We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honestly, not that bad.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 La Crosse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super 8 La Crosse
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in La Crosse
Madison,WI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Honestly, not that bad.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2009

We stayed 2 nights for a wedding. The rooms were clean and came with a fridge, microwave and table and chairs. Lobby, pool, breakfast area, and rooms were well maintained. And, the pool was open 24 hours!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haveagoodtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    108
    106
    85
    44
See reviews for
177
96
29
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2008

Stayed at the Super 8 Lacrosse the weekend of 10/18/08 for 2 nights. I travel for my job and was not expecting much from a Super 8 since it is a motel. Pikced it since I had friends living just 2 blocks away. Next time I'll just drive a bit and stay at better motel in the Lacrosse area.

All I ask is that things be clean, which should not be that difficult! The hotel lobby and overall decor is way outdated which you can live with but dirty and dusty come on! The carpeting was dark black with maroon florals, walls were forest green.

Front desk staff were very friendly.

Housekeeping and breakfast area staff need to get additional training on how to clean.

Rooms - nice size room, nice refrigerator, bedding was very thin, worn out , torn blanket, flat pillows, mushy worn mattresses. If housekeeping did their job the rooms wouldn't of been that bad. Dust around tv armoire, carpeting not vacumed, lamp shades full of dust, human hair beard clippings on sink area, top of shower stall layer of dust. Coffee pot left dirty with no coffee to repace for next day, lets just say keep your socks on when walking on the carpet. Sink outside the bathroom in the main part of the room , which was just filthy, used some clorox wipes to clean it myself. The actual bathroom just has the the tub and toilet. Guest room window was dirty and off the track very poor quality, can't imagine it keeping the cold out in the winter months. At least everything in the room was functional and did work.

Breakfast area - very dull and drab, free continetal breakfast which was good, several kinds of juice, good coffee, bagels, pastries, cereal waffles all pretty good. But once again area was not that clean, staff need to be trained on cleaning. The other thing that was strange was that both mornings we saw staff in the breakfast area eating donuts in plain view of guests. Office for employee staff was just as dirty and unkept, stained carpeting.

Pool/jacuzzi area - again needed to be cleaner, dirty tile, fake plants with all their leaves missing, other dead live plants and the bathroom areas off the pool area were discusting, no air movement, clorine humid musty air, dirty floors, anything metal in the pool restrooms was rusted corroded and in need of replacent. Would not even think of using them they were that bad. Several guests told their children don't even think about going in those bathrooms.

Overall you can't expect much from a Super 8 motel but if they justs kept things cleaner, updated the bedding and replaced things when they were worn it wouldn't be that bad. There are similar motels in the area that are a bit less money and are much better!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMielkeGM, Manager at Super 8 La Crosse, responded to this review, November 17, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback! Please know we completely renovated and remodeled all of our guest rooms in March of 2010. We certainly hope that you will give us another chance to accommodate you if you are ever in the area again. -Emilee Mielke, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Crosse hotels

Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2008

We had called the hotel direct to make a reservation for a handicap room for three adults and two children and paid with a credit card to hold the room as we would be arriving late afternoon. When we got to the hotel they said I had reserved a room with one bed and that it was my mistake. The only rooms they had were on the second floor, only stairs and no elevator, or I could upgrade for more money since I had apparently made the mistake. The girl at the desk would not even give me her name when I indicated I was going to complain to corporate about their mistake. I called corporate super 8 and was told there was not much they could do since I booked directly with the hotel and not through the reservation center. Stay at the Brookstone just up the street for a great experience.

  • Disliked — unfriendly staff at the desk blaming us for their error
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
Helpful?
1 Thank havegpswilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2007

1. Strong urine smell in bathroom, as well as numerous puddles on bathroom floor upon check in. After multiple complaints, housekeeping came to look and said they'd "Have the cleaners spray something".

2. Very stale smell in room, air conditioner filter was completely black.

3. Brown sticky liquid all over blow-dryer and cords in wall by sink. Above the garbage had huge drips running down the wall.

4. Pool area full of used towels laying all over, lots of garbage in the pool filters

5. Chains on door could be undone from outside the room.

6. Hot tub was the worst I've ever seen. Huge piles of "bubbles" (aka floating body fat), no chlorine, and trash and food in the filters. Complaint made to desk, response was "someone checks those daily". Looked over 24 hours later and there was no change.


All in all, this was the worst hotel we've ever stayed in. Really disappointing. Would not recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SavyTravelerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2007

We used this hotel as a homebase for our motorcycle group. The rooms were average, a little small, and although we were all in nonsmoking rooms, they smelled stale. We tried to air out our room by leaving the window slightly open and running the A/C. I did not use the pool facilities, but our friends did. They said the hot tub seemed to have excess chlorine so they did not stay in it very long.
The breakfast was very limited, not much of a variety. One of the kitchen attendants seemed to have a mental problem..talking to herself about someone stinking up her kitchen, and not moving from her apartment....but I guess those type of people are where ever you go!
Overall, it was an OK place to stay....I'm the type of person to try different hotels, so I probably would not return.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sungoddess3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.4 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
1.1 mi away
Days Inn La Crosse Conference Center
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
2.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
0.5 mi away
Motel 6 La Crosse WI
Motel 6 La Crosse WI
#14 of 19 in La Crosse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 La Crosse

Property: Super 8 La Crosse
Address: 1625 Rose St, I-90 at Exit 3, Hwy 53 South, La Crosse, WI 54603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 La Crosse 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 of La Crosse is newly remodeled! Come enjoy our reasonable rates and great value. All rooms include fridge/micro, free internet, and free breakfast! Also on site, enjoy our pool/whirlpool, fitness center, guest laundry, business center, meeting space, and friendly 24-hour service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Super 8 La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 La Crosse Hotel La Crosse
La Crosse Super 8
La Crosse Super Eight
Super Eight La Crosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing