We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing dinner in a country home”

The Blind Horse Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 14 Restaurants in Kohler
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $34
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Merge together a "Napa Valley Style" restaurant with New American cuisine...All within the charm of a 130 year old brick farmhouse and you create the rustically casual atmosphere of The Blind Horse Restaurant. Nestled on seven beautifully landscaped acres near the village of Kohler, food and wine are the catalyst for an eye-opening venue. Our combination of fresh ingredients and Executive Chef Brent Davis' creativity, allow for limitless possibilities in flavor, composition and presentation. The property also features a commercial winery boasting of award winning wines as well as live music on our patio Memorial Day - Labor Day.
East Coast
Level Contributor
120 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Relaxing dinner in a country home”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Four of us visited Kohler for a golf outing and stayed at the Inn on Woodlake. Within a 10 min drive is the Blind Horse. The homey country atmosphere was very pleasant and the hostess and food service was excellent. Food and wine was good and price very reasonable. We all would return here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SteveK61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    34
    16
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Diane and I are back vacationing in Wisconsin. Had lunch at the Horse with friends on a beautiful afternoon. The farmhouse restaurant was classy and the chowder tasty. Further the local craft beer was great. Just wish the lunch portions were a bit larger. The brand new winery had just recently opened and definitely with the tasting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard Bud D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Worth the wait, but it was a long one!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We took a family group with a wide span of ages to the Blind Horse on the 4th of July weekend and were not disappointed with the food. We shared the cheese plate and spinach-artichoke spread and consumed it quickly. Then there was about an hour wait for the entrees. Since we had a newborn and three kids under age 7, it seemed much longer. Fortunately, there were attractions outside for them to explore but still, it was frustrating. However, we did all enjoy our meals when they arrived. The mahi-mahi special was nicely prepared, the campanele, though only lukewarm, was flavorful. The there is a large selections of wines from the winery and some interesting beers. I'm not sure I would return with family because of the wait-time, but for adults who enjoy a leisurely evening, I would highly recommend the Blind Horse.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahMacDillon_2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It has become "Our Place"”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Now, don't get all mush, our place is my sister and her husband. They are Texas residents. When they were visiting a couple of years ago, we went to the Blind Horse. Now, whenever they come, we go because we are never disappointed.

And they keep expanding. Next time, the wine tasting.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner 6/20/2014”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Great setting with nice setting and music and an excellent wine list. However, my dinner left much to be desired. I ordered the walleye. The fish was terrific BUT was smothered in melted butter. What a way to ruin a perfectly good, flaky fish! Spinach and red potatoes came with it. The potatoes were covered in butter and everything on my plate looked brown--not eye appealing at all! We won't return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fallskids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matt s, General Manager at The Blind Horse Restaurant, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about The Blind Horse. We strive for perfection in the restaurant and the winery and we appreciate when customers let us know that we might have fallen short. We happen to agree with you that the dish needed to be adjusted and have done so. I do hope that you come in again and try the Walleye...I know you will love it. Please ask for Thomas Nye and I'd be happy to offer you a free tasting in our new winery.

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Blind Horse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing