We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relaxing Winter getaway...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The American Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The American Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kohler
Certificate of Excellence
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A relaxing Winter getaway...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

My husband and I booked a one-night stay at the American Club. I was able to get an off-season rate, plus I had gift cards to use from purchasing tickets to the PGA held in Kohler earlier in 2010, so we wanted to use our gift cards towards a night's stay!

Making the reservation was very easy and the staff were friendly and knowledgeable. We had to check in in the basement/parking structure area instead of the front entrance (which I later found out was because they are remodeling the entrance). This was not a big deal. The lady at the desk was very nice and cheery. Someone helped us take our luggage to our room, and they also parked our car for us in the underground parking structure (which is nice in the Winter time...it means no snow on our car in the morning).

Our room was extremely clean. They said we had a 'newly remodeled' room. No bathtub, just a shower. The shower was great though - it had numerous Kohler brand sprayers and a place to sit. The bathroom was very nice, the bed was nice, the linens were spectacular. My only complaint about the bed was the pillows. They were huge and fluffy and my husband and I both had a hard time sleeping on them. Since there were six pillows on the bed, maybe the hotel could make 2 super fluffy, 2 medium and 2 light - that way everyone can be happy? Nice carpeting - it was actually cushy and soft, unlike most gross hotel floors. There was a fully stocked refrigerator and snack bar (for additional cost). Magazines to read, plenty of seating, the closet even had an umbrella for use.

We ate at Cucina for dinner, in the Shops At Woodlake. The restaurant would be nicer if it wasn't in a strip mall, but once you were in it you kind of forgot about the location. The service/waitress was nice and knowledgeable. We had two appetizers, a sampling of oysters, two pasta entrees and creme brulee for dessert. I would give the food a 6-7 out of 10. We also tried a new Italian wine that we enjoyed.

The turn down service when we got back to our room after dinner was awesome. They dimmed this lights over the bed, had slippers at each side of the bed, a little tray with cookies and the breakfast order menu.

This was a quick stay for us and we really did not have time to see the rest of the resort. The room was warm and inviting, the staff were friendly and we will definitely come back some day. I will be back soon to use the Spa.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ebremser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    138
    66
    39
    22
See reviews for
84
462
19
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

We went as a couple's winter getaway, and while it felt like we were "missing" a bit of the charm of Kohler in that season, it was still a fantastic place to experience. Great building, interesting historic information, excellent food, quiet, fantastic sevice... However, we did feel a little underdressed and almost like we were "not worthy" of such treatment. Also the price was a bit much, esp considering you really don't need to be staying at the Club to enjoy it's services (such as the food or the tea service). I would avoid this place if you are a family or would want a touch less snobbery... otherwise I couldn't speak more highly of the experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djneko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

Very disappointed in our stay. I would not consider this a 5 Star Hotel.

Reception Staff did not inform us of may things like no on-site Indoor pool, whirlpool or Spa/Workout Center. No Continental Breakfast. Staff did not provide an sort of communication of what is going on at the Hotel or in the Kohler area.

Also wen we came down the first night to see about dinner at the hotel, we talked with the Concierge who appeared to eye us and determine that we could not afford places like the Immigrant Restaurant. Both my wife and I got very clear vibes that we should not bother her with continued questions and we ended up simply going up to our room and eating what we brought with us for the trip for dinner.

Here is another example of not being told about what is going on at the hotel, As we were going down to the basement to pick up our car to go out to dinner that night, we saw that there was a group signing Christmas Carols in the Library area. I went over and saw that there appeared to be appetizers there, but because there was no sign I was not sure if we were invited.

Here is what I would express about our experience there.

If you are looking for peace and quiet, looking to read a book, looking for all the Tea and Cookies you want, not interested in on-site ammenities then it is a good place to go. If you are looking for ammendities like on-site pool, spa, workout center, activities, etc. you can find it at a much, much cheaper hotel. Way too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mark_from_Geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, WI
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

Our second stay at this marvelous resort, this time for New Years weekend, exceeded our already high expectations due to the previous visit. Absolutely elegant and timeless, spotlessly clean, and well cared for. The resort was booked, yet the check-in went as smooth as silk. The service here on all fronts is second to none. I've never had so many doors opened for me in my life.

We were told at the front desk that we were being put in a redecorated room and they were not kidding. The new version comports with the high standards of the past with no expense spared and no short cuts that we could identify. Very luxurious with the best bathroom stuff from the Kohler Company and the most comfortable bed imaginable. Along with turn down service, they put out bath robes and slippers for you and leave you a little treat. Nice flat panel TV w/HD programming and all of the possible connections you can think of for portable devices. No stone is left unturned when it comes to service and the little things that add up to five stars.

Terrific lunch at the Horse and Plow and excellent food for the New Years Eve dinner in the Wisconsin Room.

I say again, not cheap but worth every penny, elegant , but not intimidating, formal, but very homey as well.

We will be back in the spring.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJDMonticello_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

This place is amazing. We stayed here as a treat on our 3 week US holiday. The service was fantastic and the rooms were gorgeous.

We treated ourselves to a couples massage with riverbath and it was fantastic. Incredibly relaxing and the spa facilities are excellent.

Would recommend this hotel as a treat with your loved one. We ate in the Wisconsin Room for dinner and had the seafood buffet. It was delicious and so much to choose from.

This is a stunning place

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clarehelen23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

It is difficult where to begin this review, as I was truly impressed with every aspect of my stay. Prior reviews, including mine from last year, point out most of the strengths of the property. It really is incredible.

We stayed in a renovated deluxe room above the library. The renovations were very well done; the room was plush & felt like a 5 diamond room. It really felt like a guest bedroom in a mansion rather than a hotel room.

For the reviews that say there are no rec facilities; if you are willing to take a 2 minute shuttle ride, Sportscore is complimentary for guests. There you can find a large workout space, 2 lap pools, indoor & outdoor hot tubs and a sauna. It is clean and well maintained. Although it was quite busy the afternoon we were there, we didn't feel crowded.

Restaurants are plentiful and food is good. If you don't feel like eating at a Kohler restaurant, there are many choices in Sheboygan, which is only 10 minutes away.

This is an older hotel, but it is by far the most elegant hotel we have ever been to. After the renovations, rooms now have LCD TV's and movies on demand. They also have in-room coffee makers, as well as a fully stocked honor bar. I found it easier to walk to the Greenhouse to grab complimentary morning coffee.

The staff is very proper and will accommodate most requests without question.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicagoboy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
125 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2010

My husband and I decided to visit this hotel for a night after seeing it in 1,000 Places to See Before You Die (US and Canada version). We live in Chicago, so it was just a quick 2.5 hour drive north. While the hotel is normally quite expensive, we found a great last minute deal on their website and thought that it would be a pretty time to visit with the snow and Christmas lights. I have to admit, after reading the reviews, I wasn't expecting much, and boy, was I wrong! This hotel was beautiful and full of old charm. No, this isn't a brand new hotel, but that's not the point of it. It's a historic hotel with so much character. Yes, the hallways and rooms are a bit dark, but I truly was not bothered by this at all. I just felt that it added to the ambiance. The bathrooms were beautiful with top of the line Kohler fixtures. There were sitting rooms on the floors that were decorated with beautiful Christmas trees. They also had complimentary tea in the afternoon, and carolers, munchies, and drinks in the parlor the same evening. While a lot of the guests seemed uptight, we had a great time. The staff was exceptional, with the bellman calling us by our name each time he saw us. We also visited the spa for massages and were only disappointed that we forgot to pack our bathing suits. The spa was gorgeous and again, the staff provided exceptional service. While we don't love the Midwest and rarely find gems in this area, this truly is a diamond in the rough!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mauionmymind08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kohler
13.4 mi away
Victorian Village Resort
Victorian Village Resort
#2 of 2 in Elkhart Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheboygan - Kohler (I-43)
3.5 mi away
Harbor Winds
Harbor Winds
#6 of 11 in Sheboygan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
52 Stafford
52 Stafford
#4 of 5 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
La Quinta Inn Sheboygan
#5 of 11 in Sheboygan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
3.6 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel - Sheboygan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The American Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The American Club

Property: The American Club
Address: 419 Highland Drive, Kohler, WI 53044
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Kohler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kohler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The American Club is a Forbes Five-Star Resort Hotel and the Midwest’s only AAA Five Diamond Resort Hotel providing unique, luxurious decor that with a singular quality experience room by room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick so you can book your The American Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The American Club Hotel Kohler
American Hotel Kohler
The American Hotel
American Club Wisconsin
American Kohler
American Club In Kohler Wi
American Club Kohler Wi
The American Club Kohler, Wisconsin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing