We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“VERY HAPPY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Welch Motel

Welch Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Welch Motel
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in La Crosse
Fish Creek, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“VERY HAPPY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The staff is friendly, the rooms are very clean and comfortable,it is as close as you need to be to downtown, the university, the state park, shopping, etc. Why spend twice as much money somewhere else? I will definitely stay there again when I am back in town. Perfect at half the price.Thank you!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rockstar365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    25
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
26
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We rented 2 nonsmoking rooms, but one of them had clearly been a smoker's room. Unfortunately, there were no vacancies so switching rooms was not an option. Other than the difficulty breathing, the rooms were fine. The bathrooms were in good condition, and the rooms neat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

First Impression: I usually stay at a downtown hotel but decided to venture into the interior of La Crosse. In short, I am happy that I did. The Welch Motel is located off of a busy highways 14 61 35. However, once inside it feels very warm and inviting. The motel is updated.

Staff: I was greeted by an enthusiastic young man upon check-in. It appeared that he really enjoyed his job, which made for a fun check-in. Everyone I encountered at the motel was very nice!

Room: My room was beautiful. Very clean and well put together. I was apprehensive about staying at a lower star motel but gave it a chance because of all of the reviews I had seen.

Location: The motel is conveniently located near an array of restaurants, mall, gas stations, and grocery stores all of which are within a 1 to 5 minute drive. Walgreens appeared to be within walking distance. The property is within a 10 minute drive to tourist attractions like State Park and Granddad Bluff.

I highly recommend this motel and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We had to stay here because it was the last place with a room because of the Irish Festival and we were just passing thru so we were thankful we had a place to sleep. No phone in the room. One small pillow per person. Tv was an old analog and sat so low on the stand we couldn't see without our feet in the way and bed wasn't strong enough for us to sit up in. Looks like it was remodeled but not everywhere. Not enough light in the room even with 2 lamps and 1 overhead light. No breakfast .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omahans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

A very clean and charming motel. For us as foreigners it was a quite nostalgic feeling of how we imagined traveling in the USA. The owner was very interesting and interested. We talked long about a lot of things and felt very welcome and safe.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Su H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Like others we usually stay at the large chains, we are really glad we didn't this time. Kenya, the desk clerk, housekeeper, handy-person and just about everything else at the motel was so very helpful during our stay. The room was neat and clean, comfortable, and our stay was enjoyable. If, and when, we go to La Crosse again there is no doubt where we will stay. We will bring a coffee pot however.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck-Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

What a surprise. We were looking for a place to stay just for one night usually we stay at larger hotels but we decided to try the Welsh motel recommended by the locals. The front desk was extremely helpful the rooms were clean and a bench along with an ashtray was supplied front of our room we would recommend this hotel for anyone passing through lacrosse

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Radman1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
5.3 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
5.3 mi away
Motel 6
Motel 6
#13 of 19 in La Crosse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
4.9 mi away
Super 8 La Crosse
Super 8 La Crosse
#14 of 19 in La Crosse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welch Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welch Motel

Property: Welch Motel
Address: 3643 Mormon Coulee Rd, La Crosse, WI 54601-7335
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Welch Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable, affordable. Scott & Rae Ann Elvin welcome you to La Crosse! We offer you the convenience of at-your-door parking, wireless internet, cable TV with HBO, family hospitality at a great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Welch Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welch Hotel La Crosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing