We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Always my first choice....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Always my first choice....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Just on the edge of Riverside Park and across from the Freighthouse Restaurant it is only in the most prime spot for the Octoberfest grounds activities. The room configurations are the best...whether the separate bedroom or the open configuration...there is room or multiple people to be comfortable and with a full fridge, micro, dishwasher and range you can preheated leftovers ...keep snacks or feed your family.

I never like the free breakfasts anywhere unless they are fresh cooked but this one is typical. Always comfortable and a home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuefromVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    113
    44
    14
    1
See reviews for
180
81
9
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue Iowa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and her sister met for an overnight and wanted to do a review of this hotel: We were thrilled to have a "mini-suite" with 2 huge beds and a sitting area, kitchen and work/eating table. So much room we decided to stay in for the night and watch movies on the big flat screen TV. We found our beds comfy. Breakfast was average at best. Day and night staff very helpful. Best part is the location - at the end of a "hotel row" just a few steps from a "peace garden" and the Mississippi River frontage with walking paths for blocks.

Room Tip: Ask for a mini-suite
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank clayt0np
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
525Front, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you on your next visit in La Crosse!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

To start for the price of the rooms it was not very big, open yes but roomy no. The first thing we noticed was a used hand towel atop the shower rod, clean-up must have missed it. The beds were ok but kinda firm. And in morning for the breakfast not alot was availible. On top of this when i opened a milk carton this morning it came out lumpy, three of them did. On the side note this was not the hotels fault. They were before experation date and i do not see how they could have known. Overall it is a nice hotel and very nice for price, however not exceding my expectations and will try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
525Front, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We strive to exceed our guest expectations and I’m sorry we have failed you. I have addressed the lack of cleanliness with our housekeeping team. I have also contacted our milk vendor to assure we do not have these incidents happen again. These incidents are not typical and we certainly hope you will allow us another opportunity to provide lodging accommodations during your next visit to La Crosse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Nice facility, awful beds and pillows.Mediocre Breakfast. The rooms are expansive,this would be a good place for families. However, I haven't slept on such a bouncy bed since college. During my visit the service was somewhat mediocre.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Civitas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elm Grove, WI
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The facility was clean and staff was accommodating. Breakfast was VERY average. When we pay this much for a room the meals that are provided are much more extensive. There are much better options out there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyBig10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
525Front, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. Your willingness to share your recent experience in genuinely appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed for 1 night on our way through LaCrosse. Choose this hotel for it's location, value and good reviews. We had a 2 Bed Studio Suite. It was a nice room & we liked the large size and separate kitchen/TV/Couch area. Youngest son used the pool & hot-tub - it is quite small but we were OK with that, as we were not really there to swim anyway and just there 1 night. Breakfast was fine, they did have hot items as well as make your own waffles. This hotel along with being nice, is in a great location. Many downtown restuarants & shops within walking distance. Right next to Riverside Park for a stroll after dinner by the waterfront. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sd2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
525Front, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We certainly appreciate your kind words and look forward to providing lodging during your next visit to La Crosse!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
161 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Booked based on reviews. A big mistake. If you are looking for a cheap near river hotel this is probably your place. But do not expect ANY service. Visited the Radison and requested a tour of a room....no comparison...stay at the Radison. Ron

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eronpickard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#3 of 20 in La Crosse
4.5 of 5 stars 782 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#2 of 20 in La Crosse
5.0 of 5 stars 872 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel
2.5 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
0.6 mi away
Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse

Property: GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Address: 525 Front St N, La Crosse, WI 54601-3277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Crosse
#2 Family Hotel in La Crosse
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown La Crosse our all suite hotel combines the comforts of home with the services of a grand hotel. Free WIFI, parking and Grand Start Breakfast included in all rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandstay Residential Hotel La Crosse
Grandstay Hotel La Crosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing