We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Were wonderful in our emergency”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites La Crosse
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were in a bind as we didn't know of a good place to stay in La Crosse. We usually stay with family but it was going to be packed with family for a funeral. I was quoted a good rate. We arrived yesterday afternoon and our car acted up the minute we pulled into to parking lot. I went in to register and the young man behind the counter could see something was wrong and he helped me out immensely, looking up car places for us to call. He didn't have to do that. I went to the room which was very clean, neat and relaxing. The car was repaired, went to visitation and came back to a nice quiet night at Candlewood. I highly reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jv50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrkhughes, General Manager at Candlewood Suites La Crosse, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor! We really appreciate hearing any feedback our guests may have on how we are doing. I'm sorry you had to stay with us under the circumstances you did but am glad you were able to relax and rest up. We're more than happy to assist with any issues there may be even if it is car related and like to help our guests in any way we are able. I hope you'll think of us if you're ever in the La Crosse area again. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 122 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

These Candlewood Suites are very clean and comfortable. The bed was extremely comfortable and the suite itself is perfect. The suites are a nice size, the bathroom was squeaky clean new; granite countertops throughout the kitchen and bathroom. There is a nice lawn in the back of the building for walking the dog as the entire property is pet friendly. It is just a short ride downtown where you will find nice pubs and restaurants. Also, there is a large grocery store within walking distance of the hotel if needed. I highly recommend this hotel/suite complex.

Room Tip: There is a "kitchen cupboard" honor system store on the main level. It also features a ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunworshipper3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Comfortable mattresses. Wonderful sheets. Immaculate kitchen and bathroom. Great service. Decent value. Good location. Very quiet- easy to get a good night's sleep.

The only thing that could be improved upon is that we reserved a room with a couch in it, but ended up in one with a recliner chair instead of the couch. Not a huge deal. But...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlustMBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This hotel would be a good choice for any one going to LaCrosse. Good location,
Very clean, kitchen in the room with everything that you need to cook a meal.
Nice towels, comfortable beds and very nice sheets. We liked it. hopefully you will to

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank 112,257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

My family stayed in two rooms for 5 days. People at the front desk were friendly and helpful. Rooms were ok, and quiet. Bathroom was good. Both rooms had a large refrigerator with a stove and microwave, so that you could cook your own meals if you want (a Festival grocery store is only a block away). The hotel doesn't have a standard free breakfast like many. They do have a pantry with various items in it, but the only free thing is coffee. The location is in North La Crosse, just past the bridge over the La Crosse River (and a very nice bike trail there). The downside is that there are really no good restaurants near the hotel. For breakfast, the best nearby choice is a Perkins, north about a mile away. There are a couple Chinese restaurants nearby that are ok, and a sub place and burritto place next to the hotel. Otherwise, you need to go to downtown La Crosse. This is a good choice for an extended stay (especially for business travelers) -- especially if you cook your own meals, and the price is much more resonable than the downtown La Crosse hotels. Also, note that maid service only occurs once per week - you can go to the front desk and exchange towels if you want.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel (not facing the highway) are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wtrav77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

The decor of the rooms is nice, bed is comfortable and all the appliances seem to work well. Nicely appointed gym and free(!) laundry room. Very good for longer stays. As others have mentioned, the sound-proofing is not the best. I shared a wall with the gym and was awakened two days in a row by someone on the treadmill on the other side of the wall. The 2nd time, I pounded on the wall, and apparently they heard me, because they stopped! WiFi works well and there is a decent cable selection. I and others in my party were annoyed to find a $700 hold on the credit cards we had given for incidentals when the rooms were pre-paid by our companies. We're notdrug-addled rock stars or juveniles. I think it would be difficult for us to rack up that kind of a bill in two weeks, especially when there is a large grocery store within walking distance. If somebody improved the property across the street, it might actually have a nice view. There is a little pond in back. The barbecue are is a nice touch that I haven't seen at other hotels like it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TIM1534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I stayed at the Candlewood Suites for a month and the hotel was fantastic. The staff were always helpful and the hotel was very quiet. Housekeeping did a job of keeping the room clean. The location is a short distance from downtown and the universities. In addition, there is a large grocery store that is short walk, without having to cross any traffic. I strongly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shacker06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrkhughes, Manager at Candlewood Suites La Crosse, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Candlewood Suites! More and more travelers are relying on honest reviews from previous guests when making their hotel selections, and I can't thank you enough for contributing to our hotel's reviews. I'm glad that you experienced the great guest service and clean, comfortable suites that we pride ourselves on. Many of our guests really enjoy our proximity to Festival Foods as well as downtown. Thank you again for your kind words and I hope you choose us in the future during your time in La Crosse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
1.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton La Crosse
0.5 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
0.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#4 of 20 in La Crosse
1,065 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#1 of 20 in La Crosse
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites La Crosse

Address: 56 Copeland Ave, La Crosse, WI 54603-3401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range: $123 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites La Crosse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites La Crosse Hotel La Crosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing