We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay AWAY!! Poor SERVICE!!”
Review of Big Al's Pizza

Big Al's Pizza
Ranked #31 of 202 Restaurants in La Crosse
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Holmen, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stay AWAY!! Poor SERVICE!!”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Went for afternoon pizza and appetizers. Pizza was burnt, tossed together and thrown on the table. They longer carry krinkle cut fries, instead you are told "we had to do away with french fries because the owner likes waffle fries." So, I say let the owner go eat your his waffle fries with his poorly trained servers and bar staff. I asked to speak with owner/manager and he was indignat; that I, the customer, dare express to him my likes and dislikes on his menu. His rough, indignant tone spills over into his staff's attitude. No one came to check on re-fills, or was concerned about our experience. If your looking for a decent value priced meal with proper service, this is not the place. Let the owner dwell in all his misery. When he is willing to listen to his customers maybe I'll go back, but he'll be out of business by then. GO ELSEWHERE! WAY OVER PRICED!!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mgd7515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    29
    8
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
MIDWEST, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE SERVICE!!!! STAY AWAY”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Absolutely the worst service I have ever had! 4 of us came in to eat before a show, waited 1.5 hrs for our food, while others that came in after us had eaten and gone, waitress did not care, and when asked to check on our order her response was "theyre backed up, its busy". 2 tables beside us got up and left. NEVER AGAIN!!!! Our food finally came and the order was all wrong but she didnt care and gave us the check for our original order, which was more expensive than what was delivered to our table!!! I will make sure all of my friends & family know, and tell their friends and family, WHAT A JOKE!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SUNSUNMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
77 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love, Love, the pizza”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

The pizza here is so good. Try the Big Al's special. Lots of great fresh ingredients. Casual atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DIANE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
570 reviews
462 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Best pizza in the area”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I personally think this is the best pizza to eat in. It is the kind that burns the top of your mouth because you try eating before it cools down.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank withvalidity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was the 2nd time I've visited Big Al's; Both visits have met my expectations. This visit, my wife and I met a friend there for dinner. I always love walking into Al's because of the atmosphere and decorations. There is a ton of things to look and talk bout during dinner. The lighting is perfect and there are multiple tv's to catch whatever sports game might be on.

Our party was seated right away and had our orders taken shortly after. Everyone was polite and courteous. Our food came was prepared and delivered quickly, as well.

I ordered wings, my wife a calzone, and our friend a reuben. All of the portions were generous and the meals excellent. Our waitress supplied us quickly with all the requested condiments.

I found Al's to be a value, with the three meals, an appetizer, and two rounds drinks coming out to under $60. I will be back to Big Al's in the future, and our friend is planning a rehearsal dinner there.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Al's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Big Al's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing