We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Disappointing Courtyard” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in La Crosse
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing Courtyard”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had seen the Courtyard on a previous trip into La Crosse and it looked like a great place to stay. Newer looking property, on the river, restaurants very close - all looked good. So on my last trip into La Crosse, I tried it.
The service is fine and the property is clean. Nice quiet location. But wait, the rooms! This was my second hotel in one week where you could barely walk into the bathroom and close the door because the space is TINY. I mean tiny, like it will give a normal person claustrophobia. The toilet and tub are in one very small space, and the extremely small vanity is outside the door. The sleeping area is on the small side also. I am Marriott Gold, so I have to assume I got at least an average room. The architect who designed this place should lose his/her license. And one more complaint, there is no door on the closet. Really Marriott, is this the best you can do?
If all you care about is a clean place with a great location, try it. If you expect a decent sized and well designed room, go elsewhere. I will.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EscapingSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    84
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
52
69
12
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times already. We stayed someplace else one visit; not as good! The rooms are nice; all updated within the past year; the beds very very comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful. Meals are good. We will return as we have family in LaCrosse now. There is a lot to do int his area. I normally travel with hubby; but my last trip was solo. I did not use the spa or room service.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room I've stayed 3 different locations; they've all been go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAR1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

In town for the easter weekend. Planned to stay at the radisson riverfront but it was booked due to a concert so they recommended the Courtyard a couple blocks away. Bit more expensive (199 v 129) but it waas very nice. Modern inside, pool and gym centrally locatesD in hotel with deli like eating and bar area overlooking the river. Quiet and clean. Friendly staff?
Recommend dinner at Piggys across the street and breakfast at fayzes. Take the car a short drive to granddads bluff to look out over the city and river

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madser2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in a location not far from several good restaurant options. Rooms were updated and extremely nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. This is not a 'discount hotel' but I found it to be well worth it. Overall, a great place to stay in La Crosse.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLU86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
258 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Courtyard is a clean and friendly hotel. The staff was accommodating and the location was good. We were there for a basketball tournament. It fit our needs well. If you are traveling with a large group there is not a lot of space to hang out in the lobby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abmilw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, WI
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in the recently renovated hotel. The sink area is a bit small and the closet is a bit tight, but adequate. Would like a place to lay my suitcase other than the floor. But the desk is great. An empty fridge to old wine. The bed was very comfortable. The new restaurant for breakfast ( no dinner or lunch service) is a great improvement over the old. Very helpful staff that remembers everyone.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MeqonTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
242 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Interior Decor: Standard Courtyard - bright Mediterranean color and tone
Exterior Appearance: Closest hotel on the Mississippi River shore, almost under the bridge in downtown La Crosse. Prime location in the city.
Outside view from the room: Superb! Mississippi River
Room size: Approximately 45 square meters. Generously big.
Price value: New Year's Eve price? A bit overpriced cost of living in the city even though it's a prime location in the city.
Service: Friendly staffs. Thanks for working hard on New Year's Eve and New Year's Day.
Bed: Medium softness - King size. Slept good.
Room - No microwave oven

Guest Laundry: $1.50 wash, $1.00 dryer, complementary detergent and fabric softner sheets

Room Tip: Get a review view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank setotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#3 of 19 in La Crosse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
0.6 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#2 of 19 in La Crosse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
2.8 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront

Property: Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront
Address: 500 Front St S, La Crosse, WI 54601-4011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in La Crosse
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Crosse
#3 Business Hotel in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly renovated Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse is perfectly located in Downtown La Crosse on the banks of the Mississippi River. Offering a fresh, vibrant and newly renovated everything. Featuring the new Bistro restaurant, 24 hour market, pool and whirlpool, free parking, internet and friendly staff. We welcome you to share all we have to offer with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront Hotel
La Crosse Marriott
La Crosse Courtyard
Courtyard La Crosse Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing