We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great choice”
Reviewed January 22, 2008

I stayed here for a full week during a trip for work. This place was suggested (along with a couple others) by the folks i was doing the work for.

I often travel alone and as a woman I always look for a place that will be safe. This hotel provided a comfortable safe place to stay for my week long trip.

I'm pretty picky when it comes to cleanliness of a hotel, but I always want a cheap price so sometimes it's hard to get both. They gave me the government discount and it was up to my standard of cleanliness. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

I took full use of the kitchen. A note about the previous review that stated there was no kitchen-ware: It's all in the dishwasher when you arrive in your room (there's a note in the cupboard that states so). I too wondered where all the kitchen stuff was at first.

All in all this was a great hotel and I would definitely recommend this one to friends... and strangers for that matter.

  • Liked — Comfort and convenience
  • Disliked — Ocassional wireless internet connection problems.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank PickyTravelerMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    140
    57
    18
    3
See reviews for
236
111
11
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
west bend wi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2007

This hotel is clean and comfortable. It was nice to have a seperate bedroom for our family of 3 to stay here. The breakfast was ok. The location next tothe bike trails and the river is great. I had planned to make a meal or 2 but there was no silverware, plates, bowls. nothing really to use to "cook" anything. We did use the frig, but couldn't use the rest of the kitchen.

Helpful?
2 Thank wbwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2007

I had never heard of GrandStay before we spent a night there and actually wished we needed to stay longer! Due to a large convention in town and short notice on our part (the day of--October 24th), we were offered the handicap accessible room. It had a walk-in shower rather than a tub, which was fine by us. With a wooden bench, though, the shower was tight but before his turn, my husband walked in and flipped it up against the wall (which it's made to do) and then the shower was great.

The room was very spacious, with two queen beds plus a fold-out couch. We also had two TV's, with separate remotes and with the room design, we weren't disturbed if watching different programs. The beds were very comfy and temperature was perfect and easy to control with a room thermostat verses in-wall noisy mechanisms. Hotel staff were very courteous, friendly and professional. Had we needed to stay longer, we would have had the use of a full kitchen with refrigerator, stove, and dishwasher as well as sitting area.

The room and entire hotel were beautifully decorated, clean, and inviting. The pool, whirlpool and fitness room were all handy and the vending area had everything from frozen pizza, ice cream and cold coffee drinks to specialty chips and snacks--a nice touch. The continental breakfast was well done, with items such as muffins, yogurt, cereal, bagels, breads, juices & coffee. The hotel is located at the end of a street and is very quiet yet within a few blocks of downtown and next to the walkway that leads to Riverside park on the Mississippi River. I've stayed at the Radisson and the Holiday Inn Courtyard, both nearby, but will be choosing the GrandStay for future visits. The value can't be beat!

  • Liked — Spacious, comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank delamills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2007

Booked this a month in advance, then called twice to reconfirm, then called the day of arrival and they still did not hold the room for late arrival despite my credit card guarantee. They dumped me over to a marginal place 20 minutes away. This is not worth the gamble!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank CycleJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2007

I'll start with the good so no one gets the wrong impression, because I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel. The hotel is up to date and clean, our room was very spacious, especially for the price. The lobby is so nice I almost expected to see a concierge and bell captain, but it's not that genre of hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful, which is not always the case with the older franchise joints, for sure. The location is excellent, continental breakfast was more than adequate. My non-smoking room was a non-smoking room, so that was good.

As I have found most hotels will do, they put me in a handicapped-accessible room with no warning. I don't think you should have to cross-examine the front desk to find out things like this about the room they are going to give you. If anyone has ever gotten such a room, you know the bathroom is very inconvenient for non-handicapped people. For example, there is no room to stand up in the shower due to the wooden benches. Also not much room at the sink to set your shaving kit on. The A/C unit was a bit loud, but since it was built into the wall, it was quiter than most all-in-one units that sit below the window.

  • Liked — Clean, modern, large room at a reasonable price.
  • Disliked — Handicap-accessible bathroom, tiny pool (which my son still loved).
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlng_patent_lawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2007

Exceptional suite.....received a government rate...it was worth every penny. Great location. Attentive service. Kitchen is stocked with plates, cups, utensils, etc....Only drawback was....no business center for computer access. Will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cactus7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 5, 2005

First, the location: Perfect! It's at the north end of the riverfront park and walkway, which made for a lovely stroll into downtown along the Mississippi.

The suite was a one-bedroom apartment with a living room and an efficiency kitchen (full-size fridge, stove, microwave, dishwasher) w/ dining nook. I note this because so many places are calling their rooms "suites" these days when actually, it's just a regular motel room with a couple extra feet, or a sofa wedged in.

I was in La Crosse to lecture at the university, so even though there was no government rate coming up in the search, I called the hotel directly and they honored the university rate of $62. Which was a fantastic bargain, but I'd have gladly paid $100+ a night for what I got.

  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
0.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton La Crosse
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#3 of 20 in La Crosse
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#1 of 20 in La Crosse
1,537 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
0.6 mi away
Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse

Property: GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Address: 525 Front St N, La Crosse, WI 54601-3277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in La Crosse
#2 Business Hotel in La Crosse
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown La Crosse our all suite hotel combines the comforts of home with the services of a grand hotel. Free WIFI, parking and Grand Start Breakfast included in all rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandstay Residential Hotel La Crosse
Grandstay Hotel La Crosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing