We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economical”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Motel 6 La Crosse WI
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Hayward, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Economical”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I was in town visiting friends and decided to save some money by staying at a less expensive hotel. This hotel is very dated and needs updates! However, the front desk staff was very friendly and the rooms were pretty clean. This just comes down to price. Considering the rate I would stay here again. Besides the age of the property I didn't find anything wrong. Plus the location is perfect!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0J0GM, General Manager at Motel 6 La Crosse WI, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
I appreciate your review. You are right about the age of our building and we update a little each year. But "clean rooms" and "friendly staff" are the two things we aim to provide to our guests. It was great to read your review - thank you!

General Manager

Rodney A. Piotraschke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    70
    67
    25
    24
See reviews for
73
57
32
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkville
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Having not stayed at a Howard Johnson motel before, I must say that I was impressed with the accomindations, service and value!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Joel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0J0GM, General Manager at Motel 6 La Crosse WI, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
That's great news! Thank you for sharing and I will post your review for my staff to see. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.

General Manager

Rodney A. Piotraschke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauston, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I decided to go to La Crosse for Irish Fest to celebrate her birthday. Being that Irish Fest was going on hotel options were extremely limited. We decided to book through Hotwire and we were booked at this hotel for $40 for the evening.

We pulled up to the hotel and we were both expecting something a little different I think. We were by no means were expecting the Ritz but not this. Not ones to judge a book by its cover we tried not to form an early opinion and proceeded to check in.

We were greeted warmly by a front desk clerk who quickly got us checked into our room. He noticed that we had requested an air mattress and saild that he would have it brought to the room as soon as he could. This was nice to see that the call I had made prior to arrival had been documented. We were given keys to room 149 which is located on the first floor at the very back of the hotel. We were directed to park at the back of the hotel for easy access to our room. Our room was directly to the left when walking in the building which could have been great or horrible depending on traffic.

We walked into our room and I stopped dead in my tracks before fully walking into the room. My wife took 2 steps in looked back at me and immediately apologized for booking this room. You were immediately hit with a mildew smell that was overwhelming and smelt like it was infested with mold. I walked in cautiously as I noticed very old and dirty carpeting. The bathroom was very small and the shower was not clean with hair and mold throughout. There was a large spider web in the upper right hand corner of the window when you slid back the drapes. After being in the room for less than five minutes I was very concerned about the possibility of bed bugs. Being that I have worked in the hospitality industry for a number of years and closely with cases of bed bugs I wanted to eliminate this potential issue. I pulled back the stained comforter, blanket with a hole in it and stained fitted and flat sheets. I did not immediately see any indication of bed bugs so I went to pull up the mattress and box spring. That's when I noticed the bed bug protector for the box spring. Now this means that at one point this room had the issue or the hotel was being proactive.....I'm hoping the latter. The protector for the box spring was very badly stained on the right side if standing in front of the bed. I unzipped it just enough to see if I could see anything and all I saw was an exposed inside of the box spring. I closed it back up, looked at my wife and she could tell this was not going to be a memorable experience.

Being that it was her birthday and we were there for Irish Fest we decided to not make any rash decisions immediately. We called a cab and headed to the fair grounds. After having a bite to eat and a few drinks we both decided that we just couldn't bring ourselves to actually sleep in that hotel room. I had planned on talking to the desk about a different room but when we walked in at about 11pm there was a no vacancy sign on the desk. We went to the room and grabbed our bags we had yet to unpack and proceeded to the desk to check out. When checking out we were not asked why we were checking out early. I started to convey my concerns but my wife stopped me knowing there was nothing the night staff member would have been able to do to fix the situation for us.

I have read previous reviews and responses from the GM and other staff members all of which came with an apology that almost felt defensive. I'm not looking for an apology response, not looking for a "special rate to return", not looking for anything other than to let everyone know what you will be getting. I should have realized and truly now know.....you get what you pay for. I thought I was getting a "deal" and instead got something that I wouldn't take for free. Only regret is not being able to try the breakfast. Hopefully that makes up for the shortcomings that people experience when entering their room. Renovation can not come soon enough for this property and housekeeping needs to address a number of cleanliness issues.

Good luck!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Crosse hotels

Cedar Rapids
2 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Decent place to stay and good location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0J0GM, Maintenance Man at Motel 6 La Crosse WI, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our motel. I also like our location, I can't get enough of the White Eagle watching right out our front door over the Black River.

Maintenance Man

Jim Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.1 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn La Crosse
0.5 mi away
Super 8 La Crosse
Super 8 La Crosse
#13 of 20 in La Crosse
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Conference Center La Crosse - Riverfront
0.9 mi away
Days Inn La Crosse Conference Center
3.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 La Crosse WI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 La Crosse WI

Property: Motel 6 La Crosse WI
Address: 2150 Rose St, La Crosse, WI 54603-2003 (Formerly Howard Johnson La Crosse)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 La Crosse WI 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 La Crosse is conveniently located near Riverside Amusement Park, La Crosse Queen Cruises, and dining. All guest rooms are Non-Smoking and offer free Wi-Fi. Coin laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Motel-6, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Motel 6 La Crosse WI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson La Crosse Hotel La Crosse
La Crosse Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing