We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Home Charm & Warmth with Today's Necessities”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Crosse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bentley-Wheeler B&B
Ranked #1 of 7 La Crosse B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was our 2nd trip back to this charming B&B. Both times we stayed in the Ballroom Suite. It is a gorgeous space that is tastefully decorated with just the right balance. I call the bed my 'princess bed' because it is all white (something I could never have with 4 children) and very cozy and soft with lots of pillows. The breakfasts are perfect! We live busy lives and appreciate a morning to sleep in and have breakfast delivered to our door in a quaint picnic basket. The owners are great people. We had the pleasure of talking with them more during this 2nd visit. The house is their labor of love. They are very kind and will chat if you want to or they'll let you enjoy your privacy. They ALWAYS extend the offer to make recommendations or check with them if anything is needed or wanted. It's great .... what more can I say! Thank you to Jay and Ken!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJShines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 163 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our family of 7 adults and 1 toddler gathered at the B-W B&B for a Labor Day gathering.......we rented the Guest House which included 4 bedrooms, 2 full baths (one with a spa and mood lighting), a fully equipped kitchen, living room and dining room. Great space. The owners were very helpful with recommendations on places to eat, locations of places, and answered all of my many email questions! The basket breakfast brought over in the a.m, was scrumptous.......fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, milk, juice, scones.....a real feast.
Was so nice to have the family together in a homey setting rather than in hotel rooms. Good location........close to all of La Crosse's landmarks.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irishph5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My wife and I hosted a wedding reception at her parents' house in La Crosse last weekend. During the festivities, we stayed at the Bentley-Wheeler along with the wedding party, and the experience really couldn't have been better. The furnishings are beautiful, the rooms comfortable and well-appointed, and the breakfasts delivered every morning were delicious (especially the scones!). In addition, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the cost for each member of the party was extremely low. Oh, and it was a short walk to downtown, and only about 20 minutes to the waterfront. I would recommend this place without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doesntitmatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had a perfect stay for an anniversary get-away weekend. We stayed in the ballroom, as recommended by other reviews and were pleased with the space, privacy, and comfort. The breakfasts were delicious. The owners were helpful with suggestions of restaurants to go to and accommodated an earlier breakfast delivery so we could start biking as it was hot that day. We thoroughly enjoyed the Sparta-Elroy trail. Highly recommend Bentley Wheeler!

Room Tip: Book the ballroom if it is available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Can't say enough about the quality, comfort and friendliness of this establishment. This impressive Victorian home has been lovingly restored by the owners,Jay and Ken,who were friendly and helpful. Decor has been well-selected, including many original features and period antiques, but it's all comfortable and not fussy. The breakfasts, delivered to the room, are delicious and plentiful, mostly locally sourced and organic products. On quiet street, with other nice homes, but close enough to downtown to walk. We stayed in the second-floor quest room, with a great porch for dining or lounging. The two house felines, Bonnie and Clyde, complete the friendly atmosphere. Definitely the place to stay if you're in the LaCrosse area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meyshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I was recently in LaCrosse for a convention. The Bentley-Wheeler provided the perfect housing option -- close enough to walk to and from the convention, but away from the hustle and bustle. My room was perfect, breakfast was fantastic, and the cost was better than competitive with the hotel. Jay and Ken cheerfully accomodated my request for an early breakfast in the morning, in the evening I enjoyed a relaxing soak in the clawfoot tub. My stay could not have been better!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This is the MOST fantastic place to stay in La Crosse! My new husband and I planned our wedding and reception at the Bentley- Wheeler (we stayed in the ballroom suite) and had my out-of-town family stay in the other rooms. We originally planned to stay with Ken and Jay for 4 nights and ended up staying 6! The rooms are fantastic, the location is gorgeous and the service is impeccable. The Ballroom suite has a full kitchen in it.....wonderful for a long stay!! All 3 bedrooms in the main house are beautifully decorated and well appointed. Every morning is like Christmas when you peak out your window to see what the "breakfast fairy" has left for you. Warm scones or muffins, juice, milk, yogurt....you name it! The towels are fluffy, the linens are crisp and the atmosphere is warm and inviting...what more could you ask for? Oh, and the claw-foot tubs? OMG!
On our wedding day, they made sure everything went smoothly.I couldn't thank them enough for their extra attention to detail.....they made us feel at ease just knowing that they were there.
Ken and Jay really went out of their way to make sure that everything about our wedding was over and beyond what was expected. We can't thank them enough and HIGHLY recommend that your first choice in La Crosse is the Bentley- Wheeler!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissyS267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
0.7 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#2 of 20 in La Crosse
2,012 reviews
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#4 of 20 in La Crosse
1,117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle La Crosse
Castle La Crosse
#3 of 7 in La Crosse
9 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 20 in La Crosse
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentley-Wheeler B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentley-Wheeler B&B

Address: 938 & 950 Cass Street, La Crosse, WI 54601
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in La Crosse
Price Range: $125 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Bentley-Wheeler Bed and Breakfast! Our establishment is one of the newest and most premier bed and breakfast establishments in the state of Wisconsin. We are located in La Crosse, WI in two refurbished and finely detailed historic homes (two time winner of the La Crosse Preservation Alliance Historic Heritage Award and winner of the Wisconsin Trust for Historic Preservation Award). Daily housekeeping is available at no charge upon request. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing