We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best rates in town!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welch Motel

Welch Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Welch Motel
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
1 review
“Best rates in town!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We'll located. Extremely clean. Very friendly staff.!!! Wonderful cemetery walk cross a street loaded with beautiful flowers.!!! Walkable for shopping and restaurants.!!! Lavender is color scheme of their flowers this year.!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    24
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
26
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

This is a classic 1950's motor court on the outside. Inside, it's clean and comfortable, but little mid century remains in the room. But it was clean, quiet. No smells. No stains. Nothing broken. $76 including tax on a summer weekend night.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank fourstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettrick, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Recommended motel to friend since reviews were good. Nasty! Nasty! Second night we decided to check out and stay at another hotel downtown. Went back on here to look at reviews again and noticed most of the reviews that give it 5 stars were created at same time and only reviewed this one motel. Obviously owner is making up profiles to beef up business. Definitely not something that's even worth being on top ten. Room smelled like smoke, bed uncomfortable, old furniture, bedding stained, old box TV's and have the old comforters that only the cheap hotels still use, probably only gets washed once a year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnspike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welchmotel, Owner at Welch Motel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
WE are really sorry that you were not happy with our place. we will take your complaint and work on it to make better. we usually try our best to make our guest feel like home and comfortable. I appreciate you taking time to give us feed back on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Management and staff were very accommodating, room was beautiful, very clean and quiet. Excellent example of the American Roadside Motel. The Welch is definitely doing it right...and the coffee was good too!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TommysTrajik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Clean room, nice bed, nice shower. Close to downtown. Very reasonably priced. Owner operated by a very nice man. No frills. Does have hob and wifi. Free coffee in the morning. Nice place for an overnight stop

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cptsafety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylord, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed in a small one bed room for 3 weeks while working in the area. The room was very clean from the start and kept that way by the excellent staff each day during my stay. I have stayed in many places, including pricey hotels in large cities and resorts. This room was as clean and fresh smelling as any I have been in. I would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Selected this place based on TA reviews. We had a 2-bed room. Small, old, mom and pop-ish. Room clean. Grounds are so-so. Some deferred maintenance. No common hallways or lobby, so no place to escape in middle of night. All rooms open to outdoors. Resident owner friendly and helpful. Comfy beds for us. Not so for our friends a few doors away. They complained of bug bites, but do not seem to have become infested with bedbugs. We had no problem. We stayed on a busy fall weekend and the price was jacked up or inflated beyond that quoted. "These weekends are where we make our money."

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrandyMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
5.3 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#2 of 20 in La Crosse
5.0 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
5.4 mi away
Motel 6
Motel 6
#13 of 20 in La Crosse
3.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welch Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welch Motel

Property: Welch Motel
Address: 3643 Mormon Coulee Rd, La Crosse, WI 54601
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Welch Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable, affordable. Scott & Rae Ann Elvin welcome you to La Crosse! We offer you the convenience of at-your-door parking, wireless internet, cable TV with HBO, family hospitality at a great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Welch Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welch Hotel La Crosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing