We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge La Crosse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Econo Lodge La Crosse
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in La Crosse
Athens, Wisconsin
1 review
“Great Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Nice hotel that's budget friendly. Friendly staff. Clean rooms.Easy to find, not far from restaurants, activities, parks. Love the all night hot tub availability. Will definitely stay there when in La Crosse again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajj0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge La Crosse, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    34
    17
    16
    29
See reviews for
37
43
16
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

First off I get that the price is cheap. The guy working the front desk was helpful. That being said this was pretty dirty. The floors were disgusting and the fixtures were nasty. The beds were comfortable enough and it worked for the night. I will say I didn't expect to get breakfast for the cheap price. They had cereal, waffles, oatmeal, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, bananas and coffee. That made it worth the stay. We won't be here again but if you need a cheap room fast, and don't mind the dirt, check it out.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara M, General Manager at Econo Lodge La Crosse, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
We are very sorry that your stay didn't meet all your expectations Brad, and thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention! While we are an older, economy-friendly establishment, we do view the cleanliness of our rooms as a high priority, and I apologize that your time with us did not reflect that. You review helps us immensely in working towards avoiding this kind of lapse in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Crosse hotels

Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We have stayed with choice hotels before, and this Econo Lodge was among the more unique ones we have stayed in. It has a ton of character! The staff was pleasant and helpful, and we had a really nice conversation with the owners too. It's rare to be able to chat with the owner now-a-days, and it gave us a more authentic feel. That's just something we like though! Regardless of if you want to stay in the themed rooms, ask if one is available for you to see. They're so quirky and fun to experience! We had the South Seas room and it is definitely something that defined our stay! One thing to keep in mind is that there are no elevators. Luckily they weren't full so they could switch us to first floor, but I would recommend mentioning that when making a reservation if stairs are an issue. Overall great experience in great location for fair price!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Needed a cheap room to attend our daughter's graduation since we knew we wouldn't be spending much time there. We were given the Sheikh Room and we had to laugh out loud when we opened the door. It is completely silly, but that's the kind of fun you don't expect in a chain. We weren't even around long enough to use the hot tub or take advantage of the breakfast, so can't comment on either. The room was clean, the fridge and microwave looked new (although there was a box of fruit bars in the freezer that someone must have forgotten--staff should check all the extras in the room). We could hear goings-on outside for most of the night and early morning, but they were muffled and not too bothersome.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford Park, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

I love La Crosse. There is something beautiful in River Cities and La Crosse is my favorite one. We do come few times a year trying our best to avoid big events. Learned to make a reservation and I found this motel as best one for the money that they charge.
They have nice breakfast, clean room and nice staff. Very nice place.
Ask for the upgrade, they are more then happy to make it happend whenever possible.

Room Tip: Our favorite is Sea Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We do travel a lot and at some point we do get tired of extra stuff offered to Us just to have the excuse to up the price and this motel was nothing like that. They do have all amenities necessary for your stay such as little refrigerator and microwave but we still didn't pay big bucks. Honestly these days 50,60 bucks can't get you threw few rounds in bar so paying 59 dollars for room and breakfast ( which was by the way pretty good with waffle maker, boiled eggs and yogurt) was fair deal for me. Management could work on some updates but having 24 hours open hot tub made up for most of the outdated things in the room. This is for Sure place to come back to!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Pulled into this Econolodge for just one night and found it a really great value for the price. Sure it wasn't the newest facility but seriously folks, for the price you shouldn't be expecting much more. The staff was friendly and the amenities like fridge and TV were all relatively new. We had the privilege of getting one of their themed rooms called South Seas. The decor was a little bit silly but the kitsch was something that you'll never get in most chain hotels - and that helped to make this place stand out in a good way. Plus the tropical wood chairs in the room were amazingly comfortable! The breakfast was on par with most Choice Hotels within this branding. The man at the front desk greeted us every time we came downstairs or through the door, which I really appreciated since a lot of lower end hotels don't bother unless you ring the bell. We only stayed one night, but we will definitely be back again - I feel compelled to see the other themed rooms!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the themed rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge La Crosse, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience Justin; we really appreciate feedback from our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and we're very excited for you to see more of the themed rooms during your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.2 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
0.2 mi away
Super 8 La Crosse
Super 8 La Crosse
#13 of 19 in La Crosse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 La Crosse WI
Motel 6 La Crosse WI
#14 of 19 in La Crosse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Days Inn La Crosse Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn La Crosse
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge La Crosse

Property: Econo Lodge La Crosse
Address: 1906 Rose St, La Crosse, WI 54603-2105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge La Crosse 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge La Crosse
La Crosse Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing