We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice quiet hotel but needs updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riverfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riverfront Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in La Crosse
Mankato
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice quiet hotel but needs updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was an ok place right off of I 90. There's a pretty small but decent water park (more suited for younger kids) The rooms are in need of a remodel. There is a restaurant that was good. There were life guards on duty at the pool area which was nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitzi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    143
    107
    74
    48
See reviews for
211
103
23
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Waukon, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Room for 130.00 had two old crappy tiny little full beds not queens. The carpets along the walls are disgustingly dirty..bathroom floor has black grimy grout instead of what was originally white.. Just felt grungey overall. Would not complain if the cost was like half of what it is! Take my advise..let your kids swim for the day and then go stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Artyyhh09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplulacrossewi, Webmaster at Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront Hotel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Maintenance was informed of the problem you experienced with the Beds, dirty bathroom floor in the room first assigned to you and instructed to see to its repair or replacement.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront Hotel. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Crosse hotels

Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We got a poolside room, it was perfect! The pool & waterpark area was perfect for our kids, they loved the waterslide! The food at the resturant was way over priced and not good but the room was perfect!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mhluv2wski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We only had one issue with this hotel but the hotel fixed it so it wasn't really an issue. I booked 4 rooms, 2 kings and 2 doubles and they were to be near each other. However when we arrived, they had us in 3 kings and 1 double not in the manner that was explained to me in proximity. However, the staff fixed it so that is was back to a similar plan in my request. Otherwise, everything was good. Clean room, good location, right price. The best part was the pool area. There is a pool with a slide, basketball hoops, a hot tub , kiddie pool and a pool table with an adequate area for seating with both tables and chairs and chaise lounge chairs. They also have life guards. The hotel is big enough that if the pool thing is a draw that you can not be bothered by the noise. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: the king deluxe has a microwave, a refrigerator, a sofa, a recliner and a nice size flat screen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blooming Prairie, MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here this last weekend because our Association was holding a banquet there. Food and service were not bad at all. The room however... Paid more for a "river view". We had to exit the room via a back/patio door, walk about 10-15 feet, and turn left to "view" the river. But first you had to get through the door - which was really in need of replacement - fought to get it open and closed. The furnace ran all night due to the cold air blowing in around that same door. I grew up in a 100 year old home - and currently live in a 100 year old home - I am no stranger to creaking floors when people are walking around upstairs - but this was down right scary. The room was fairly clean - the beds were not good - the staff was friendly enough. $90 per night? Yes. $120? NO.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplulacrossewi, Webmaster at Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront Hotel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Maintenance was informed of the problem you experienced with the Doors, Beds and creaking floors in the room first assigned to you and instructed to see to its repair or replacement.

• I am glad that you like our hotel Rooms and food. Staff received our commendation.

• Staff was informed about the nice comment you made and received our commendation.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront Hotel. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendall, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have never had a bad experience with a Best Western Hotel... until now. I can handle an older motel with thin walls and no new updates. What I can't handle is poor staff. They were quite terrible. Two life guards on duty at the pool area but they did not do their job. Kids were doing cannon balls into the hot tub, hanging from the basketball hoops, and even loosing their swim trunks (many times). The lifeguards said nothing. Sadly there were no parents around either. Not too relaxing or fun at the pool. We started packing up two hours before check out. The cleaning crew came in and threw away our food in the fridge and started cleaning.... while our kids were still in the room! They obviously knew we hadn't left yet. Very poor staff, we will not be back at this hotel.

Room Tip: One that is not at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplulacrossewi, Webmaster at Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront Hotel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Staff members received additional training in the courteous way in which they are to treat our valued guests.

• Pool staff and lifeguards received additional training in Managing the guests around the pool.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront Hotel. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
155 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Not my first choice. Travelled with a voucher from Prticeline. Noisy. Not clean. Not a convenient location to downtown.
Helpful staff, moved us after a. LOUD night by the pool.
Did not check out bar. So-so complimentary breakfast Thursday but was not complimentary on Friday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool if you want any degree off quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paint-by-number
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplulacrossewi, Webmaster at Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront Hotel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Management was reminded of their responsibility to see to it that our valued guests remember to be thoughtful of their fellow guests.

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Staff received our commendation and was informed about nice comment you made.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront Hotel. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.3 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
2.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#3 of 19 in La Crosse
4.5 of 5 stars 806 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Inn La Crosse Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverfront Hotel

Property: Riverfront Hotel
Address: 1835 Rose St, La Crosse, WI 54603-2104 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to this La Crosse, Wisconsin hotel and enjoy comfortable and affordable amenities convenient to the Mississippi River, the Shrine of Our Lady Guadeloupe and the Mississippi Eco-Tour Boat. Property is 100% non-smoking.Welcome to the Riverfront Hotel where guests will be greeted by a friendly staff, receive the highest quality of customer service and find unbeatable, full service amenities for an affordable price. Guests will enjoy waterfront, resort style accommodations with well-appointed guest rooms designed with ultimate comfort in mind featuring cable satellite television with HBO® and free high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Riverfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Crosse Best Western
Best Western La Crosse
Best Western Lacrosse Wi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing