We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High quality eating experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pogreba Restaurant

Pogreba Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 199 Restaurants in La Crosse
Price range: $10 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our staff prides itself in not only creating and delivering a superior product, but in building meaningful relationships with our guests. Join us for dinner and try one of our signature beef,seafood, pork, or pasta dishes. Cocktail with friends and family atop our unique mezzanine level or relax bar side and get to know our talented staff. Catering any and all events. Stop in and see what all the buzz is about on La Crosse's north side...Pogreba Restaurant
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“High quality eating experience”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Excellent food, well prepared, especially the steaks, very inviting décor and atmosphere. Service is excellent. Located on the north side away from downtown, parking is on the street, but usually no problem. Worth the short drive from the downtown area but closer to the interstate exits.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Badgerhoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    12
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Onalaska, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Best restaurant in town”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Pogreba is my favorite restaurant in La crosse, wi. The steak is amazing and the bacon wrapped cheese curds appetizers are my favorite. The decor is very tastefully decorated and you don't feel like you are very close to other patrons. Highly recommend this place

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barb V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overall very good and worth hoing”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Having been there a couple of times I have to say I was disappointed in my meal choice. Appetizers, drinks, service are fantastic as always but my choice of seafood hot pot I will not make again. I don't think it lives up to quality of the other items, I will be back of course but I know what I am not getting

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vettel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Prime Rib”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Went on a Saturday night and had the prime rib special. I have never had anything like it before. It was amazing! Large beer/wine list available. I would definitely go back! The cheese curds were a great appetizer too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Inexperienced help”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a new waiter who was working without someone who knew what was going on. He didn't know the menu, the specials. For the price of the food, we expect more knowledgable waitstaff.
The food was very mediocre. The grilled romaine salad was good, but the portion is overwhelming.
Sorry, we really wanted to like this place,

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheRoad1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pogreba Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pogreba Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing