We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Having a great time with Grand Kids”

Children's Museum of La Crosse
Ranked #7 of 30 things to do in La Crosse
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Learning and fun...Rolled into one! Three floors of hands-on exhibits, climbing wall (wall hours vary--call ahead), gift shop PLUS birthday parties, summer day camps, preschool programs and more. For ages 1-10 with adult.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking, Stairs / elevator
Onalaska
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Having a great time with Grand Kids”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Not much to dislike about the Children's Museum. The kids had a great learning experience and had a lot of fun. They have asked to visit the Museum again on their next trip to La Crosse.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    26
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a 1 year old!”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I wasn't sure my 13 month old would stay interested in the museum, but she walked all over looking at things! The tubes set up on the main level where you can put pieces of fabric in and have them blow out was a huge hit!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank luvt0travel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, mn
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Kids always enjoy”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The kids have always enjoyed this place when we took them and they were younger. Never had any issues with the location or the workers.

Helpful?
Thank Rattlebones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun for a few hours on a rainy day”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I took my boys age 8 and 6 to the museum this winter. The highlight was the two story climbing wall. They also enjoyed the mocked up Kwik Trip where they could shop and scan groceries. Only disappointment was that they were limited to three climbs on the wall even though there were no other children using the area, the climbing wall was staffed and they had nothing else to do, but wouldn't let the boys climb after they had their three turns. This seemed fairly ridiculous! The museum overall is probably best for kids 3-6 years old and is a great energy burn when the weather doesn't cooperate.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank NicMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunMuseum, Manager at Children's Museum of La Crosse, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
We're glad you enjoyed the Children's Museum of La Crosse and the Mt. Le Kid climbing wall when you visited in February. On busy days, it is a challenge to allow all interested kids a chance to climb while they're here, so we started a three-turns-per-climber rule. Since your visit, we have told our wall staff that they can relax that rule on less busy days. We hope you'll visit again if you're in the La Crosse area. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crescent, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Loved all of it. Everyone should take a kid and go.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Museum of La Crosse also viewed

 

Been to Children's Museum of La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing