We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DID YOU LAY OFF THE CLEANING LADY????” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Guest House Motel

Guest House Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Crosse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Guest House Motel
Save
You added Guest House Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“DID YOU LAY OFF THE CLEANING LADY????”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

never been so grossed out. went to our room and had hair in tub and on the floor. pulled back sheets at 1:00 in the morning and there were blood stains on our sheets and hair. pulled back the sheets on the people next to us and hair on sheets. you could tell by all the wrinkles in the bed that the sheets were never changed. OK so it late and we ask for a different room now its like 1:30 and we have to hall all our stuff to the 2nd floor. pull back sheet on both beds and guess what.....hair.once again they were dirty. almost looked like bed bugs when we pulled the mattress pad back.Hair all over bathroom floor. and there was a phone in the room but no phone jack . what if we would have had to call 911 or just to call down to the front desk? Its 92 degrees out and they have NO AIR CONDITIONING in the building. ONLY IN YOUR ROOM. NO AIR IN THE RESTAURANT EITHER. THEN.. the so called manager is getting pissy with us as we tell him to give us CLEAN SHEETS,and he says in his cocky voice like he was the victom. "what do you want me to do about it?" Calling the state health inspector today and the BBB.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hawkins1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

Went up to bike the trails. Right off of downtown. Spacious king size bed and room, clean, and friendly hosts.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ms9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Read the reviews, made a snap decision and reserved two rooms for hubby/self and another couple on July 4th. There were few rooms available in LaCrosse due to holiday I guess. Although others seem to think it's a great place to stay we DID NOT!!! No security, the back door lock is broken. The carpet (which seemed filthy on bare feet) had tears in it. The bathroom was ridiculous--no countertop at all and the tiny area where the toilet sits was so confining it was difficult to feel comfortable. There was a pile of broken down lawnmowers next to the back door where some unkempt men were hanging around smoking cigarettes. The only amenity is free coffee which sucked. The restaurant looked filthy and the clientele seemed to be comprised mainly of the same sort of men who were hanging around smoking in the back. All in all, you get what you pay for and for $64 we all decided we would have been better off sleeping in our car... at least we knew that was clean and safe. NEVER AGAIN!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank averagejane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Crosse hotels

Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

The service was fantastic and the staff extremely friendly. The room had lots of towels, was comfortable and clean - and for the price; you can't beat it!! The location was perfect, close to downtown, but not too close, and convienent to all major highways in the vacinity. The restaurant located in the Motel was fabulous and again, very reasonable! I loved staying at the Guest House and will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurie_rice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

The only place for me to stay. Clean and affordable. Very nice people and good service. Good location too.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jckhywd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

Well, it's a motel, it's a cheap place to stay when traveling and you just need somewhere to sleep. The property is old but pleasant, the rooms are clean and the staff are friendly.

  • Liked — A cheap comfortable bed for the night.
  • Disliked — Could do with some updates.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MnKuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napervilee, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2007

Nice Hotel......staff is nice...rooms are clean....price is great. Give it a try ...YOU won't be sorry.

  • Liked — Price & Location
  • Disliked — No indoor pool
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HighFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.7 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#1 of 20 in La Crosse
5.0 of 5 stars 789 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#3 of 20 in La Crosse
4.5 of 5 stars 769 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
0.9 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Motel

Property: Guest House Motel
Address: 810 South 4th Street, La Crosse, WI 54601
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Guest House Hotel La Crosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing