We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful weekend on the Mississippi!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in La Crosse
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend on the Mississippi!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Staff was great, view fantastic! We love the river view as that is the reason we come to la crosse. When booking, we could not get the river view but due to a cancellation, we were able to be moved. Thank you so much. When seeing our view, we called the desk and asked for delivery suggestions which was very helpful. We ate 1/2 of our meals in front of our big window with the view on our table by the window. We use the bistro to order food also and the quality of food was very good and will be doing this again at our next stay at The Courtyard. Can't wait to return. La crosse is on the top of drive able destinations because of Mississippi views. We love the boardwalk and River Park. See you soon Courtyard. Hope you have our favorite room available.

Room Tip: We love the river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JEH65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy P, General Manager at Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear JEH65,

It's so great to hear that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel and loved our location and the service you recieved! We are also pleased to hear you enjoyed the Bistro so much!

We welcome you back to enjoy the view and La Crosse anytime!

Thank you again,

Amy Penchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    83
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
49
68
12
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gales Ferry, CT
Level Contributor
279 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

I stayed here for four nights on business. Downtown La Crosse was quite a nice surprise, with many interesting shops and restaurants. The Courtyard is right on the river, right next to the main bridge. It is convenient to walk to nearby restaurants and the nearby arts center, Room are usual high quality to Courtyard standards. There is a unique glassed in pool that overlooks the river, as well as a nice patio, which is a great place to sit in the evening and watch the considerable boat traffic (but also to hear the traffic noise on the bridge. The desk staff was particularly friendly in welcoming you every time you entered or left and helpful in recommending good places to eat. All in all it was a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oompahdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy P, General Manager at Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for the great review oompah Dave! By the sound of your name, it appears you should come back and enjoy us on a non-work related trip over Oktoberfest! We'd love to have you!

Whether it's on business or a leisure trip, we try to make all of our guests comfortable, productive and satisfied.

Hope to see you return soon!

Kind Regards,

Amy Penchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Was 3 of use on motor cycle got to park under canopy room was very clean had a river view and was great. Going back soon to stay again looking forward to 2 nights this time going to see what the town has to offer

Room Tip: Try to get river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy P, General Manager at Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Gerald R,

Thank you for the perfect score and review on Trip Advisor! .

We do try to cater to our motorcycle guests and their bikes by giving them premium parking up front so we can keep an eye on their investments so they can rest easy when staying with us.

We appreciate our guest's feedback and are so glad to hear you'll be back for an even longer stay next time!

See you soon!

Amy Penchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
189 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Very clean, modern and comfortable rooms.
Nice views as the hotel is right on the Mississippi River.
Great check-in welcome, mice hotel overall, I would definitely stay again if in the area.
Now let's talk Bistro restaurant, can I say "train wreck".
OMG they were very slow and disorganized they were running out of things and it took 'forever' to get our coffee.
SKIP THE BISTRO
Marriott really has a nice Bistro concept, but you can't run a restaurant this way!
Please learn how to deliver on the food or get out of the food business

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy P, General Manager at Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Tmam70,

Thank you for the email note and Trip advisor review noting your experiences this past weekend in our hotel and Bistro. I'm happy to see that you were pleased with the accommodations.

I'm very sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing experience in our Bistro. Our Manager on Duty did inform me that we had a good sized "rush" around the same time you attempted to get your coffee. The team did their best. I'm sorry you didn't see us at our best and hope you return again to give us another try.

Kind Regards,


Amy C. Penchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

This Courtyard has a great location and a great,great staff. Parking is provided, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel is not in the middle of downtown, but it's an easy walk to everything else, especially the convention center. Driving -- the hotel is easy in and out, and back on the road the next day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy P, General Manager at Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear PaulGK,

Thank you for your informative and helpful review of our property on TripAdvisor!. You are right on about our location being close but still quiet and the free, easy parking situation we have that is complimentary. I couldn't say it better myself!

We also appreciate the kudos you offered to our team. We pride ourselves in friendly, sincere and thoughtful service for our guests. I'm glad to see that's what you recieved.

We welcome you back anytime to enjoy our location, service and hotel!

Kind Regards,

Amy Penchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Hotel is very clean and staff was very pleasant. Patio on the river is nice and my kids loved the pool. We watched July 4th fireworks and it was great, they even had nice surprises for the kids. Service in bistro was also very good.

Room Tip: We were on 1st floor which made a nice short walk to bistro and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chickmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy P, General Manager at Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Chickmann,

Thank you so much for the super review on Tripadvisor! We appreciate your comments and feedback and are very happy to hear you enjoyed the 4th of July at our hotel!

I have come to find, working at this hotel for the past 14 years, it is truly the best night of the year for the team and our guests. Everyone has a great time and we love being here to serve our guests and enjoy the holiday festivities and fireworks. I hope your family can join us again next year!

Kind Regards,

Amy Penchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

The parking was free, which is a nice perk for a downtown hotel. It is located right where the river walk begins which is a nice amenity for this river front town. There are restaurants and river boat tours within easy walking distance. All of the river front hotels are expensive. The rooms were starkly decorated, very modern, but clean and quiet. One of the downsides is that there is not breakfast included in the room price. There is a Starbucks/Bistro on the property, but that would be a pricey option for a family stay to eat in the morning. There is at least coffee in the room, always a plus to start the day. We did not use the pool, but it looked to be very nice.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Minnesota42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy P, General Manager at Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Minnesota42,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property on TripAdvisor! We appreciate our guest's experience and take their comments and insights seriously.

I'm glad you found our free off street parking helpful. I'm sorry you didn't give the Bistro a try for breakfast as we do have reasonable items like parfaits, smoothies and pastries available to purchase as well as a nice kids menu which is not displayed on the board. Maybe next time...

Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Amy Penchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#3 of 19 in La Crosse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
0.4 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#1 of 19 in La Crosse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront

Property: Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront
Address: 500 Front St S, La Crosse, WI 54601-4011
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Crosse
#3 Business Hotel in La Crosse
#3 Family Hotel in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly renovated Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse is perfectly located in Downtown La Crosse on the banks of the Mississippi River. Offering a fresh, vibrant and newly renovated everything. Featuring the new Bistro restaurant, 24 hour market, pool and whirlpool, free parking, internet and friendly staff. We welcome you to share all we have to offer with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront Hotel
La Crosse Marriott
La Crosse Courtyard
Courtyard La Crosse Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing