We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch stop!”

Dublin Square Irish Pub & Eatery
Ranked #5 of 202 Restaurants in La Crosse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Traditional Irish pub & eatery located on 3rd and Main in downtown La Crosse, WI. Great place to watch sports, watch live music, hang out with friends, eat delicious food, and participate in good conversation. We're all a wee bit Irish at Dublin Square. Stop in and see for yourself! Recently voted Best Burger in La Crosse. Took Runner-up in Best Bloody Mary, Best International/Regional Cuisine, and Best Outdoor Dining.
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great lunch stop!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stopped here while traveling through based on the recommendation of friends. All around excellent! The service was very attentive, the atmosphere was relaxed and the food was excellent. There is a nice combination of traditional Irish fare and healthy options like broiled fish and a veggie wrap, which we had. They recommend beers for pairing in their menu, a nice touch. I look forward to going back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IowaTraveler925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt B, Owner at Dublin Square Irish Pub & Eatery, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you very much for the compliments and the feedback on your recent visit at Dublin Square! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    124
    33
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wow - Best Fish & Chips!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Visited La Crosse over the Thanksgiving holiday with my 82 yr old mom. While we enjoyed our Thanksgiving Day meal at the Radisson, we were far more wowed with our meal the following day at Dublin Square Irish Pub & Eatery. I was pleasantly surprised because I'm not generally a fan of sport's bars; they're usually too noisy for my taste. Rather than being too noisy, Dublin Square was festive and lively. Our meal was an absolute delight. We ordered fish & chips and Ole Shepherd's Pie. Both were outstanding. The service was terrific. The fish & chips were extraordinary -- the fish was beautifully breaded, light rather than heavy, and the fish was fresh and flaky. I haven't had such great fish & chips since I was in England years ago. Loved the Shepherd's Pie too. Appreciated the ease of parking in the free ramp next door. Looking forward to returning!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt B, Owner at Dublin Square Irish Pub & Eatery, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you very much for the review! We are glad you enjoyed your time at Dublin Square! Hopefully we will see you again soon. Slainte!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A great Irish Pub for breakfast, lunch, dinner, drinks”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Dublin Square has quickly become a go-to when we are looking to eat out in La Crosse. The Bar & Grill atmosphere is great with many large TVs to watch sporting events, outdoor seating in a great people-watching area of downtown La Crosse, and interior that has divided seating if you are just stopping by for a drink at the bar, or looking for more of a sit-down separate kid-friendly area. The entree offerings are very Irish, and include things like Shepard's Pie, Guinness Beef Stew, Rueben Boxtys, Fish & Chips, Bangers and Mash, etc. If you are looking for breakfast, it is served all day and part of the regular menu. The Jameson Bread Pudding is AMAZING. If you're just looking for standard bar food, customized burgers, chicken sandwiches and wraps are also all on the menu. Don't forget the great side choices as well - Mac & Cheese and Sweet Potato Fries are my favorites!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OutsideTheBoxTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt B, Owner at Dublin Square Irish Pub & Eatery, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your review on your recent visit to Dublin Square! We are thrilled that you had an enjoyable experience. We are looking foward to having you visit us again soon. Have a great holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great place”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

To get together with old friends and meet new ones. The best meal of the trip. Great friendly staff willing to accommodate us. Avery fun night

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SuefromVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt B, Owner at Dublin Square Irish Pub & Eatery, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you kindly for your recent visit to Dublin Square and for your post about your experience. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good place to eat lunch”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a busy little eatery located in the center of downtown laCrosse, Wi. Often abuzz with activity, it has indoor and outdoor dining available. The menu is a variety of foods for all . There is a bar located at the front of the pub with tvs and a couple of bar tables around it.

I recommend this venue for luck. prices are reasonable. Atmosphere is "irish-themed" - restaurant is very dark; not bright and cheery place to dine if that is what you are looking for.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SAMICAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt B, Owner at Dublin Square Irish Pub & Eatery, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback and comments from your recent visit to Dublin Square! We appreciate your business and hope you will be returning soon. We will keep your comment on our restaurant being dark in consideration. We do tend to darken it up in the evening to make it a more intimate setting. Have a great day and thank you once again for your recent visit and for taking the time to give us feedback.

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dublin Square Irish Pub & Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Dublin Square Irish Pub & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing