We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall not impressed”
Review of Super 8 La Crosse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 La Crosse
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
“Overall not impressed”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our room was on the second floor closest to the highway, we figured the traffic noise would stop as the night went on but that wasn't the case. We heard the train go at least 3 times a night, and the security door that faces the highway is locked without entrance, it is only an exit, all night we heard people rattling the door trying to open it, to the point where we thought that someone was trying to break into the hotel. The next morning we spoke to the front desk and asked if we could change rooms, they arranged for us to move to the bottom floor first room at the back of the hotel which was by another entrance/exit door. It was a nice room and a lot quieter as far as traffic noise, but about 230am the neighbors above us were stomping on the floor, sounded like they were moving things and plopping things loudly on the floor, this went on for a good 45 minutes. Around 530-6am we kept hearing the exit/entrance door opening and slamming repeatedly for a good 2 hours. Overall not impressed, they did a surface remodel but the place is really aged and rusted and has no sound barrier. The so called breakfast consisted of toast, already made waffles, packaged cinnamon rolls, and cereal. One good thing was the beds were comfortable, but not impressed at all especially for the price.

Room Tip: Request a room in the back of the hotel but not by an entrance/exit door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMielkeGM, General Manager at Super 8 La Crosse, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback, and I certainly apologize that you experienced quite a few noise issues throughout your stay. In the future, please feel free to contact our front desk by dialing "0" on your room phone if you're experiencing noise complaints from other guests, or from people attempting to enter the hotel. We'd have been happy to look into that for you to ensure you a comfortable night's sleep.
I am also sorry that you did not enjoy our breakfast. Our SuperStart complimentary breakfast does include waffles, toast, cinnamon rolls, cereals, oatmeal, fresh fruits, and yogurt, plus juice, milk, and coffee. That is the breakfast you will find at all Super 8s across the board.

We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you, if you ever find yourself in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    117
    115
    87
    45
See reviews for
185
103
31
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lanesboro, Minnesota
Level Contributor
168 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I deceided to get away for a few days. This was our first stop on our journey. We were treated very well and welcomed everytime we went in and out of the building. We have stayed here before and were very impressed. Very clean and well kept property. Staff is very helpful and professional.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJBaker5155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMielkeGM, General Manager at Super 8 La Crosse, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Super 8 for your lodging needs, and for your kind feedback. We sure hope we'll see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minocqua, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip. The room was clean which is a big win for me. The air conditioner worked GREAT on the hot day I was there. The internet did not work in my room for some reason. The bed was pretty comfortable, a little soft. The continental breakfast sucks. Take the money you saved on the room and buy breakfast elsewhere.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Northwoods_Newbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMielkeGM, General Manager at Super 8 La Crosse, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel online! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope we'll see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.4 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
1.1 mi away
Days Inn La Crosse Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Motel 6 La Crosse WI
Motel 6 La Crosse WI
#14 of 20 in La Crosse
239 reviews
2.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton La Crosse
2.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#3 of 20 in La Crosse
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 La Crosse

Property: Super 8 La Crosse
Address: 1625 Rose St, I-90 at Exit 3, Hwy 53 South, La Crosse, WI 54603-2205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 La Crosse 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 of La Crosse is newly remodeled! Come enjoy our reasonable rates and great value. All rooms include fridge/micro, free internet, and free breakfast! Also on site, enjoy our pool/whirlpool, fitness center, guest laundry, business center, meeting space, and friendly 24-hour service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 La Crosse Hotel La Crosse
La Crosse Super 8
La Crosse Super Eight
Super Eight La Crosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing