We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nothing Special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 La Crosse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 La Crosse
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in La Crosse
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I met my daughter here with the grandchildren to spend a night swimming and having fun. We reserved the king suite with the jacuzzi. The front desk people had absolutely no personality and were busy playing games on their phones and computer. We walked in the first room and it was FREEZING in there. This is Wisconsin and it's 20 degrees out. The room was about the same. the cleaning staff left the window open. We had to switch rooms because we had a 2 month old infant with us. The next room was chilly but it warmed up. The TV remote didn't work and it took two people and an hour to get that working. I believe they had to switch tvs with another room while we were out. The pool was nice and warm, though the bottom was a little slimey. The hot tub was very nice and clean. It was also nice to have a refrigerator and microwave in the room. The bed was very comfortable and there were plenty of pillows in the room. We had an employee discount (my daughter works at another Super 8) so the rate was decent, but I would not pay the full price rate for this room.

Room Tip: The king suite has a pull out couch for more sleeping room. It's all in one room though, so no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atti2de2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMielkeGM, General Manager at Super 8 La Crosse, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for selecting the Super 8 of La Crosse for your stay. And thank you for your feedback. I certainly do apologize that the rooms you were offered were not at a comfortable temperature upon check in. I will definitely follow up with housekeeping to ensure that all windows are left closed, and heating units left on, as you are correct, it is chilly here in Wisconsin.
I am glad that the rest of your stay was to your satisfaction, and that the front desk staff was able to help with your remote control. I do apologize that it took longer than usual, and that they were not friendly to you throughout your stay. That is something I will address with them, as we want to provide a welcoming environment for all of our guests. Once again, thank you, and we do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    90
    96
    75
    40
See reviews for
154
84
25
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Owatonna
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Spent two nights, have 3 teen daughters, so I chose to be on the lower level, which usually has a concrete floor which stops all noise from stomping or jumping. That weekend, either a very active or a very, very heavy person was given a room directly above ours. This person was walking in his (assuming) heels and shaking the ceiling until about 2am. The wife complained, the hotel attendant issued a warning. Almost the same thing the next night. We understood there to be an unruly group at the hotel that weekend, so I'm not sure that the two were connected (noisy walker and group) but THEN, Sunday morning we received a call directly from another room, or so I was told by the front desk; the other person simply said, "I will hunt you down and kill you." Then hung up. I asked the front desk attendants whether the hotel had a way to monitor incoming calls. This is when I was told that no outside calls had gone through the switchboard, so it must have come from another group. I have never lived in fear, and I'm not about to start now, but that phone call was a serious threat that I don't take kindly to, and I'm not real impressed with the reaction from the front desk. I didn't have time to make a police statement, so we just left. Additionally, the room fee was put a hold on my credit card, and then the room was charged the morning of checkout, which effectively doubled the amount of credit that was used, so I was unable to buy snacks for the road trip home. When I attempted to buy the snacks, the card was declined. I called the card and returned to the hotel, where I had to literally put the front desk attendant on the phone with the bank in order to get the funds released.

The hotel room and all commons areas was top notch, the pool and hot tub were wonderful, as was the breakfast selection.

Be careful putting 400lb people on the second floor of a wood framed building!? Not a whole lot can be done, I understand, without really spending enough money to rebuild the building, but it does affect customer satisfaction.

Thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMielkeGM, General Manager at Super 8 La Crosse, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Super 8 of La Crosse, and thank you for taking the time to submit feedback online. I do apologize that you experienced some noise issues throughout your stay, and I do apologize that one of our guests phoned your room. Please understand that once a noise complaint is brought to our attention, we will follow up to ensure guest satisfaction. If you were feeling threatened, we would have gladly phoned the police and resolved that situation immediately for you. I apologize that we were not given the opportunity to do so for you.
Also, in the future, feel free to request a room on the top floor if you are sensitive to noises that may carry through from an upstairs guests. We are always happy to accommodate our guests' requests as best as possible. Thank you for your compliments regarding the other areas of your stay. We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Rock
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

had a great stay. Room were clean and well taken care. We got there early and they let us checkin to our room, we real like that. I think the staff was all very freindly and went out of ther way for us. I give then 5 stars. :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Tamara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMielkeGM, General Manager at Super 8 La Crosse, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you so much! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our room was on the second floor closest to the highway, we figured the traffic noise would stop as the night went on but that wasn't the case. We heard the train go at least 3 times a night, and the security door that faces the highway is locked without entrance, it is only an exit, all night we heard people rattling the door trying to open it, to the point where we thought that someone was trying to break into the hotel. The next morning we spoke to the front desk and asked if we could change rooms, they arranged for us to move to the bottom floor first room at the back of the hotel which was by another entrance/exit door. It was a nice room and a lot quieter as far as traffic noise, but about 230am the neighbors above us were stomping on the floor, sounded like they were moving things and plopping things loudly on the floor, this went on for a good 45 minutes. Around 530-6am we kept hearing the exit/entrance door opening and slamming repeatedly for a good 2 hours. Overall not impressed, they did a surface remodel but the place is really aged and rusted and has no sound barrier. The so called breakfast consisted of toast, already made waffles, packaged cinnamon rolls, and cereal. One good thing was the beds were comfortable, but not impressed at all especially for the price.

Room Tip: Request a room in the back of the hotel but not by an entrance/exit door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMielkeGM, General Manager at Super 8 La Crosse, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback, and I certainly apologize that you experienced quite a few noise issues throughout your stay. In the future, please feel free to contact our front desk by dialing "0" on your room phone if you're experiencing noise complaints from other guests, or from people attempting to enter the hotel. We'd have been happy to look into that for you to ensure you a comfortable night's sleep.
I am also sorry that you did not enjoy our breakfast. Our SuperStart complimentary breakfast does include waffles, toast, cinnamon rolls, cereals, oatmeal, fresh fruits, and yogurt, plus juice, milk, and coffee. That is the breakfast you will find at all Super 8s across the board.

We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you, if you ever find yourself in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Crosse hotels

Lanesboro, Minnesota
Level Contributor
148 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I deceided to get away for a few days. This was our first stop on our journey. We were treated very well and welcomed everytime we went in and out of the building. We have stayed here before and were very impressed. Very clean and well kept property. Staff is very helpful and professional.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJBaker5155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMielkeGM, General Manager at Super 8 La Crosse, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Super 8 for your lodging needs, and for your kind feedback. We sure hope we'll see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.4 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
1.1 mi away
Days Inn La Crosse Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
0.5 mi away
Motel 6
Motel 6
#14 of 19 in La Crosse
3.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
0.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 La Crosse

Property: Super 8 La Crosse
Address: 1625 Rose St, I-90 at Exit 3, Hwy 53 South, La Crosse, WI 54603-2205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 La Crosse 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 of La Crosse is newly remodeled! Come enjoy our reasonable rates and great value. All rooms include fridge/micro, free internet, and free breakfast! Also on site, enjoy our pool/whirlpool, fitness center, guest laundry, business center, meeting space, and friendly 24-hour service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Super 8 La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 La Crosse Hotel La Crosse
La Crosse Super Eight
La Crosse Super 8
Super Eight La Crosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing