We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Broken” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge La Crosse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge La Crosse
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Fontana, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Broken”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The low end of the rate scale is a tough place to be. Staying competitive is difficult.
When a property reaches a certain age a natural decline sets in (entropy). In my case a broken shower handle that the weekend staff couldn't deal with meant an essential part of the stay was missing. The next week the full management heard my complaints (there were more) but decided not to respond as promised. Avoidance is not good management. Weary travelers need a low cost alternative. If you have other options, take them.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge La Crosse, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us Eric. Thank you for bringing the issues you had to our attention during your stay, and for taking the time to post a review. I apologize that you were not pleased with the measures taken to correct your experience at the time of your stay, but please be assured that we have taken note of the issues you experienced and will work towards improving our guests experience. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    34
    13
    12
    24
See reviews for
31
39
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, Minnesota
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Went to bed at midnight and could hear the TV in the adjacent room. We could also hear the people on the second floor walking/stomping around. At 4 AM someone announced that they needed to go to the bathroom. 6 AM little kids were arguing and crying in the hallway. The sink in the room provided no more than a trickle of water. The toilet made a continuous trickling sound. The price was cheap. Perhaps you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 115Pete_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Crosse hotels

Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

the hotel wasn't very clean, there was a dog barking in the next room, and the staff was not very helpful.........overall we would definitely try to find other accommodations........this one was not very nice!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leslie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge La Crosse, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We are very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations Leslie. Thank you for taking the time to let us know in which areas we can work on. We appreciate the feedback, and will work to improve our guest's experience in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is really nice and clean motel. Everyone is greeting you with huge smile and very eager to help. Needed early check in and they worked the magic for us letting us in at 1 pm . Great place that I am visiting again for sure.

Room Tip: ask for the theme rooms/.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge La Crosse, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us Linda! Thank you for taking the time to write a response; we really appreciate hearing your input. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed in Econo Lodge and loved the property. Clean rooms and hot tub open 24 hours gave me few good days to relax. Very good breakfast and pretty much everything in the room that made my stay very comfortable. Had a reunion with the friend of mine who also stayed in one of the rooms and her experience was also very good. Good place to recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms not to close to the hot tub. Can be noise being open 24 hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minella l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge La Crosse, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel! I am very glad to hear that you found everything to your expectations. We hope to see you again soon when you return to La Crosse. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Getting Choice points was not worth this stay. PLUSES: Pet Friendly, price. Minuses are nasty blankets, thread bare towels, flat pillows, awful breakfast - white bread, mini donuts, yogurt (good! ) waffles (good) and bad coffee. There was a dirty towel hanging on the bathroom door. Just a run down property with a slow motion staff.

Room Tip: Only stay as a last resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mercerKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge La Crosse, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our property. I am very sorry to hear that you did not find your time with us to be up to your expectations. We are continuously working to improve our property, and we will use your comments when making updates or changes to the hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and hope you will stay with us again to see the impact your response will contribute! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
70 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Everything was just "OK" - nothing special. Our room could have been vacuumed better, lots of little debris left on the floor, I found a pair of socks under the eve of the bed so, housekeeping was not real thorough - just good enough to get by. The vacuuming in our upper hallway was a bit worse, looks like it was skipped for the last few days. Bed seemed fresh enough and bathroom was clean. Breakfast was blah with the regular offering of waffles, cereal, and pastries. Overall, average place at a decent value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodeguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.2 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
0.3 mi away
Motel 6
Motel 6
#13 of 20 in La Crosse
3.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Days Inn La Crosse Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Super 8 La Crosse
Super 8 La Crosse
#14 of 20 in La Crosse
3.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge La Crosse

Property: Econo Lodge La Crosse
Address: 1906 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge La Crosse 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge La Crosse
La Crosse Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing