; I can be very critical. I had seen nothing to criticize. I was snowed in one day and the pool area was a nice retreat.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicagoguest, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear:
Valued Guest, Dennis,
We appreciated the very nice comment We are glad you had perfect experience at Best Western Riverfront Hotel ,La Crosse,WI. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank TIFFANY R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Our room was dirty - the bathroom had hair on the floor, water spots and film on the bathroom counter, and I stepped on a piece of what appeared to be bacon on the floor. The restaurant was spectacular. The staff was so accommodating, we had a graduation party there and they did everything to make it special. The cheese curds are amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank SUE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We didn't stay because of the waterpark, it was a girls weekend, so I can't speak of the pool although it looked fun. The rooms were more than adequate with nice beds a large t.v, mini fridge and good decor. The room service breakfast was absolutely huge and for $3 was a steal. I forgot my phone charger and w/i 15 minutes they had it boxed up and ready to ship to me. I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room not immediate to the pool area so it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabincake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was an ok place right off of I 90. There's a pretty small but decent water park (more suited for younger kids) The rooms are in need of a remodel. There is a restaurant that was good. There were life guards on duty at the pool area which was nice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitzi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.3 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
2.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#4 of 20 in La Crosse
1,070 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#1 of 20 in La Crosse
1,822 reviews
2.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront

Address: 1835 Rose St, La Crosse, WI 54603-2104 (Formerly Riverfront Hotel)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in La Crosse
Price Range: $84 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse, Wisconsin, located on the Black River. Whether your arriving by boat or car, there's something for guests of all ages to enjoy at this La Crosse hotel. Kick back with a beverage at our in-hotel bar and restaurant or outdoor waterfront pub. Enjoy our free, hot, home-style breakfast, free, hotel-wide, high-speed Internet, and inviting, indoor recreation area with a pool, waterslide ( Open Friday-Sunday) and hot tub. The AmericInn La Crosse hotel is conveniently located near downtown La Crosse, Wisconsin and the Mighty Mississippi River. Our riverfront hotel is just a short drive from the La Crosse Regional Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Crosse Best Western
Best Western La Crosse
Best Western Lacrosse Wi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing