We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast - starting the day off right.”
Review of Hungry Peddler

Hungry Peddler
Ranked #15 of 202 Restaurants in La Crosse
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breakfast - starting the day off right.”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Come to this restaurant really really hungry. You will leave fully satisfied. Come early as the place fills with regular customers. Once here, you will understand why the place fills early. The food is wonderful!!! The one difficulty I had at this restaurant was the difficulty choosing what I wanted, so many good things to choose from.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PINSTENES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    52
    15
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse WI
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good service and above average breakfast location”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I eat here numerous times each year and always enjoy the service and meal. The waitresses are attentive and personal and that adds to the flavor of this unique restaurant. It is a bit dark at times so if you want to read a newspaper ask for a table near the window or one with a lamp.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good/quaint/reliable”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Visited here for breakfast while visiting family in La Crosse:

What we liked:

1. Outstanding service. We felt very welcomed by all staff members, and when we asked for something, like extra napkins, they got it to us in a flash.
2. There is a portion of the menu devoted to those with small appetites.
3. My husband enjoyed the choice of omelettes and said his was delicious.
4. The place (it appears) formerly was a family home, so it has a small, intimate feel.
5. Prices are good.

What we didn't like:

1. All the food was good except the sausage gravy. It had plenty of sausage in it, but it was oh so thick. H-E-A-V-Y.
2. Coffee was fresh and hot but very so-so tasting. Like coffee served at a restaurant chain. This is not a major thing--I expected it. But I was secretly hoping for better.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginny000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We have eaten here many times and the food is always delicious and the service is excellent. There is often a wait but good things are always worth waiting for.

We have had the bacon wrapped tips, the all you can fish and bacon wrapped s

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank batkitty5580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 652 helpful votes
“Great food at affordable price!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We arrived at dinner time expecting to wait to be seated; however, we were sat right away with a variety of goodies on our table, from crackers to veggies. The restaurant is quaint but makes up for it in personality. I enjoyed the "old fashioned" look of the place and seeing all the history. Our server was friendly and always checked to make sure we were doing fine, without being over pushy. The food was absolutely amazing, and you get so much of it. Most even come with a soup AND a salad, along with bread. You do not leave this place hungry and it is not bad on the wallet either. I cannot wait to try the Hungry Peddler again when I am in La Crosse!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Peddler also viewed

 

Been to Hungry Peddler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing