We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“..Amazing Hotel On The River............and Fun Weekend....?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
La Crosse, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
“..Amazing Hotel On The River............and Fun Weekend....?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Hotel had a great view of the black river . the rooms were very nice and clean
I really like the atrium pool area at this hotel because the sun shines in and makes it feel like you are outside. Take note that they call it an indoor waterpark, but really it's just a pool with a nice big twisty slide. (Granted, it's a super fun slide!) There is also a nice big kiddie pool which we didn't use but it's nice compared to others I've seen. A couple other things: there is an outside area like a tiki bar which is really nice and you feel like you are in a tropical area. It's overlooking the river and has a great atmosphere. The restaurant had just come under new ownership and I have to say the food was delicious. Also there is a mini golf course in back of the hotel which is pretty fun to play, and it's FREE. (It's not a fancy one, pretty basic but still fun.) I stayed at this hotel about 15 years ago, and they have since done a nice job at updating most aspects of this hotel. Definitely recommended for families!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    150
    114
    80
    52
See reviews for
227
108
24
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

For the price there is no continental breakfast, not even a microwave in each room. I had to go on a Long hallway walk to get to the second floor one and only microwave.Unreal. But e worst part is I developed someHORRIBLE RASH AFTER SLEEPING THERE ONE NIGHT SO I WON'T BE BACK,AS A MATTER OF FACT, IF DR.relates it to exposure at hotel I will be demanding a refund and calling the health dept. AVOID!

Room Tip: Avoid this place regardless of the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank citygirlsmalltownusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplulacrossewi, Webmaster at AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront Hotel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Maintenance staff was instructed to check all the amenities are in working condition before assigning the room to our guests.

• Management was informed about the rash. We have not received any such comment by any of our guests. We have engaged a professional team to investigate

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront Hotel. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Crosse hotels

Mason City, Iowa
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I want to say this was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The room was 50 degrees when we entered. Adjusted temps for warmer, but could not get regulated. You were either 50 degrees or 90 degrees. Room itself felt unclean. We got in whirlppol and brown stuff bubbled out in water. Supper in the restaurant was slow. Our waitress was waiting tables and doing room service. Food was good. Continental breakfast. nothing left in warming tray and after asking two different wait staff, hot tray never go filled. We left very disgusted and of course hungry. Packed our stuff up and greeted front desk clerk with our unhappy visit. She said she would refund our money, but we will see. Hotel needs lots of upgrading. Wouldn't recommended this hotel to anyone. Our second nights stay in another best western was totally opposite.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplulacrossewi, Webmaster at AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront Hotel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Maintenance was informed of the Room tempature in the room assigned to you and instructed to see to the needed repairs.

• Restaurant Staff received additional training in servivg our valuable guests.

• I am glad that you like our hotel food.

• Houskeeping received additional training and serving our client.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront Hotel. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The rooms were clean the staff was friendly and the waterpark was fantastic for my 2 year old. We had a great view of the river, volleyball and beach. The only complaint is the double beds instead of queen.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpls79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Definately DO NOT get a room anywhere beside poolside or you will have a musty, dirty disgusting old room. They actually charge for these rooms?!! The poolside rooms are much better, but still needs some attention with new grout in bathrooms & some repair. Pool area also needs some attention with redoing the pool floor and some cleaning. They need to take pride in cleaning because it could be a nice hotel. Staff was GREAT and VERY cooperative.

Room Tip: Ask for poolside and an updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammylovessun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplulacrossewi, Webmaster at AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Maintenance was informed of the problems you encountered with bathroom of the room assigned to you and instructed to see to the necessary repairs.

• Staff received our commendation for the courteous, friendly manner in which they treated you, our valued guest.

• I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We paid $117.00 for one night in a Hotel room that was dirty overall, with particularly bad mold in bathroom and in A/C unit. The wall about A/C unit in main room was black with mold. Black mildew in bathroom shower as well. Overall, the property looks in bad need of an update. The indoor pool water looked un-inviting -- the floor of the pool looks like it hasn't been drained and power-scrubbed in years -- the color is rusty-brown. The restaurant was actually "ok: for dinner - the continental breakfast was "ok" as well. One other note: They proudly display the AAA Approved logo like a "GoodHouskeeping seal of approval." at the front desk. However, our stay there in early August was sub-standard. Hard to believe that it is AAA approved.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linavoce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplulacrossewi, Webmaster at AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront Hotel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Maintenance was informed of the problems you encountered of mold in Bathroom, Shower and in A/C unit assigned to you and instructed to clean the mold.

• We appreciated that you found our restaurant and breakfast good.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront Hotel. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Wing, MN
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We came here by train and stayed here for my son's birthday, and had a great time. Our room was poolside - very handy for getting out there to swim. The staff was extremely helpful and nice. The main part of the room we stayed in was nice looked like it had been remodeled. The beds and pillows were very comfortable and I slept great. The bathroom was still older and could have used some updating. I really like the atrium pool area at this hotel because the sun shines in and makes it feel like you are outside. Take note that they call it an indoor waterpark, but really it's just a pool with a nice big twisty slide. (Granted, it's a super fun slide!) There is also a nice big kiddie pool which we didn't use but it's nice compared to others I've seen. A couple other things: there is an outside area like a tiki bar which is really nice and you feel like you are in a tropical area. It's overlooking the river and has a great atmosphere. The restaurant had just come under new ownership and I have to say the food was delicious. Also there is a mini golf course in back of the hotel which is pretty fun to play, and it's FREE. (It's not a fancy one, pretty basic but still fun.) I stayed at this hotel about 15 years ago, and they have since done a nice job at updating most aspects of this hotel. Definitely recommended for families!!

Room Tip: Stay poolside, it's so nice to go right out to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravelsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.3 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
2.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#3 of 20 in La Crosse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
2.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton La Crosse
2.8 mi away
Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront

Property: AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
Address: 1835 Rose St, La Crosse, WI 54603-2104 (Formerly Riverfront Hotel)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse, Wisconsin, located on the Black River. Whether your arriving by boat or car, there's something for guests of all ages to enjoy at this La Crosse hotel. Kick back with a beverage at our in-hotel bar and restaurant or outdoor waterfront pub. Enjoy our free, hot, home-style breakfast, free, hotel-wide, high-speed Internet, and inviting, indoor recreation area with a pool, waterslide and hot tub. The AmericInn La Crosse hotel is conveniently located near downtown La Crosse, Wisconsin and the Mighty Mississippi River. Our riverfront hotel is just a short drive from the La Crosse Regional Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Crosse Best Western
Best Western La Crosse
Best Western Lacrosse Wi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing