We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Surprise in La Crosse”
Review of Pogreba Restaurant

Pogreba Restaurant
Ranked #41 of 202 Restaurants in La Crosse
Price range: $10 - $37
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Our staff prides itself in not only creating and delivering a superior product, but in building meaningful relationships with our guests. Join us for dinner and try one of our signature beef,seafood, pork, or pasta dishes. Cocktail with friends and family atop our unique mezzanine level or relax bar side and get to know our talented staff. Catering any and all events. Stop in and see what all the buzz is about on La Crosse's north side...Pogreba Restaurant
Minnesota
Level Contributor
219 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise in La Crosse”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

On the recommendation of some colleagues, we decided to try Pogreba's for dinner. It is in an area where eating establishments aren't clustered and is housed in what used to be a neighborhood church. So we did not know what to expect, save for the strong recommendations we heard. We were pleasantly surprised. The owners succeeded in putting on a subdued ambiance to the place - woodwork from the old church was retained, there was simple stained glass around, a nice bar area, and spacious seating for dining. The service we received was very good. The food servings were ample and tasty. For appetizers, try their generous serving of bacon-wrapped cheese curds, you are in Wisconsin after all. Was the food the best we've ever had? Far from it. But was it good and presented well? Absolutely. After all that, we ordered dessert which turned out to be a light but gigantic chocolate cake. We left the place thinking - who would have thought that we would have a very good dining experience there? Well, we did and we highly recommend Pogreba's.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Domrcpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    12
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unique La Crosse Dining-Better than Expected”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This restaurant is worth a visit. The decor is well done and comfortable. Service was excellent and was well informed. The menu has a balance between fish, steaks/meat, chicken, salads, and pasta. The meals we ordered (2 fish and 2 surf and turf) were prepared very well. The surf and turf was a combo of shrimp and pork bellies, an interesting combination to say the least! It was excellent. The fish, according to our 2 ladies, was outstanding. Wine menu was not out of line and covered enough to satisfy most people. This is an expensive restaurant by La Crosse standards but is worth a visit in my opinion.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great restaurant.”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Tried Pogreba for the first time a week ago. One of the most flavorful meals we have experienced. We are not prime rib lovers but my husband decided to try it and it was OMG so good. I would even consider ordering it sometime. The shrimp I had was delicious. Tried a ginger mojito and it was so refreshing. The bread that accompanies the meal is fantastic. Couldn't leave without having dessert and opted for the tuxedo cake which was to die for. This restaurant is in a renovated church and it is beautiful. So if you're thinking to yourself, no place could be this good, then I do have one negative. I had rice pilaf instead of a potato and although it tasted good, it was sticky but nothing I couldn't deal with; assuming this means it was overcooked slightly. Our server, Mitch, was patient and took time answering our questions about the menu and explained food and drinks very nicely. Prices are a bit on the high side (but what isn't these days) so will consider this a special treat place for future nights out.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BurgWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
570 reviews
462 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Impressed”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Excellent service, nice atmosphere, very good food. That adds up to a nice dinner. Had Scallops for appetizer, they were yummy, but thought there should have been 4 verses 3. It's ok to char a rib eye but a filet should not be. But both were tasty. Drinks reasonably priced. Plan to go back soon

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank withvalidity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Too Bad”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Great structure, good staff, poor quality of food. Most was overcooked, or was too salty.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank lacrosse f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pogreba Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pogreba Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing