We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 nights/3days worth of reviews of the Kohler resort as a whole!”
Review of Inn on Woodlake

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn on Woodlake
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kohler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This review consists not only of the Inn on Woodlake, but also several venues of the Kohler resort.

Inn on Woodlake - excellent considering the price is half the price of the American Club - Laurie at the front desk was most helpful and most of staff we encountered were friendly. They accommodated my room request of a king bed, lake view on a high floor and even sent up a bottle of champagne when they found out I was celebrating my 50th birthday - nice! The complimentary breakfast was very nice - plenty to choose from and always came with some kind of a meat dish - ham, bacon or sausage and there are plenty of carbs, that's for sure. :-)

Blackwolf Run Restaurant (dinner) - our favorite restaurant in Kohler - Dawn, our server was excellent!!! The food, the view and of course the service were all great!

Cucina (lunch) - our 2nd favorite restaurant - excellent choices and VERY reasonable for lunch choices plus nice view of the small lake especially when you sit outside like we did.

Wisconsin Room (dinner) - 3rd favorite - food and ambiance were great, but the service was only ok. Nothing against a young server, but she could definitely have taken some lessons from Dawn!

Whistling Straits Restaurant (lunch) - least favorite because the food is only ok, service was lacking (our server forgot to serve us our bread basket, but I didn't realize this until we were done with lunch that we were supposed to get complimentary bread!), took awhile to get our drinks, BUT, the view is to die for so that made up for it!!!

Waters Spa - splurge and get an 80 minute massage! Bliss.

Woodlake Market - it's huge and has so much choices of everything! Who knew this existed in this tiny community? And, they have excellent wine selection! Too bad I took the last 2008 Gott Napa Cab. :-)

Irish Course @ the Whistling Straits - my husband said it's worth the price and really enjoyed the course except that he asked for a cart 3X before anyone brought one to him and only had 5 minutes to spare before his tee time because of this delay. :-(

Sports Core - great health club with an indoor pool plus a small beach right outside of that

Greenhouse - last but certainly not the least, you must come here and get some amazing desserts/coffees and read a book, check your computer, etc. - what a delight and prices so reasonable!

So much to do, so little time! :-)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for Inn on Woodlake
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 291 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and I took an overnight stay in Kohler to break up the monotonous summer and were pleased with our lakeside king room at the Inn on Woodlake. The whole ambiance of Kohler is amazing - everything is relaxing and pleasing to the eye. The hotel room has speakers over the bed so you don't have to turn the sound up to hear and the most amazing lighting system over the bed I've ever seen in a hotel. Bathroom was small but had the usual upscale Kohler fixtures including a four-head shower. All very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hillbl47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I did not think there would be that much to do up in Kohler, but was wrong! Recently we stayed at the Inn with another coupple for a special we received on Travel Zoo( great deal!) and to dosome biking. We biked one of the trails for the Old Plank Trail ( nice ride, some hills, plesant views). then we headed to the Inn- loved the Kohler showers with extra shower heads and size). very clean, nice amenities, very nice gracious staff, comfortable bed and great breakfast. Plus a small beach area, lake view with a nice trail to walk, putting range, shopping, restaurants! Visited the Kohler Art Museum next day was a informative and fun stop. Eat really good pizza at Firehouse Pizza( old fire station). Spa available but did not use. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gardenlover31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Got a steal of a deal with TravelZoo and stayed 3 nights with my 17 yr old son who loves to golf. The deal included the breakfast buffet, 20% off Kohler Water Spa treatments and Twilight rates for all golf. Nightly price was cheap. Since I had just spent big bucks on a vacation to Hawaii, I wasn't planning on going anywhere else but could not pass up such a great deal. The hotel was very clean and had some great features (speakers over beds for TV, 5 head Kohler shower, TV speaker in bathroom). The breakfast buffet was adequate.....scrambled eggs, 1 hot meat each morning (bacon, sausage patty, canadian bacon) and 1 other carb (pancakes, oatmeal). Each morning they also had an array of boxed cereals, yogurts, fresh fruit, bagels/bread/muffins, and juices/tea/milk/coffee/hot chocolate. The sugar cookies at the front desk were addictive. Staff was always friendly and very helpful. We ran out of time and didn't even get to see the lake or go to the SportsCore to work out. I believe there is a beach on the lake. The hotel is in an area surrounded by upscale shops. Also didn't have time to look at any of those, regrettably. Definately could have spent another night or 2 there and not been bored. Not sure if I would have liked it as well had I paid rack room prices.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank showmeadeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Rooms here are very nice. The atmosphere is very relaxing. We loved sitting outside and facing the little lake while sipping wine after visitng all the little shops. They have a beautiful Italian restaurant in walking distance which sadly we didn't get to try, but will for sure if we re-vist. What is also nice is that they have a shuttle bus to take you back and forth to the American Club which had some great restaurants as well.

Room Tip: We asked for adjoining rooms which were very nice.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janlshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Inn on Woodlake is a nice hotel, but nothing special. If you want upscale stay at the American Club. It is set on Woodlake, which has a great path around the lake which is ideal for a morning or evening walk/run. The path leads directly to the Sports Core center, which is a clean, updated gym with tennis courts, pool, weights, treadmills and classes. The path also leads the Red, Green and Yellow paths in the woods around the lake. The paths are great for the runner/walker who wants to be in nature, but not too far from the hotel.

Inn on Woodlake is situated in a plaza with shops, restaurants, a grocery store and a yoga studio with a large parking lot out front, which does not charge a daily parking fee, which is nice. It is about 3 blocks from the American Club which includes the Waters Spa, The Greenhouse Coffee Shop, The American Club hotel, the Kohler Design Center and a few other restaurants. It is a 5-10 minute walk, 5-10 minute drive (b/c of traffic) or there is a shuttle free of charge. We walked or drove, so I can't give much feedback on the shuttle service.

One of our FAVORITE daily activities was the Tea Time in the Greenhouse. We had to ask the staff where it was (in the American Club Hotel), but once we found it, we were instantly charmed. We stopped in the Greenhouse once a day and had tea, but also did order smoothies which were tasty. The woman who worked in the Greenhouse was kind, friendly and very enjoyable to chat with. She was knowledgeable about the coffee and tea served, which is a true asset to any coffee shop! Don't miss this. You'll understand why when you visit.

We also visited the Waters Spa, which I will review as well.

Back to Inn on Woodlake. The rooms were clean, included a corkscrew (most hotels do not keep these in the room, so this was wonderful), wineglasses, flatscreen, adjustment lights above each bed, speakers above each bed, state of the art Kohler bathroom (shower, toilet and sink) a small refridgerator that was stocked. We requested all the food and beverages to be removed in order that we could put our own food in it. The staff was more than happy to accomodate that request. Overall the staff was accomodating and kind. They however had to call with some of our questions regarding the hours of Yoga on the Lake and the Greenhouse.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abbstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed this year back in March,liked so much returned again in May!!
Very friendly and helpful staff.Of course the visit in March was a little
early for great weather,but still enjoyed a walk on the path by lake to
the sports core.Which by the way is top notch.The stay in May the weather
was great and enjoyed the putting green and were able to rent the paddleboat
at the sports core for a small fee.We also always enjoy shopping and having
either lunch or breakfast at the Woodlake Market.The breakfast is so good
and very reasonable.They serve Nueske's bacon and the breads are made
by the American Club chefs!! Will always consider for my next stay in area!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacalyn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kohler
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheboygan - Kohler (I-43)
2.4 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sheboygan
3.6 mi away
Harbor Winds
Harbor Winds
#6 of 11 in Sheboygan
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel - Sheboygan
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
#4 of 11 in Sheboygan
252 reviews
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 11 in Sheboygan
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Woodlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Woodlake

Address: 705 Woodlake Rd, Kohler, WI 53044
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Kohler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kohler
Price Range: $136 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on Woodlake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shore of picturesque Wood Lake, this serene 121-room hotel boasts boutique style guest rooms, ample meeting space as well as amenities and common areas for leisure and business travelers. During your stay, visit The Shops at Woodlake located next to the Inn, explore the Kohler Design Center or dine at Cucina Italian restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, TravelClick and Hotwire so you can book your Inn on Woodlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Woodlake Hotel Kohler
Hotel On Woodlake
On Woodlake Hotel
Inn On Woodlake Kohler, Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing