We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's in the luck of the draw!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in La Crosse
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“It's in the luck of the draw!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had two rooms and the review is based on what we experienced with one of these rooms. We made a late decision to change destinations for the night we stayed in La Crosse. Did not book ahead but had looked up the motel on TripAdvisor. On arrival asked the young fellow on the desk what was the best deal that he could do for two rooms. He quoted a figure and started getting my details. I then asked about AAA rates and he said - oh that will give you a discount. I would think that there could have been effort on his part to ask about this when I said what was the best rate. My wife and I shared one room and my sister in the other. Her room was obviously designed for improved accessibility and she was happy with it. Our room on the other hand had a rather unpleasant smell which we assumed was coming from the drains in the bathroom. I asked the attendant on the front desk if the water in the local area smelt and he responded no so gave me some air freshener to spray in our room. Later when my wife went to use the toilet she discovered that the toilet seat had not been fully cleaned. Then when I went to turn down the second bed for the night I discovered that all three pillows on the bed had long black hairs on the pillow cases. Called the front desk for new pillows and when these were brought I mentioned the state of the dirty toilet seat. The attendant said he would report that issue to the manager. On check out the next day there was no apology or offer of reduced rates for the state of our room. Breakfast was fine. Wi-fi access was good.
One other off-putting matter was the dirty ash trays on tables at each access point to the hotel - front area and door near the pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Papa_Panda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSNorth, Manager at Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Let me start with an apology that should have been given by the hotel staff that you dealt with. As the manager I am so sorry that you had such an experience here but I thank you for giving me the opportunity to respond. My AGM did refund your entire room rent and the desk clerk was supposed to inform you of that as well as apologize on behalf of management. Needless to say, there will be some consequence for the desk staff as well as housekeeping as this is not the standard that is acceptable at this hotel. In closing, my sincere apology and thanks for letting me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    151
    34
    10
    2
See reviews for
88
96
29
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
340 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

This motel, I'd place somewhere between a super 8 and a Hampton Inn. It's an outstanding value as it was only around $60 for the night. I expected at this price a horrible, smelly, dated place but was surprised to see a clean facility. I would certainly recommend this place to anyone seeking a low priced, but decent place to stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank LfeisGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Better than a Motel 8 or Super 8, a step below a Hampton Inn. In short, a nice value hotel. The room was clean and the King bed was very comfortable. Decent pool, hot tub. The breakfast was fair, but those seeking more could walk across the lot to a local family restaurant. The location is near I90, so your a five minute drive from UW-LaCrosse or downtown. Not really walking distance.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSNorth, General Manager at Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your stay with us. We appreciate it and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

It was a very nice hotel! Our hotel room was a long walk away, but the room was very nice and updated. The location is nice because there is a nice restaurant near by, however it is by a highway. I don't think I heard the highway from my room, though. The food was good too! I would stay again!

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank cheyser13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSNorth, General Manager at Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for the time you took to write a review on your stay with us at the Settle Inn. We look forward to seeing you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

The room was a good size, attractive and very clean. The staff at the front desk were pleasant and friendly. They have a very nice pool and spa, which I had all to myself. They provide a good breakfast too. The family restaurant right across the parking lot serves good reasonably priced food. I especially recommend the fish. I had the Walleye and it was perfectly cooked.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaycrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

I recently stayed at the Settle Inn for a wedding this past august. The hotel is located right off of Hwy 90 and is minutes from the town. Upon check in we arrived around 1pm. Check in was not ready until 4:30 but the clerk at the front desk said are rooms were ready and we were checked in promptly. I reserved a full size bed off of hotels.com $82 with taxes includ. I feel as this is $20-$30 below the average comparable in the area. The room was clean and comfortable. Large shower, bathroom, cable with movie channels. The continental breakfast was good, waffle's, fruit, yogurt, bagles etc. During my short stay i found the staff very outgoing and friendly. There is a great hot tub and pool which I did not use, but looked very clean.

Overall I would definitely stay at the Settle Inn again. There is no reason to look for a better hotel as with the Settle Inn you will receive a clean, comfortable, and friendly environment.

Room Tip: If you have a short stay, check hotels.com for the lowest price. I booked online and it was $20 chea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I worked with the Settle Inn earlier this year to accomondate a large group for an August reception in La Crosse. The staff went the "extra mile" to make the stay pleasant and memorable. Rooms were clean and were a very good value. Our group (more than 10 rooms) enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irishfanmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
2.5 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites La Crosse
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Days Inn La Crosse Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#3 of 19 in La Crosse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Charmant Hotel
The Charmant Hotel
#2 of 19 in La Crosse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse

Property: Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
Address: 2110 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Crosse
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Crosse
#4 Family Hotel in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settle Inn La Crosse Hotel La Crosse
Settle Hotel La Crosse
Settle La Crosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing