We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location - nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Certificate of Excellence
Valley Springs, SD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location - nice rooms”
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We stayed at this hotel to just take it easy and walk around the historic downtown. The weather wasn't great so we spent a lot of time in our room relaxing. The room was nice - nothing fancy but we weren't expecting that so worked great. Location is really good - not a far walk from bars, restaurants, or shopping. Nice riverview rooms. Was neat to watch the barges go by.
The only thing I was disappointed in was the breakfast. I believe it was $9.95 per person for breakfast buffet. Don't know what happend to Courtyard's free breakfast but I would never pay this for a hotel breakfast. Lots of great restaurants you can walk to for cheaper. Try Fayze's - short walk away with excellent food at reasonable prices!
I would definitely recommend the Courtyard to anyone staying in LaCrosse!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajc57068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    85
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
53
69
12
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

A nice place to stay. No free breakfast though. Beds were comfy and clean. The view from the window on the river side was very nice. I mean, it is a dirty shipping river, but fun for kids if there is a lot of river traffic.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilbertson-fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADISON
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Had a TERRIBLE experience at the Holiday Inn down the street, came over here and it was fabulous! Friendly and helpful staff and a room with a wonderful view. Will drfinitely go back again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoraKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

We stayed at the Courtyard, two nights from Oct.15, it was a very delightful experience-we had a river view room, which has been renovated-the room was clean, well appointed, spacious with a great view of the Mississippi-it really was a treat to sit and look over the bright autumn sun, watch the boats speeding by or the tug boats lazing over.
The staff was friendly, helpful, professional. I left my jacket in the lobby, I called, a young woman answered the phone, they had the jacket, and just sent it FedEx the very next day. The lobby is not huge, but, it was nice to sit there watch, the Badgers beat the Buckeyes!

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alumnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2010

My husband and I booked a King jacuzzi room with a "partial river view".. This was booked at least 6 weeks in advance. However when we got there to check in at approximately 430 (check-in is 300) we were told that those rooms were first come first serve. What is a reservation for if you aren't getting what you're supposed to be paying for? Bait and switch anyone? Considering we chose this hotel for it's view being that it is higher priced than the nicer holiday inn nearby. We still stayed being that we wanted a night away being that my husband is deploying for afghanistan in 3 days.
The room was outdated... Furniture very worn. Bedding looked like it had been washed hundreds of times, very faded and just looked drab. The whirlpool left little to be desired... I've seen better at the super 8. It needed more cleaning around the edges as did the shower and toilet. There was dirt under the overlay on the bed. The whirlpool was so loud that you were unable to hear the tv in the room without cranking it to the highest volume. Then at a approximately midnight there was terrible noise for about a half hour that sounded like very poor plumbing. Made it difficult to sleep. The only view we had was of the underside of the big blue bridge. All this for a whopping total of $215 a night.... We were not impressed at all.... The one and only good thing was a comfortable bed even though it needed better pillows and bedding. Overall it was a very sad looking room.
I wouldn't recommend a stay at this hotel to anyone. This hotel gives the Marriott name a bad reputation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deepseaangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2010

This hotel was spotless and all of the staff that I encountered we very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougBremer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
'Merican
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Tiny pool. Small, old rooms. Courtyard is supposed to be one of Marriotts nicer properties?

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlbum18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#3 of 20 in La Crosse
936 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
0.4 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#2 of 20 in La Crosse
1,389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront

Property: Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront
Address: 500 Front St S, La Crosse, WI 54601-4011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Crosse
#3 Business Hotel in La Crosse
#3 Family Hotel in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly renovated Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse is perfectly located in Downtown La Crosse on the banks of the Mississippi River. Offering a fresh, vibrant and newly renovated everything. Featuring the new Bistro restaurant, 24 hour market, pool and whirlpool, free parking, internet and friendly staff. We welcome you to share all we have to offer with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront Hotel
La Crosse Marriott
La Crosse Courtyard
Courtyard La Crosse Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing