We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I were up in September to celebrate our anniversary and we wanted to stay somewhere on the water. We usually have luck with Best Western Hotels. I have no complaints about the staff, they were very friendly, but the accomodations were below standards. The hallway to our room smelled horribly and they tried to mask it with some cheap air freshner (it did not work) our room was dirty, moldy and stinky and the bathroom had mildew and smelled to high heaven. We did not stay a 2nd night as planned.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplulacrossewi, Webmaster at AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront Hotel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Staff was informed about the nice comment you made for them and also received our commendation.

• Maintenance was informed of the unpleasant smell you reported in hallway and instructed to see to its elimination.

• Housekeeping staff received additional training in keeping the rooms clean. They were instructed to check the rooms before accommodating our valued Guests.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront Hotel. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 617 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. My family really enjoyed or room. We are a family of 5 and there can be too much togetherness in some hotel rooms, this was not the case. Even with the sofa bed pulled our for my teenager, there was ample walking room. My husband enjoyed the large desk as it was a working trip. There was ample sitting options besides the bed(sofa/3 chairs). The beds were comfortable and hotel quiet. My younger children enjoyed the pool and small water slide. Teen and I played pool while keeping an eye on them. They did have a lifeguard watching the slide. The only downside was the breakfast. It was served in the restaurant and you could choose the continental(ree) or $2 off a breakfast entree. We had an appointment to visit UW-La Crosse and needed to eat quick. At first we were told we would have to wait for table, fortunately one was available. We proceeded up to the continental breakfast area to find no plates, bowls or french toast(only hot item). We waited for the plates and bowls and chose cold items to eat. A few minutes later when the french toast was brought out, it became obvious that many people were waiting for it as a line quickly formed. The guest would be better served, in my opinion, if the continental breakfast was served poolside. They could still give the option of using a coupon in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Room 172 poolside for a family of 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vjboyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The first week of october i traveled with my daughter from connecticut to washington as she relocated to begin new job. i booked us in hotel at about the same price point each night and the best western midway hotel in la crosse stands out as the best of the bunch.the staff was friendly and helpful with our being annouing;the room was clean and quiet.and the best part was looking out the window onto the lovely,little park that front the mississipi river.

Room Tip: splurge for a river view if u can afford it.....?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The location of this hotel is awesome.if you are visiting la crosse for a short trip. best western midway hotel is a place you should consider. although i was useing reward point it is reasonably price all around $ 79 night for the assured cleaniles and awesome location.
the rooms are large and comfortable.we had a king bed.the rooms were just redone recently.they even have large flat screen t.v in the rooms.............? the pool is a nice size and hot tub also breakfast was waffles,cereals,boilded eggs. ....? friendly staff......?
...........will stay again........?

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel mostly for a family wedding. The rooms are a little dated and the rugs need to be overhauled. There is an indoor pool park (if you have your swimsuit). My windows were on the ground floor and the locks were broken, there was a bar you could put across for added security.The Mississippi is behind the hotel and if it weren't 31degrees I may have cared. All in all it's a Best Western not the Ritz. There is a bar and restaurant in the hotel. Room service was speedy. Would I stay there again? No as I will never be in that part of the country. All in all not so bad.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinkerbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

very helpfull staff.Take note that they call it an indoor waterpark, but really it's just a pool with a nice big twisty slide. (Granted, it's a super fun slide!) There is also a nice big kiddie pool which we didn't use but it's nice compared to others I've seen. The Hotel had a great view of the black river . the rooms were very nice and clean I really like the atrium pool area at this hotel because the sun shines in and makes it feel like you are outside.I stayed at this hotel about 15 years ago, and they have since done a nice job at updating most aspects of this hotel. Definitely recommended for families!!
less

Room Tip: the pool area rooms is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank narottam p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I found this hotel clean and pleasant; I had a poolside room, and I have to say the housekeeping was scrupulous. A nice addition to this was a handwritten note from Misty, the maid, wishing me a good stay. I liked that a lot, and left a note thanking her.

I found the staff pleasant in personal interactions, which I like.

The overall room was very clean, and recleaned the next day by my return.

I had breakfast elsewhere because of time constraints, so can't comment on that.

The heater/AC worked well and quietly. No training need to operate.

Wi-fi worked fine, took 5 seconds to connect, as it should.

I drove to downtown LaCrosse, since it is north of there by a few miles. If that's an issue, I'd stay elsewhere, but I'd return here again.

I liked it.

Room Tip: This was a poolside room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
2.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#4 of 20 in La Crosse
1,105 reviews
2.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
2.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton La Crosse
2.5 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#1 of 20 in La Crosse
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront

Address: 1835 Rose St, La Crosse, WI 54603-2104 (Formerly Riverfront Hotel)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in La Crosse
Price Range: $77 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse, Wisconsin, located on the Black River. Whether your arriving by boat or car, there's something for guests of all ages to enjoy at this La Crosse hotel. Kick back with a beverage at our in-hotel bar and restaurant or outdoor waterfront pub. Enjoy our free, hot, home-style breakfast, free, hotel-wide, high-speed Internet, and inviting, indoor recreation area with a pool, waterslide ( Open Friday-Sunday) and hot tub. The AmericInn La Crosse hotel is conveniently located near downtown La Crosse, Wisconsin and the Mighty Mississippi River. Our riverfront hotel is just a short drive from the La Crosse Regional Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Crosse Best Western
Best Western La Crosse
Best Western Lacrosse Wi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing