We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay; we'd return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
rochester, mn
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay; we'd return”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed at this hotel during an overnight to visit the Children's Museum, and just relax as a family. Our room was nice, although the AC was very old and we were not able to adjust the temperature or fan speed. There was also a huge wet spot on the floor in front of the unit, but it was during an extremely hot and humid week, so maybe this is not the usual state of things.

The room was very big, and didn't feel crowded at all with 2 young kids, even after we set up our son's pack and play. The room was clean, and had a fridge, which was very handy. The pool area is fabulous--very entertaining for kids. A great zero-depth area for the little ones, and a bigger pool with a waterslide for the older ones. The only annoying thing was that you had to wear a wrist-band for the pool. While it was a great pool area, it's not really a "waterpark," worthy of wristbands.

The back of the hotel is on the river, witha beautiful view and has a great patio for sitting on. We enjoyed sitting outside and watching the boats go by.

We stayed on a Sunday night, so were able to have continental breakfast, which is only provided Monday-Friday. It was very basic, but good.

While the "Bones" of the building could use some updating (cracked ceilings and walls, outdated figures, etc.), the basics are clean and comfortable. We would recommend this hotel for families wanting to relax!

One other thing to note, there are only 2 floors in the hotel, but no elevator. If you are traveling with small children and lots of luggage, be sure to request a first-floor room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbkgnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    158
    115
    83
    52
See reviews for
237
113
24
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
winterset, ia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This hotel was a big let down. They advertised it as a family place with a small scale water park and putt putt golf course. This was a big stretch from the truth! The small scale water park was a pool with a slide and a baby pool with a slide. Both pools were filthy. The water was murky and greenish colored. There was a rim of scum around the baby pool and visible dirt on the bottom of the pool. The put put golf course was a joke. There was mold growing on the "greens" Our room was gross. The whole pool level smelled like mildew and mold. The room was dirty with dust in the corners, the bathroom floor was filthy and everything including the carpet and bedding was damp. This is obviously a party cove on the river and not a family friendly place unless you like your kids around blubbering drunks who use the f-word constantly and flash their boobs at each other. This was a huge let down. I would not even give this place one star!!

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel. No rooms can be good here. The place is nasty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelmomWinterset_Ia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplulacrossewi, Webmaster at AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN Midway Riverfront Resort for your recent stay in our area. I am sorry that you did not find it the pleasant stay which you had anticipated.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Management was instructed to see to it that what is advertised will properly reflect what is found.

• Pool maintenance received extra training in maintaining the pool properly.

• Management received extra training in seeing to it that our valued guests remember to respect the rights of their fellow guests.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at BEST WESTERN Midway Riverfront Resort. I think you will experience a difference and will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Crosse hotels

Onalaska, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We had a great time at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful and took care of everything that we asked for. The restaurant was nice and the outside bar was a great plus, good food and drinks. The pool area is great for families with kids, lots to keep them busy. They have done remodeling and it looks very nice. From the begining to the end our stay was a great experience!!!!!Great Job!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhansen6409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Bathroom had black hair stuck on the wall and floor. Remote and pen were "sticky". Bed bugs seen crawling on the side of the mattress!! Room was way outdated, ceiling literally crumbling with paint chips from water damage. Went for a walk on the "beach"....garbage and weeds and upkept. Pool was green. It couldn't have been a worse experience. My son is attending UW LaCrosse in the fall and I will never stay there again!

Room Tip: bedbugs!!! Grossly dirty.!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank offtocollege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplulacrossewi, Webmaster at AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN Midway Riverfront Resort for your recent stay in our area. Please give your son our utmost congratulations at his acceptance as a student at UW LaCross.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Maintenance was notified of your report of bedbugs in the room assigned to you and instructed to look into the matter and see to their extermination.

• Pool and beach staff received additional training in properly maintaining their areas.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at BEST WESTERN Midway Riverfront Resort. I think you will see a difference and be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Hi I am Kush

I stayed in this hotel between june 2nd to june 18th. I would love to share my experience with all the people who intend to stay in this motel. First of all they are very friendly and help you in each and every issue where they can. Love the comedy Night. By the way this guys are conducting comedy night more often.

Second thing is hot breakfast , well prepared and staff are very well trained. Rooms are best in condition and best even any motel in la-crosee so far where i have stayed.

Do not hasitate to stay there with family and friends. Thanks guys... i will surely be there again in july............

Room Tip: get good prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jossv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The water slide, pool, and kids splash area are good, however the tile floor around the pool is very slippery.
The room was adequate (a suite) but there was a large gap below the door so the pool noise was loud in the room. A large widescreen tv with cable was nice.
There is no elevator (at all!) so if you have a room on the 2nd floor prepare to haul all of your luggage up the stairs.
There is a good breakfast buffet available in the restaurant attached to the hotel, but it isn't free.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, get a room on 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnesota_Traveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplulacrossewi, Webmaster at AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN Midway Riverfront Resort for your recent stay in our area. I am glad that you enjoyed the widescreen TV.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Pool staff was approached about finding a way to make the tiles less slippery.

• Maintenance was informed of the large gap below the door in the room assigned to you and instructed to fix it so that the noise will be lessened.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at BEST WESTERN Midway Riverfront Resort. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minocqua, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

The reason I stayed here was because my business had a room block here. The front desk rude to person in front of me who asked for a room closer to a friend.. the response was "The hotel is full you get what you get".

I got a room second floor poolside. Very noisy. Room smelled old and musty.
Very hot day and the AC going full blast could hardly keep the room tolerable. Bathroom had gum wrappers on the floor and stained tub and walls. Towels did not look clean. Everything was old and outdated. If I could have changed hotels...I would have. Not a good experience. Curious what kind of criteria Best Western uses to make one of its properties a Best Western "Plus"...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iaabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplulacrossewi, Webmaster at AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN Midway Riverfront Resort for your recent stay in our area. I’m sorry your stay wasn’t the pleasant experience to which you had been looking forward.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Front desk staff received additional training in the courteous manner in which they are to treat our valued guests.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at BEST WESTERN Midway Riverfront Resort. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.3 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
2.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton La Crosse
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront

Property: AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
Address: 1835 Rose St, La Crosse, WI 54603-2104 (Formerly Riverfront Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse, Wisconsin, located on the Black River. Whether your arriving by boat or car, there's something for guests of all ages to enjoy at this La Crosse hotel. Kick back with a beverage at our in-hotel bar and restaurant or outdoor waterfront pub. Enjoy our free, hot, home-style breakfast, free, hotel-wide, high-speed Internet, and inviting, indoor recreation area with a pool, waterslide and hot tub. The AmericInn La Crosse hotel is conveniently located near downtown La Crosse, Wisconsin and the Mighty Mississippi River. Our riverfront hotel is just a short drive from the La Crosse Regional Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Crosse Best Western
Best Western La Crosse
Best Western Lacrosse Wi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing