We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“crappy attitude”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“crappy attitude”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

When checking in last weekend I was told right off the bat that the hotel was sold out. I was also told that since I was using Reward Points, there were no upgrades available. I was told the only room was across from a meeting room which was being used to store bikes and had numerous people going in and out and talking right outside the room. Plus the window was right next to the front door and the circle drive. Also in my profile, I always request a high floor. Why there was NO EFFORT to satisfy my reservation, I do not know.
When I complained, I was told the only other room I could have was wheelchair accessable. I gladly accepted as it was better than the worst room in the house they had me in before. However, the beds in those rooms are also not the normal Marriott beds and when I took a shower the entire bathroom floor got wet as there is not a normal shower. Just a hand shower in a tiled room with a plastic curtain.
I find it impossilble to believe that every room in the hotel was already take when I checked in at 4pm. Oh and did I say, I have been a Platinum Elite member for many years and spend 200+ nights on the road. This was by far the worst experiance I have had.
Don't expect much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCoupleSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley H, Front Office Manager at Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am very sorry that your stay was less than expected. I can certainly understand the frustration of having simple requests that were not met. We do our very best to honor requests and to provide upgrades to our Elite guests whenever possible; however, sometimes despite our best efforts, it is simply not possible to meet the requests of all of our guests. I am sorry that we were not able to give you a higher floor room. At check-in, the front desk clerk was trying to convey that we would very much liked to have given you, a platinum guest with a rewards stay, a complimentary upgrade, but because we were sold out, we were unable to do so. I apologize that this was not communicated in an effective way and came off as sounding uncaring.

We would welcome any specific comments about the bed in the accessible room where you slept. These are the same beds that we have throughout our property, but if there is an issue with the bed that you slept on, we would certainly welcome the opportunity to have it corrected.

I apologize that the only rooms we had to offer you were a noisy first floor room and an accessible room with a walk in shower. Hopefully, you will allow us the oportunity on a future stay to prove to you how much we value our platinum guests.

Sincerely,
the front office manager at the La Crosse, WI Courtyard by Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    85
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
55
69
12
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Audubon, Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

WE loved the outside seating and fire pit,they did shut lights and fire pit off and bar closed early for some weekend guests, It was nice to see boaters going on the river .Bar and morning breakfast not complementary, and some what limited and priced kind of high but very good. STARBUCKS COFFEE bar was great but price was too, AN option of eating downtown was offered by many of the businesses close to the hotel offered a nice verity of choices ,Piggy"s was a fine place for Dinner or breakfast,and drinks ,it is just a few steps away from the hotel.The staff was helpful and nice,The Hotel was not real large,and nice decorated,very new look.The bed was very confartable and room clean and nice,restroom was a little small.The room we had was more a mini suit street side.Air conditioner worked real well and very quiet.The mini frig only stayed on 2 hours but Ice could be used for our cooler

Room Tip: the rooms on the river side are said to be much larger but more money ,our room was very nice ,cooli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I had the pleasure to spend a night at this hotel - it was excellent!! The staff were very friendly, hotel was modern and in great condition, and our room was great. Very clean, and we were upgraded to a riverview room. I was very happy with pretty much everything! Only downside was the lineup for the Bistro (Starbucks) in the lobby - only one barista was working at the time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel is located right on the river in downtown La Crosse. We enjoyed dinner at the next door Piggy's restaurant and took a relaxing stroll along the riverside walk to the adjacent park with its fountains, flowers and statuary. Our check-in was efficient and friendly. Our (upgraded) room was spacious, with a view over the river. The pool is smallish and located in a space that also has river views. It was rather cold when we used it early in the morning. I don't like the Courtyard/Starbucks bar/serveries, but this one was well run, with relaxed bar service and efficiency in the morning. The bar looks out onto the river, and there is an outside seating area on the river.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alveric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
345 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this place based off reviews and the staff suggesting they are the "only" hotel on the water. The place is not on the water and you have to walk to the park about 75 Yards away to the right to get your water experience. This is a very busy waterfront with other hotels such as the Radisson also adjacent to the front. The location is ideal..you can walk to Qwik Trip as well as many food places. If you stay here you should use points, miles or make sure you get a good discounted rate. Even the AAA rate isn't much. There is no free breakfast. There is free parking and free internet. The staff is very helpful. Especially the grave yard shift gentlemen. He loves his jobs and is very knowledgeable of the area!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the water. The traffic on the entrance and the restaurant across the street may wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdreynoldsjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nice Marriott on the river. I am from the La Crosse area but stayed here for pleasure with the family over the weekend. I've stayed in dozen's of Marriott's as an Elite member and this hotel is modern and clean, rooms are of avg size, and the bathrooms are smaller than expected. Front desk service is friendly and helpful and the kids loved the pool. The cafe is overpriced for below avg food but had a nice patio overlooking the Mississippi.

We only had two issues... We requested a cot for our 2 yr old. Upon opening it during bedtime, we found soiled sheets and someone's old clothes still in it. This gave me the creepy-crawlies so we called the front desk and they changed the linens. In addition, after further inspection of the room we found an old pacifier under the curtains. These two issues were not a deal-breaker but it made me feel the cleaning standards at this property are below standard and easily overlooked.

Usually the front desk offers some bonus points for inconveniences like this, but I was not offered any.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ntwkstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
185 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

In LaCrosse for a 2-day business trip. I'm partial to Marriott properties and this one was very nice. Clean, well-kept and the staff was fantastic. This one was about 2 long blocks from the convention center where my meeting was. My room (3rd floor) was quiet and comfortable. Both the WiFi and Wired net services were very fast and reliable with very easy login and no dropped connections during large uploads/downloads.

The staff were exceptional: From the cleaning staff to the font desk for making recommendations for dinner, all were cheerful and helpful. Kudos to all!

My only "cons" associated with the hotel were (1) it was kind of pricey for a Courtyard (in excess of $200/night total) and (2) no free breakfast. Competing brands from other major hotel chains (not as close to the convention center though) are a bit less expensive and offered some freebies for business folks to get their day going, like some kind of food (even fruity would be satisfactory) and coffee. (C'mon, folks, even full-service Marriott properties in convention cities have lobby coffee available!)

Even with the minor "cons" I still highly recommend the property.

Room Tip: If you can, get a river-view one. Awesome view in the morning as the sun comes from behind you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#3 of 20 in La Crosse
974 reviews
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton La Crosse
0.4 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#1 of 20 in La Crosse
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
0.6 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront

Property: Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront
Address: 500 Front St S, La Crosse, WI 54601-4011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Crosse
#3 Business Hotel in La Crosse
#3 Family Hotel in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly renovated Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse is perfectly located in Downtown La Crosse on the banks of the Mississippi River. Offering a fresh, vibrant and newly renovated everything. Featuring the new Bistro restaurant, 24 hour market, pool and whirlpool, free parking, internet and friendly staff. We welcome you to share all we have to offer with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront Hotel
La Crosse Marriott
La Crosse Courtyard
Courtyard La Crosse Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing