We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

To start for the price of the rooms it was not very big, open yes but roomy no. The first thing we noticed was a used hand towel atop the shower rod, clean-up must have missed it. The beds were ok but kinda firm. And in morning for the breakfast not alot was availible. On top of this when i opened a milk carton this morning it came out lumpy, three of them did. On the side note this was not the hotels fault. They were before experation date and i do not see how they could have known. Overall it is a nice hotel and very nice for price, however not exceding my expectations and will try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
525Front, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We strive to exceed our guest expectations and I’m sorry we have failed you. I have addressed the lack of cleanliness with our housekeeping team. I have also contacted our milk vendor to assure we do not have these incidents happen again. These incidents are not typical and we certainly hope you will allow us another opportunity to provide lodging accommodations during your next visit to La Crosse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 569 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

Nice facility, awful beds and pillows.Mediocre Breakfast. The rooms are expansive,this would be a good place for families. However, I haven't slept on such a bouncy bed since college. During my visit the service was somewhat mediocre.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Civitas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The facility was clean and staff was accommodating. Breakfast was VERY average. When we pay this much for a room the meals that are provided are much more extensive. There are much better options out there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillyBig10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
525Front, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. Your willingness to share your recent experience in genuinely appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed for 1 night on our way through LaCrosse. Choose this hotel for it's location, value and good reviews. We had a 2 Bed Studio Suite. It was a nice room & we liked the large size and separate kitchen/TV/Couch area. Youngest son used the pool & hot-tub - it is quite small but we were OK with that, as we were not really there to swim anyway and just there 1 night. Breakfast was fine, they did have hot items as well as make your own waffles. This hotel along with being nice, is in a great location. Many downtown restuarants & shops within walking distance. Right next to Riverside Park for a stroll after dinner by the waterfront. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sd2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
525Front, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We certainly appreciate your kind words and look forward to providing lodging during your next visit to La Crosse!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Booked based on reviews. A big mistake. If you are looking for a cheap near river hotel this is probably your place. But do not expect ANY service. Visited the Radison and requested a tour of a room....no comparison...stay at the Radison. Ron

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eronpickard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I, parents of three young children, needed a weekend away and chose to stay local and give the GrandStay of La Crosse a try. We were more than impressed with the outstanding customer service provided by the staff, the wide variety of choices above and beyond the traditional continental breakfast menus we were used too, and and the room was absolutely PERFECT!!!! We were spoiled with a full size refrigerator with ice maker, stove, microwave oven, toaster, coffee pot, pots, pans, silverware, dishwasher.... I felt like royalty!!!! The beds were super comfortable, sheets were clean and crisp, and the comforter soft and fluffy. Any time we want to get away, GrandStay will be our number one, first choice!!!!

Room Tip: Loved our 4th floor view of the courtyard!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed one night but which it was longer. We booked a one bedroom suite. The room was great. Having come from a conference in Madison, I which our hotel had been this night. Full size refrigerator, microwave, dishes, etc. The bed was very cozy, the staff was excellent and the breakfast was very good. This is a great area along the Riverwalk and some great restaurants and bars. My only complaint is we had so little time to spend there. I would like to spend a couple of days next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mxco4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#4 of 20 in La Crosse
1,117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
0.2 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#2 of 20 in La Crosse
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton La Crosse
0.6 mi away
Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse

Address: 525 Front St N, La Crosse, WI 54601-3277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Crosse
#2 Family Hotel in La Crosse
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Crosse
Price Range: $111 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown La Crosse our all suite hotel combines the comforts of home with the services of a grand hotel. Free WIFI, parking and Grand Start Breakfast included in all rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandstay Residential Hotel La Crosse
Grandstay Hotel La Crosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing