We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I had a very pleasant stay at the Holiday Inn in La Crosse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Indianapolis
1 review
“I had a very pleasant stay at the Holiday Inn in La Crosse”
Reviewed April 20, 2010

My room was clean and pleasant. Spent an enjoyable morning just relaxing and reading. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Enjoyed walking around the town and the river.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddelrega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    72
    51
    36
    43
See reviews for
65
57
17
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
midwest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

1st - you get charged $3 for parking
2nd - you are downtown "Party Central" for La Crosse, be ready to hear everyone coming home at bar time (walls are thin).
3rd - Needs to be updated: carpet it worn, furniture looks well used and abused.
4th - workout facility about the size of a dorm room. No weights. Pool did look nice, but did not use it.

For the money I do not think it was worth it. Newer hotels near by, that INCLUDE parking and breakfast for about the same amount of money!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maducky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Crosse hotels

middleton, wi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

I haven't ever reviewed a hotel (either positive or negative). I felt compelled to inform the public of how horrible this hotel's staff is. The maintenance man called our kids "little [--]" the front desk staff and general manager should not be working with the public. Never stay at this hotel unless you're looking for a horrible experience! The staff could care a less about your stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank designaccents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trortvedt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse, responded to this review, February 18, 2010
The guest explained that our sales manger of three years and who gives property tours of the hotel told her that the room she booked would accommodate 8 kids and two adults and had enclosed master bedroom. She was irate that Catherine told her this. I explained that Catherine is our sales person and gives several tours of our property and is very familiar with our rooms. She cut me off and said "so you are calling me a liar? I love being called a liar" and stormed off. My conversation lasted about 6 seconds with the guest. She did not want to talk about matter.

As far as calling her children profanities, her children were running in the lobby and popping our electronic doors in the morning and our front desk person asked them to "please stop doing that" Our maintenance staff was not even near the desk. If that is what she is referring to nobody used profanity to stop her children from misbehaving.

She did tell our desk staff at check in that she called several hotels and took detailed notes. Possibly she talked to another hotel and confused the room types? She said she made a reservation at the Raddison but the desk clerk told her that he did not think the Raddison would have that room type either but offered to help find it. He wasn't sure who in the downtown La Crosse area even had this room type. She became very upset and started yelling at the desk person again. He said that he could not offer this room type but suggested two connecting rooms with two queen beds. She then wanted the rooms for free and she was told that she would not get the rooms for free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2009

We stayed here for a wedding this past weekend. While the hotel was conveniently located, there was not much else to redeem it. Granted my husband and I tend to stay at higher end brands, but we expected that at least a Holiday Inn would provide for some consistency in terms of service and quality. The reservations process had a few hiccups, check in was less than friendly, the hotel was tired and dated...I wouldn't recommend this property and were I to need a hotel in the area again, I would definitely look elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiggerama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
133 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for one night passing through to Green Bay. Very good location, close to shopping. Front desk girl was very pleasant to deal with. This hotel needs to do some serious repairs to the property. Doors are in poor shape, had to really pull hard to close our door. Everything appears to be run down. I went down the stairwell and there was a lot of dirt and debris in the stairwell. Breakfast was OK. Older TV's and the maid was at the door early to clean the room. We stay at several HI Express Hotels every year and this one does not match what we believe to be the standard this hotel chain usually is at.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank don38506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
50onthego
Level Contributor
141 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

But nothing great. Could hear the little kid in the room next door. Could hear the traffic on the street. As another reviewer noted, perhaps they consider dirty trays lining the hallways an artistic touch???? The ones outside our room started to stink very badly after day 2.

A maid in our hallway began knocking on nearby doors early in the morning proclaiming "housekeeping"....which I really hate. It was 8:00 a.m. Thankfully, I was already up.

Cleanliness...o.k.

I would not rule this hotel out. The location is EXCELLENT if you want to be close to everything....absolutely excellent. The Radisson might be another consideration....I would try that next time I'm in La Crosse. This place isn't bad...it's just vanilla.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50onthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Service here was great - they checked us in early (by 3 hours) and upgraded us to a suite. The room wasn't anything too special but the bed was very comfy. We smelled some neighbors partaking in some "illegal activity" - which came through our vents and called the front desk. They offered to move us to another room right away and also came and checked out the smell. But it wan't a deal-breaker.

Best part was the location. Across the street from The Pearl ice cream shop which is amazing, across the street from The La Crosse Center which is great if you're visiting for a wedding or a show. Perfect location for going out on 3rd street which is right by all the bars.

Worst part? Slightly overpriced for being La Crosse, Wisconsin, but worth it for the location if you'll be going out at night and don't want to drive home. Oh, and the restaurant for breakfast was horribly slow. They had one waitress and one cook for a Sunday morning.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahnohr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton La Crosse
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#3 of 20 in La Crosse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#2 of 20 in La Crosse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
0.4 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
0.3 mi away
Courtyard La Crosse Downtown/Mississippi Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Address: 200 Pearl St, La Crosse, WI 54601-3216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - LaCrosse. We are proud to offer a non-smoking environment in all our guest rooms. A great night's sleep is ensured on our new Simmons Plush Beautyrest World Class mattresses in our NEWLY RENOVATED hotel. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites is located 1 block east of the Mississippi River, in the heart of historic downtown La Crosse. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites has 114 rooms with free high-speed wireless Internet access, and 27 inch TVs with over 70 cable channels. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - LaCrosse, offers its guests an indoor pool, over-sized whirlpool, fitness center, guest laundry service, and complimentary shuttle service to and from transportation centers & clinics. The hotel also has a lobby business center with wireless Internet access, PC, printer and FAX machine, as well as a 500 sq. ft. meeting room located just off the hotel lobby. Burger Fusion is the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites' unique restaurant and lounge; open for breakfast, lunch & dinner, Burger Fusion features gourmet burgers, mac n cheese, and shakes. The La Crosse Convention Center directly across the street offers a connecting skywalk. Major medical centers & colleges, Trane Co., City Brewery & our own Oktoberfest, make La Crosse a great destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn La Crosse Hotel La Crosse
La Crosse Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing