We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A refurbished room/motel???” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Chilton
1 review
“A refurbished room/motel???”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Toilet tank was put on crooked. Door bottom for bathroom was cut and bowed. Faucet handles in the shower did not match. Musty odor in the room. Bathroom floor was "sticky".
Room was clean. Bedding was clean. Internet problems occurred. No decent parking at the front entrance door. Desk staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Annette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0J0GM, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for bringing the bathroom issues to our attention. We will fix them right away! As per the rest of your stay-we are glad to read it was satisfactory. We hope you consider us in the future. Thank you!

Guest Service,

Adam Binash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    65
    61
    20
    21
See reviews for
64
48
30
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fridley, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I recently stayed at this Howard Johnson Motel and when I checked in, the check in was prompt and fast. The room and bathroom were clean. I had room #111 for the first night and due to a mix-up got room #128 for the second night. Mary, the cleaning lady was more than helpful to try and explain the mix up of why the room wasnt available the second night. It was due to an error by the hotel that was overseen. Not a big deal. Overall stay was excellent. Breakfast was good in the morning. Had a wide choice of bagels, cereal and other stuff. Excellent Stay overall.

Room Tip: The location had no pool or restaurant on site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0J0GM, Housekeeping at Motel 6, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
I would like to say thank you for staying at the Howard Johnson and for your kind blog. We are a close crew here and try to be as helpful as we can to make your stay the most comfortable. Hopefully you will have an even better experience the next time you stay with us.
Thanks again,

Housekeeper

Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hortonville, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I recently came to the hotel for the christmas weekend. To my delight, Rodney arranged 4 rooms to accomadate my large family of 8 children. I was in need of 2 pack and plays and they are brand new. I am quite the germ a fob, so having clean pack and play was awesome!!! We were assigned to rooms that were cleaned by Mary. Spotless and smelled soooo clean. WE had a jazzicci suite, which was spotless and real shiny. Her cleaning abilities sure rise to the top. I was inspired by the cute little basket of ammenieties, that we never use, but this time I did forget a comb and some items. The need to not have to contact the front desk and wait....priceless. having a toddler and one that climbs around the room, no issues, carpet super clean. I am not a animal lover at all, but you would never know you allow pets, no smell. SO hats off to Rodaneys hotel, and Mary's cleaning and high standards to insurre us a very happy weekend!!! We will return!!!

Room Tip: Ask for one of Mary's rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0J0GM, Housekeeper at Motel 6, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
To the family who's room tip was to ask for one of Mary's rooms, thank you for the great compliments! The staff at Howard Johnson takes great pride in our work. When families enjoy their stay like you did, it makes it all worthwhile. Thank you for taking the time to write about us in a blog and hope to see you again soon.

Housekeeper

Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.1 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites La Crosse
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Days Inn La Crosse Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Super 8 La Crosse
Super 8 La Crosse
#15 of 20 in La Crosse
3.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites La Crosse Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6

Property: Motel 6
Address: 2150 Rose St, La Crosse, WI 54603-2003 (Formerly Howard Johnson La Crosse)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Motel-6 and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson La Crosse Hotel La Crosse
La Crosse Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing